High Water

The rain pounded down for a couple more days following my last post. Ed and I took up walking to the local county park before and after work each day to check out the creek level and see the water rushing over the Scotts Mills Falls. Thursday afternoon we dropped off parcels at the Post Office as we headed up to the falls stopping in route to look downstream from the bridge.

The water was the highest we’d seen it since the ’96 floods – when the park was completely flooded. The water didn’t get as high this year, only partially flooding the park.

It’s mesmerizing to watch rushing water roaring past, churning over what is normally a 12′ – 15′ waterfall in great swirls of chaotic motion.

We were chatting with the mayor who’d joined us, talking about water levels and flooding when he spotted a small row boat in the rapids upstream. We caught sight of it just as it snagged in tree limbs hanging over the water.See the blue boat tucked back under the black leaning tree? At first we were worried that someone might have been in it but zooming the camera at it I could see no one and we decided that most likely it’d come loose from some mooring upstream. It was caught in the branches for some time and we were just about to turn away to leave when the currents freed it and carried it towards the falls. I was snapping pictures when the mayor asked if my camera could record. I couldn’t believe I hadn’t thought of recording it sooner. Fingers fumbled in my excitement and anxiety not catching it in time. Barely.

It’s uploaded here. Ed’s voice is the one that mentions “… could be worth five dollars!”

Most of my free time has been consumed with knitting. One is for a birthday present. I started the scarf on the 7th of January and was making decent headway when the niggling thought that there might not be enough yarn sent me to the scale to weigh the partial scarf and remaining alpaca then do some quick arithmetic. The original pattern, Irish Hiking Scarf by Hello Yarn (please take some time to check out her great patterns!), is three cables wide. My d-i-l loves wide, long scarves and so I had decided to throw in two extra cable repeats for a wider scarf. Without stopping to figure out if there was enough yarn for such a large increase. There wasn’t. At the rate of yarn being used the scarf would end up being about 42 inches long. Argh! Or rather, rippet. Deadline is now only two weeks away and I’m not yet to the half-way point. I have meetings to attend in Newberg this Friday evening and Saturday morning so have high hopes of making serious headway on the scarf. In the meantime…

I was sidetracked.

A wee alluring cap pattern has been calling my name and when I found just the right yarn for it I cast if on the needles last week.
Pattern: Norwegian Sweet Baby Cap / Djevellue  by Gro
(The pattern which I printed a couple years ago, has a photo of a cap knit with alternating light and dark pink yarns.)

Yarn: Cascade Yarns – Cash Vera DK  55%Extra Fine Merino, 33% Microfiber acrylic, 12% Cashmere.

Needles 2.25mm & 2.75mm (each one size smaller than called for in the pattern since the pattern hat fits a 6 month old.)

What a fun knit! I immediately wanted to cast on for another one, this time subtracting a few stitches from each triangle for an even smaller hat. The pattern doesn’t call for a pom-pom but I couldn’t resist adding one.

Less than two months until Aurora’s due date, there are a couple more items I’d love to knit before the baby is born.

 

 

 

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

7 thoughts on “High Water”

  1. What a beautiful baby cap with our newest great grandaughter just about 3 weeks old this will make a great cap for Gracie Rae. I’m looking through my stash as I’m sure there must be something that will work, heaven knows I have enough yarn to last a lifetime. Love the pom pom think I’ll add one too if you don’t mind.
    Your water looks much like ours when we get a lot of rain kind of scary looking.

  2. I agree it can be mesmerizing watching water gushing past like that .What power it has , I do find it scary as well & especially how destructive it can be ,thankfully there was no one in that wee boat.
    What a shame that there isn’t enough yarn for the scarf , could you turn it into a cowl instead and Kitchener stitch it together ?
    Cute little hat too 🙂

  3. High, fast water is scary and unpredictable.

    Love that hat pattern. I’ve knit it myself a couple of times…so fun to knit, so cute on the baby!

  4. How well I remember the floods of ’96 which is when we were living in Hillsboro. The two roads out of our neighborhood were exceedinly sloshy. I tried crossing a creek on River Road–bad idea. I found out, yes, my car did indeed float. But Oregon City Falls was beautiful.

    Lovely yarn for the scarf–knit, knit, knit during those meetings in Newberg!

  5. Wow, that is some raging torrent. I guess the owner of the boat won’t be seeing his craft again. Did you start the scarf again without the cable repeats? I have never tried cables, because I always just thought they were hard. Seeing your scarf, and the link, makes me really want to try them. Oh, and the baby hat. It’s so cute. I must try it when I’m not so busy, whenever that is… Thank you for the pattern.

  6. Wow. Those pictures really remind you that nature is in charge, don’t they? I love the baby cap – I can see why you’d want to make more of those. And handspun for the scarf is lovely!

Comments are closed.