TdF & Black Sheep pt 1

Tour de Fleece began today!  I don’t think it’s too late if you’d like to join Team Jenkins Spindlers, just reply to the very first post so Blumzie knows you want to join. Today was the Time Trials for the Tour de France so I chose to pedal the exercise bike for 20 minutes while spinning.

Digging through my fiber stash yesterday the natural selection pointed to the fiber Ed brought back to our booth at BSG: BlarneyYarn Merino/Silk Top, 2.2 ounces of each colorway
Apparently he saw a couple of shawls at Blarney Yarns booth that stopped him in his tracks and thought I’d like to spin some of the beautiful fiber.

A walnut Aegean seemed the right spindle to show off the fibers.

As usual Black Sheep Gathering was a lot of fun, and very exhausting. An apt description of an introvert is someone whose energy is drained by people, whereas an extrovert is energized by people. So true! While I do enjoy the interactions and meeting people by the end of a show I want to disappear into the woods and hide for a week.

Once again all the visual stimulus, activity, people… put my brain on overload and other than a couple of quick dashes around to see booths I pretty much stayed at our booth. With the exception of drooling over an 8 shaft Baby Wolf that Eugene Textiles had marked down. Ed first alerted me to the loom and suggested I check it out. Very tempting. Except. We drove our Ford Focus. It was packed to the roof top with display materials, spindle boxes and camping gear.

Yep, we decided to camp this year and save motel costs.
Upon arrival the young man in charge of camping reservations gestured the huge parking lot with a broad sweep of his arm, “set up where ever you want.” Really? There was one nice grassy verge under a large fir tree that looked perfect. He phoned the supervisor, “is it okay if they put up a tent on the grass?” “Um, sure, if you don’t mind automatic sprinklers going on.”

We picked a likely spot not too far from the barns, between friendly people in RVs who come from CA every year for Black Sheep. (Rats! I can’t remember their names.)

Oops, bedtime! It’ll be an early, and long day for us tomorrow. More on BSG to come…

Groan, not that I’m likely to fall asleep soon, a bunch of fireworks (illegal) are blasting through the air with accompanying shouts of cheer. Ha! It’s begun raining. If we’re fortunate it’ll pour hard/long enough to put a damper on their early festivities. 😀

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

3 thoughts on “TdF & Black Sheep pt 1”

  1. I feel the same about shows, I love the buzz but enjoy the quiet time after. I think I’m a cross between introvert and extrovert!

    That fibre looks very lovely,your Ed has a good eye

    Enjoy your spindling

  2. Your Tourd’fleece fiber is gorgeous! I am still plugging away on the malachite bamboo. The shawl is coming out nicely and I love the pattern/yarn combo!
    Sounds like Black Sheep went well.
    If you DO hide in the woods for a week, take your spindle.
    I was told that you could tell when an introvert was interested in you because he would look at your shoes while talking to you, instead of his own.
    Get some rest!

  3. Oh, how I wish I could help my wonderful dh understand how much I need “down” time after a social interaction – even from him!!

    The spinning potential looks beautiful; I hope you recover quickly from the weekend!! I’m recovering from mine today – not as fun as yours, but still draining.

    Rest, rest, rest!

Comments are closed.