New Website

The new Jenkins Woodworking website is up and running!!!

Just as I was salivating with anticipating of taking the site live, I hit one more hurdle – the shopping cart that came with the program didn’t have a way to limit sales on one-of-a-kind item. As in all of our spindles. Nor could I simply take out the software buy now button and substitute it with a PayPal button. No. I had to re-insert every. single. picture, go to PP, create a button for that one item, put it near the picture, and then do it all over again for the next spindle. I may now be one of the fastest button makers/ecommerce page builders around. :0
I’d love your feedback on the new site. There’s still some info to add (links to how-to videos) but essentially it’s finished. What a relief after long months of three steps forward, seven steps back.

The growing season continues apace:

 

Marigold Field on a back road to our daughter’s place.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A field of onions with bee hives further along the same road, looking west across the Willamette Valley. Coastal Mountains in the background.
The seeds will be harvested for future onion crops.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Seed crop of Cosmos flowers. They were even fuller and more brilliant a couple days ago but I didn’t have the camera with me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Our first ear of corn will be ready to harvest in a few more days. Can hardly wait! First time planting corn in ages. When corn was 12 ears/$1 it was cheaper to buy from the local produce stand but the last two years they were 3 ears/$1. Time to grow corn. We planted seeds for 10 stalks and so far there are 22 ears on the stalks with more silk showing up every day.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The gravenstein apple tree is loaded this year. Should be plenty for pies and putting up for the winter as well as for our daughter to make applesauce for Violet and send some home with our daughter-in-law who arrived today for a short visit / 10 year high school reunion.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Spinning continues every evening as I’m attempting to spin a bunch of small samples. The two singles were spun on different evenings and I was in a major hurry feeling the pressure of getting on with the website. Very inconsistent!

App 1 ounce blue yarn, ca 84 yards.

 

 

 

 
One goal in spinning these small color samples is to increase my spinning speed on the wheel. I’m also trying to spin a more consistent, lofty worsted.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We’re babysitting Violet every Thursday now that her mom is back to work.

We spent some time in the early afternoon outside under the catalpa tree, I with the laptop working on the website, Violet talking to the leaves and cooing at the shifting sunlight in the canopy.

 

 

 

 

 

I still haven’t tallied all the people who participated in the Jenkins Team TdF. I went to Ravelry last Saturday evening, saw the several hundred entries and felt too daunted to tackle wading through all the posts when the website was more pressing. I want to take my time and enjoy all the effort everyone put into their spinning, to give proper attention and justice to the work of their hands. I’ll begin going through all the posts tomorrow. Will be fun!

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

10 thoughts on “New Website”

  1. The new website is BEAUTIFUL, Wanda! The pictures of the spindles are so clear and vibrant, I feel like I could almost touch them. Everything is easy to access and it is just plain fun to wander around the site. All the effort was worth it. Well done!

  2. Sounds like you live in a “seedy” place!
    I will check out your site. I am concentrating on moving all my computer info from our dying dinosaur desk top to a little netbook by hubby bought me.
    Time consuming, but knowing it will be worth it later…sound familiar…..
    Enjoy your corn!

  3. Very clean, organized, easy to navigate, and easy on the eyes. I think it’s great. I love your photography – it’s such a break from the rush of urban life down here in Austin where everything is brown and crackly. I loved the description of working outside next to your grandbaby!

  4. I agree with the others; the new website is a winner! The only small problem I found was the center photo at the top of the “Spindle Style Comparisons” somehow got skewed, and the logo is pixelated.

  5. You did a great job on the new website! Congratulations on getting it done despite all the hurdles. Now that you’ve done all the hard work, the site will be there working for you, and I’m sure it’ll do a good job of it!

  6. I think the new website is lovely- modern and clean and easy to navigate- I have been spending a lot of time there hoping to add a kuchulu to keep my swan company

  7. Congratulations on getting the website up and running! What a huge achievement for the summer 🙂 Your yarn is looking lovely, as well – that second skein, especially, is just so even and plump-looking! As is your beautiful granddaughter – how wonderful that you get to spend so much time with her, what a lucky baby.

Comments are closed.