Anticipation

Preparations are steadily moving forward in anticipation of the new granddaughter. After making the cocoon I dug the Baby Yours sweater out of the bag and worked steadily on it until it too was finished, right down to the cute little buttons Ed and I found when we visited Twisted in December.

Look how tiny it is! My thumb just fits into the sleeve.Pattern: Baby Yours by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee
Yarn: Cherry Tree Hill, Superwash Merino 4oz/420 yards Colorway: Jade
Needles: #2 – Ed’s needles
This pattern is worked flat and seamed together when finished. By the time I started on the arms I was eager to be finished so I worked both arms side by side on the same circs (not in the round). It was a bit of a challenge to remember which direction and which side I was on and there was a time that one sleeve was suddenly 6 rows longer than the other one. After that I used a stitch marker at the beginning of the right sleeve, front side to help me know which sleeve was which. Otherwise it was a fun pattern to knit.

As soon as Baby Yarns was blocked and drying I spun up the rest of the Crown Mountain Farms Rising of the Phoenix roving hoping to get enough yarn to make a couple hats. Spinning for a worsted I ended up with only 78 yards.  Not wanting to find more roving that would work with the RotP yarn I looked through my stash of handspun yarns and found a happy surprise – the CMF roving, Locomotive Breath, that I spun last fall made a suitable complimentary yarn. Though it’s a three ply yarn and the RotP is a two-ply they are about the same thickeess and have been behaving very well together.

Taking up a J/6mm Knook I cast on 4 loops and crocheted the first few rounds then switched to knooking the rest of the hat.
I had to do a bit of ripping out and adjusting to get the size right since I was flying by the seat of my pants without a pattern – jotting notes as I went. I’m very happy with how it turned out.The colors are pretty true to the yarn in the two pictures above. The one below is washed out.

Little buddy loves the hat that grammi made for him, and it fits great – with room to grow!

Yes! The two grandkids drove to Oregon with their mommy so they could be here when Aurora has her baby!

As soon as Gus’s hat was finished I cast on with the remaining yarn a hat for Feather. This time I’m making it from the bottom up and am about half way finished. I am sure that it will be finished in the next day, or two – depending on how much knooking time I get. The plan is to take group pictures of the three grandkids together with baby in her cocoon and the cousins in their hats made with some of the same yarn. It’s a race between getting work done, knooking and fiddle practice.

Crooked Finger Band has a St Patrick’s gig in Milwaukee on Saturday and there are a couple pieces I’d like to work up a bit more speed under my fingers and bow. I’m hoping that the baby will not decide to send her mommy into labor that Saturday.The  imminent arrival would leave the band without their fiddler, but a new baby to admire and love.

