Crochet and Autumn Colors

A knock at the door a week ago Wednesday; a neighbor girl handing me an invitation to her mother’s baby shower happening Sunday afternoon. Stash diving brought up the remaining ball of  handspun Picperfic Twinkle left from knitting Aurora’s Kensington Wristwarmers (Jane Austen Knits). Twinkle  (70% superwash Merino 30% Trilobal Nylon) has been such a joy to spin, knit and now crochet. The deep raspberry colors set off by the sparkle of the nylon shout  jubilation.Casting on for another Norweigan Baby cap – the tried and true fast baby gift, I blissfully knit the first seven rows. Oh no! Those rows were supposed to alternate between knit and purl for a more elastic edge. I went to bed.

While ravelling the knitted rows the next morning I remembered how quickly the Crochet Beret I’d made for Feather had worked up so switched tools to crochet a wee hat for the new baby girl. Three days to crochet a baby hat in an otherwise busy schedule? Piece of cake. But, which pattern?

I love the look of Lene’s Pikku-Lilli and enjoyed knitting it for a friend’s granddaughter in September so decided to crochet something along those lines, except without the piping and starting at the back of the head then working forward. It was a quick little project that turned out great. I even managed to write down the steps before wrapping it in tissue with the idea of crocheting a couple more and making the pattern available. When the little one is born I hope to get a decent picture of her modeling the hat. She’s due within the next couple of weeks. I encountered mommy, daddy and two young daughters last night out for a walk. She was having a few contractions though nothing serious or regular. Mostly she was craving a peppermint latte. I think she caved. It wasn’t long before they were driving away in their van, returning about half an hour later.

Until then, here’s a sneak preview.


Immediately after the baby shower Sunday afternoon I headed up Crooked Finger Road to practice for an upcoming 60th anniversary. The slanting sunshine shimmered on this tree next to my friend’s house. Burgundy colors surprisingly similar to the deeper raspberry of the baby hat.
When Aurora came to pick up Violet Tuesday afternoon she causally mentioned that Haymaker would love a hat for his birthday coming up the following Friday. No time to dither over what to make or what yarn to use! The perfect fiber was in my stash. Almost half of it was knitting into a partial gigantic sock knit directly from the roving using #19 / 15.75mm needles. Diving into the fiber stash for the sock and the remainder of the 8oz hank of pencil roving I pulled it into the light of day and gently dismantled the sock into a squiggly heap of pencil roving.

The roving was skeined then gently placed into warm water to help erase the memory of the knitted kinks. Using my hands I pressed out as much water as possible then rolled it up in a thick bath towel and stepped on it several times. After that I stood on the back porch and whirled the skein round my arm encouraging the last drops to fly away before hanging it up to dry while spinning commenced on the remaining 4+ ounces of the roving.

Violet thought the container of roving waiting to be spun was great entertainment.

By the end of Thursday the first bobbin was spun.

By the end of Tuesday Haymaker’s hat was finished with plenty of yarn left over… enough to make a matching hat for Violet.

This yarn reflects the autumn colors abounding in the natural world outside my door.

What ‘s an option when a thick handspun, crocheted hat needs to dry quickly? Place it on the warm wood stove and rotate frequently.

It’s quite aggravating that my family just doesn’t understand my need to photograph evidence of my projects, especially the people who are supposed to be modeling them.
His daughter wasn’t any better at cooperating, and at that tired point in the evening she only wanted mommy to hold her.

I hope to get a picture of the two of them together. Sitting still!

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

4 thoughts on “Crochet and Autumn Colors”

  1. Nice, nice, nice!
    Autumn colors, indeed!
    Three successful headcoverings!
    Congratulations!

    I am so so soooo close to being done with my
    malachite semi-precious shawl. With about 8 rows to go,
    it is, once again, on hold while I spin more yarn…but not much more.
    Knitting grandkid sweaters, too. On number 3 of 4 (the biggest one).
    Onward and forward!

  2. I always love your descriptions of how you choose and work up your yarns and knit/crochet projects. Sort of spur of the moment and inspired. But they always turn out beautifully.

  3. I love the hats! Don’t you think unravelled yarn looks like soup noodles? Yours looks like delicious homemade veggie pasta! I’m still working on socks for my dad, and I’m on the foot of the second one. The end is in sight. And so is Christmas. I’m trying not to get distracted by other projects; I so want the socks to be his Christmas present.

  4. I am very behind on blog reading (as you can see!), but I love seeing the pictures of your hand-spun, hand-made hats in such good use. And I know that the new baby will equally love hers, when the time comes!

Comments are closed.