Trip to Idaho

Woke up this morning finally feeling almost back to normal after a bad bout with a stomach virus. I can’t remember the last time I was so sick – decades ago. Too miserable to do anything but sleep and lie around. No energy to even read until last Saturday and then it was only very light reading. Mind candy.

At 2:30 I looked out the office window at the slanting sun. It slides southward at an alarming rate these days, getting closer to the south ridge every afternoon. Not wanting to waste an entire fine day working inside knowing these warm days are numbered, I grabbed my keys, spindle and pepper spray then headed out the door.

For several weeks in August I’d daily taken a fast mile walk/run before drinking the first cup of morning coffee. It felt great to slowly be getting back in shap; to be able to run more than a hundred steps before my body shouted to walk and to work at quickening my walking pace. I’d love to get back down to 13 minute miles, though I might be content with 14 minute miles if I’m spinning at the same time. 🙂

Our son and daughter-in-law have been preparing to bow hunt for elk and they were eager to be in the mountains on opening morning and through the weekend if they didn’t get an elk right away. Knowing that Feather would have started school by then I offered to come and stay with the kids since we hadn’t had the opportunity to spend significant time with them in months. Originally I’d over drive on Tuesday but son phoned wanting Ed to go fishing with him on Monday. Suddenly we were both going to be away from work for an entire week. The second to last week of August was a blur of getting ready, trying to get as much work finished as possible, a house-sitter lined up, things packed and celebrating Ed’s birthday the day before we left.

We had a great time with the grandkids, but found ourselves exhausted before the end of the week. Crazy how much non-stop energy little kids have. They both learned to ride bikes earlier this summer and that is their favorite activity. I lost count of how many times we rode bikes round and round the block, up and down side streets in their housing development.

MJ wanted to get in more target practice so we loaded up and headed to the Dead-On Archery place. I was able to rent a bow (!) and had a blast trying to bring back some rusty skills, only this time with a 25lb compound bow.  Gracious, archery used to be a semi-inexpensive pastime. Ed and I used to shoot at a park in East Portland that had a bow range. When we were alone we’d walk the grass lawn behind the targets shuffling our feet feeling for buried arrows which kept us in good arrow supply.  Another happy memory is riding my horse bareback, bow in hand trying to shoot various targets as we’d race along the canyon bottom where I lived as a teen.

On Tuesday JJ joined MJ for the final outdoor tune-ups on their fancy bows and to work at their accuracy at 40 yards from the target.

Everyone else had to use the indoor range.

Ed managed to capture the arrow in flight just as I released it!

I took my spinning wheel with some Picperfic rovings with high hopes for doing lots of spinning. May as well have left it at home. By the time the kids were read to and tucked in bed at 8 Ed and I were both so tired we soon followed. I did get some knitting done, mostly during the 8+ hour road trip, each way, when Ed took over the driving for long sections. Normally Ed doesn’t do much driving in my car since it can painfully stir up his sciatica but this trip he seemed to do fine. A couple days ago I had the energy to finish the Pikku-Lilli baby cap, pattern by Lene Alve, which I cast on for during the trip. It was so much fun I immediately cast on for a bigger one for Violet. In going through all the pictures from the trip this evening I was chagrined to find I haven’t taken any photos yet of the cap. Until then here’s a picture of the grandkids that I took shortly after we arrived at their house and we’d just given them each a slinky.

And now I’d like to direct your attention to a friend of mine, Ellie, whom I wrote about three years ago when she set out to tackle the Appalachian Trail. She’s taken on another huge challenge this coming Saturday, The Savageman Triathlon. The 2012 Savageman is dedicated to raising awareness and funds for the Joanna M Nicolay Melanoma Foundation. It seems as though we all hear of Breast Cancer awareness and fundraising but rarely the other deadly cancers that affect so many of our friends. (I have 3 friends who’ve battled it.) Skin cancer is the #1 cancer in the US with Melanoma the most deadly form!

Ellie is 60 and taking on one of the toughest triathlons out there! She’s been an inspiration to me when I get the doldrums and want to stop working at trying to be more physically fit. I’d love to have you take a look at her page, and if possible make a donation to such a worthy effort. 🙂

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

5 thoughts on “Trip to Idaho”

  1. Well, I think watching grandkids for an extended period of time is quite an athletic feat!!!
    Love the photos!
    We are grasping hard at our last few days of fine weather…..trying to soak in as much heat as we can before the cold sets in ….sigh.
    Starting the holiday/birthday knitting for the grandkids…..diving in and having fun.
    Can I do a 20 minute mile if I am listening to an audio book, knitting, breathing, and balancing????

  2. Ratsamafrats. I sent you photos but they bumped back.
    Wondering if you have a different email now with the new site
    (which looks very nice, by the way!).
    When you are up, better, caught up, let me know.
    Hang in there!
    Gr. Linda

  3. It’s always a joy to me when I find you’ve updated! We haven’t seen our GrandTwins (boys) for a while now (been away at our caravan in Wales), suspect they will be as exhausting as your Grandchildren when they do! LOL They are still 2, so not into bike riding yet… But I’m sure it’s only a matter of time!

    So sorry you’ve not been well. My dear Ma-in-Law has had something that sounds a bit similar, it really hit her hard as she’s 89 and hoping to get new hip operation soonish. On top of recent broken wrist after a fall it’s been hard for her to cope. But she seems to have improved last few days, so fingers crossed she’ll be OK.

    And also fingers crossed you are now out of the woods and getting stronger.

    Best wishes from wet and chilly Liverpool (UK).

  4. I think now I will call you Artemis – I love the pictures of you shooting your bow! And I have to tell you that my heart stopped when I read that Ed had captured your arrow right out of the bow, before I saw the picture – I couldn’t figure out what on earth possessed him to try to catch an arrow in flight with his hand (heh). It sounds like a wonderful trip.

    I’m sorry you’ve been ill since then. Stomach bugs really are the absolute worst, in terms of laying one low. I am glad you’re on the mend, and I hope the recovery goes quickly.

Comments are closed.