Full Days

Life is hurtling head-fast these days.  I dream of finding a quiet cabin far away from the internet, phones, etc and recoup for a few day.

Once the website is finally finished there will be some breathing space. The past two weeks I’d intended to take a couple days where I completely ignored emails, the phone, all orders, the work Ed brings in for me to weigh, sign or finish… and spend the days focusing on pushing through to the end. I’ve spent the bulk of two Saturdays working only on the website. It’s so difficult to get used to a whole new way of building one, my brain keeps baulking at not being able to format it in exactly the way I’d like. The looms and hook pages are finished but the spindle pages are very daunting since each one is unique. I’m most productive when left alone with long swathes of uninterrupted chunks of time.

Meanwhile, Ed’s been having fun with making new designs on his Aegean spindles. I’m so eager to get them out to the public! Here’s a few pictures of some of his latest:

He’s also been sneaking a bit of creativity underneath an arm here and there:

Exciting news! I’ve connected with a young man who has studied film making at the Oregon College of Art and Craft and he’s ageed to work with me on making a completely new instructional spinning video. He’ll be coming here later this week to spend the day. I must pull all my scattered ideas and thoughts together, gather the various bits of material needed, tighten up my outline and work up step-outs so everything is as ready as possible for when he comes. Unlike the first filming when the girl and I spent several hours on a number of days off and on during the better part of a month we’re going to try to capture as much as possible in this one day since he works full time in Portland and finding the time  to get here has been tricky.

In the meantime, there will be portions of two different days when I’m having a medical procedure and follow-up sonogram. I hope to write about it in full one of these days.

On top of the already busy schedule the Abiqua Strings ensemble I play with is gearing up for our year end concert on June 3rd. We’ll be rehearsing the next two Fridays. At the last practice we were told that now that the pieces are coming together we need to seriously pick up the tempo. One of our violists is thrilled. The faster a piece the better he likes it.  We’ve been working on a Holberg suite, Holst’s St. Paul’s Suite, a Telemann Sonata as well as a number of Americana music. Fun stuff but my fingers tend to tangle up the notes when attempting to play faster.

Yesterday I had the privilege of playing duets with the pianist before and after a the memorial service for a wonderful woman who had a part in my life since I was two years old. What a joy to play the many uplifting hymns she’d chosen before she died after having lived a very full and rich life. Indeed a life well lived. She will certainly be missed by many, and the hole she leaves is huge, but she was ready to go Home and be with her beloved Saviour as well as her beloved husband of sixty-plus years.

Apple blossoms for Lois.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

3 thoughts on “Full Days”

  1. Looks like Ed is having a great time on those spindles!
    Love the apple blossom. Every tree in Montague, especially the locust (and there are a b’zillion locust trees in Montague) are exceptionally bloomed out this year. The air is thick with a brothel-like fragrance! It us usually a lovely spring fragrance, but — too much of a good thing……..
    The trees are just lovely, though. Filled with white blossoms.
    Thanks for the update.

  2. Oh my, you are very busy! Those spindle tops are fun and fanciful–‘someone’ is having too much fun 🙂

Comments are closed.