Introducing…

Celery Stick! Yep, that’s the name Ed told the new parents they should name the wee baby girl. 😉

Aurora and Hayman decided long ago that they wanted to meet the new person to see who she was before saddling her with a name that possibly wouldn’t fit once they saw her. So wise! They did narrow their list of favorite names down to their top ten or so which they took with them to the hospital on Friday as the contractions became regular and closer together. Violet was a top choice, until they met her. Violet didn’t seem to quite fit but another name on the list was perfect. They murmured her name and tasted it on their tongues, waiting until Sunday to officially declare her given name. For the blog she will be known as Violet.

Our son, his two kids and Ed spent the day waiting. Feathers and Gus were little troopers! Every time I poked my head in they were playing happily (and quietly) or watching a video. At one point Son took them to the town park so they could run off energy.

Aurora had a wonderful support team of Hayman, MJ (Son’s wife), her best friend- Kay, I and nurses. Friday evening wee Violet made her grand entrance.

All that hard work!

Sunday afternoon was her homecoming. The day was raw and windy but the sun shone through the south windows lighting, and warming, up the room. Ed is one very content grandpa.

Isn’t she a sweet Violet!

 

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

8 thoughts on “Introducing…”

  1. She sure is a beauty glad she is here and safe and sound. Everyone can now draw a deep breath and say good job well done. Give Violet a kiss from Gracie Rae’s Grandma. Arn’t babies wonderful

  2. congrats grandma and grandpa!! I’m with Ed, I like the name Celery stick 😉
    Will email you soon with some updates.

  3. oh Wanda..don’t these little people just melt your heart…I have a clump of sweet violets by the side of my driveway, my darling Mum bought them for me when she came to stay last year, she sat and watched me planting them..special memories…now you have a sweet Violet to snuggle into and enjoy. congratulations!

Comments are closed.