Sweet Success

Ed loves hats.

Only certain types of hats.
He’s very choosey.

December First we went to Clackamas Town Center to scope out the stores. Much had changed since we were there a year ago, including the opening of a hat store. The one hat Ed liked they didn’t have in his size. But he spied a hat he wanted me to try on. Soon it was paid for and it rode out the store on my head. It accompanied me to the Christmas music sing-along that evening.
Christmas hat                                      (With dear Millet, wife of our banjo player)

While on the subject of hats… I was finally able to get a decent picture of the hat I made for Violet early November:
Violet's slouchy hatWith Christmas fast approaching, and Violet growing by the day, I settled down to working only on the BSJ thinking it’d be finished within a couple of days. A bit over half-way along on the hood I held it up for inspection. To my horror I’d been moving one marker pin to the wrong side making a very wonky, out-of-kilter hood. Ripped it out and back to the beginning. Paying attention to moving both increase markers correctly the hood grew at a decent rate but by the 3/4th point the ball of yarn was diminishing at an alarming speed. At that rate there was a chance there was enough to finish the hood but none left to lengthen the sleeves. I settled for a small collar with a bit of curve at the corners and had plenty for making the sleeves longer. By Saturday night (the 22nd) it was blocking on the table.
029Violet's BSJ
When Ed’s vest was finished in 2009 there was fair bit material left over so it was tucked away with the remaining piece of the vest lining with the idea of making Ed a matching hat.

Ed loves that vest. It’s seen a great deal of use during the past 3+ years. I’d kept a look out for a good hat pattern, of the type that Ed wears but hadn’t come across one. Until Ed bought Beyond Toes by Judy Becker (Look, on the front cover!) for my birthday (or Christmas, I can’t keep the presents straight between them). Lo and behold, he liked the looks of the hat that Judy and designed. Inside was the pattern for the lining. Her hat is a knit structure that I’d like to tackle someday but for now the lining pattern was a great start.

The woven material was given another good washing, a short stint in the dryer then a good pressing with a hot iron. There was barely enough for the odd shaped hat pieces. Seams were pinned and sewn together. Starting with the lining to get a feel for how it all went together then on to the handspun, woven wool/camel/tencel cloth.019

Putting in the plastic bill part.

022With insides facing, the lining, woven material and one folded side of the headband tape I’d precut and ironed were sewed together then the tape folded over and hand sewn into place, leaving a small opening to coax an elastic piece through and around the circumference so it would fit his head.
025For the most part I was pleased with the results but would it pass Ed’s hat critic?

Oh yeah! The man loves it. 🙂
He could hardly wait to serve at the community dinner yesterday so he could wear his vest and new hat. He went to the church, shortly after taking me out for a birthday lunch, to help prepare dinner. I drove in to eat after the first wave of people had gotten their food. (Usually the waiting line is quite long until after six pm.) I found him pouring milk… in matching hat and vest.

christmas 12 008

“Ed, what’s on your arm???”

“Huh?”
christmas 12 009

“Aargh, a mouse!”christmas 12 010christmas 12 011

Hahaha. He loves serving at the community dinner. Note the knitting needle apron. 🙂
(The older grandkids got him the mouse for Christmas, it’s really for the cat but HankCat didn’t much like it riding on his back.)

He had the last laugh. He’d arranged for the pianist and workers to play/sing Happy Birthday and bring me a piece of cake with a candle. :0

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

5 thoughts on “Sweet Success”

  1. I thought Ed had trimmed his beard until I realized he must have been wearing a “beard net.” Too bad, I really like the rounded, trimmed look!

    Great job on the hat, dear lady. A belated Happy Birthday!

  2. WONDERFUL! The sweater, and that amazing hat!!!!!
    I am sure the mouse wanted a hat, too!
    Violet’s hat is awesome, as well! Huzzah!
    What a great birthday gift to rest with finished projects
    in a good vein.
    I got all done on my “Get ‘er Done By 1/1” list….so am
    cruising to the New Year with cotton potholders and
    little dog sweaters.
    It is perfectly acceptable to celebrate one’s birthday for
    a week, so party on!!!!!!!

  3. Lovely hats – both the one you’ve got for yourself, and the ones you’ve made for Violet and Ed! The matching hat and vest set is absolutely terrific!

    I thought of you a couple of days ago, mentally sending happy birthday wishes your way. It sounds like you had a delightful day, and I hope the whole year to come will be just as good, or even better!

  4. Your post is amazing! I love Violet’s hat and baby surprise jacket. And Ed’s hat is stunning. And I love the mouse too. Happy belated birthday! I just finished a baby sweater except for the sewing up part. And now I’ve started another little sweater and the first one is still lying in pieces. How does one get motivated to get out the darning needle and finish it up?

Comments are closed.