Slow end to Winter

Winter is refusing to graciously give way to Spring. It has snowed more days since the Spring equinox than almost all winter.   This morning as I walked down Grand View what had been a hardly noticeable mist suddenly to snow! Small wet flakes filled the air. Quickly stashing my spindle in the walking pouch I grabbed my camera.

Looking at swollen creek from the bridge.

Walking Grand View after a long break away is beginning to restore my flagging energy, sorely drained by what seems like a long winter. Walking down to the school and back with Ed was easy. Even out to cemetery hill isn’t much of a challenge but Grand View is a good workout, in both directions.  For two weeks now I’ve been walking up Grand View at least every other day, slowly going farther each time.

The brief snow flurry this morning reminded me of pictures I wanted to share from my walk two weeks ago on March 23rd, two days after the heavy snow storm. These views are from above our small village where Grand View levels out between a Christmas tree farm and grass fields. (I zoomed in for a good picture of each of the mountains. The picture at the bottom will give a better idea of the true perspective without a zoom feature.)

Looking to the East and a bit North is Mt Hood which is in Oregon.

Swinging my gaze northward along the Cascades I’m delighted to see Mt Adams.

Mt Adams is a grand mountain that does not get the respect it deserves. It lies just north of the Columbia River on the backside (East) of the Washington Cascades so it’s not readily seen in the Willamette Valley except from certain locations.

Looking due North, Mt St Helens squats broad and flat-topped. If it were a clear day we could see Mt Rainier in the

distance beyond St Helens’ eastward shoulder. For a number of years, when I was young, we lived in a place where we could see all three mountains. I’d whisper their names over and over almost as a litany while gazing at them.

Turning back to the Cascades directly across from me I zoomed the camera in to see the snow fields in the vast clear-cut areas and am astonished to realize I can see what I assumed at first was the old look-out tower. Looking at it on the computer makes me wonder if it’s a cell tower or something of that nature. It seems too tall and narrow to be the lookout tower. Son will know, he’s been up there many times with his four-wheeler.

And here’s the normal view of this same section of the Cascades.

The days are very busy: tying up the loose ends of bookkeeping and tax filing,  preparing for the spinning workshop I’ll be giving at the Columbia Gorge Fiber Festival in two weeks, along with regular business responsibilities, practicing the violin for the Resurrection Sunrise service at the Scout Ranch, and best of all, a wee baby to visit and hold whenever possible!
Starting the mornings off with a spindle in hand and a long hill to climb recharges my energy, clears my head and provides a quiet time of connecting with the Creator who provided this wondrous world.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

5 thoughts on “Slow end to Winter”

  1. “All nature sings,
    And ’round me rings
    The music of the spheres!”
    Yes, this is my Father’s World!
    We get to look out and see white, white, white Mt. Shasta
    along with Martin’s Dairy, Goosenest, and Whaleback!
    Got up to half an inch of snow yesterday! Fun!

  2. We really didn’t get winter here, and many other places didn’t either. I didn’t hear anyone complaining! I love your mountain views. While living in Nanaimo, we got a beautiful view of Mount Baker on clear days. It was spectacular and surreal, as it seemed to float above the horizon on a sea of cloud. Enjoy your grandbaby!

  3. We can see beautiful Mt. Adams (and Rainier, St. Helens, Hood, and Jefferson!) from our gravel lane. What a place to live; we (as in us NW Oregonians) are so blessed!

  4. I remember when I was growing up in Portland, Mt. St. Helens was a beautiful mountain. What a difference that explosion made.

    It’s hard to believe that you are still having SNOW.

  5. You are having a problem getting rid of winter, ours left and we had some down right hot days and everyone was mowing the grass and planting the gardens, the redbuds and dogwood are out in full bloom and now tonight the weather people are saying a possibility of a light frost. Guess winter is coming back wish it would make up it’s mind what season we are having. Maybe soon it will get itself together and I can give the wood stove a good cleaning until October.

Comments are closed.