Gone Spinning

Absent for months on end I was determined to attend the monthly spinning group a week ago, Wednesday.  A relaxing day with other spinners was just what I needed after being down with a cold. I felt slightly guilty turning my back on work that had piled up but it would still be there the next day.

During our visit to the kids in Idaho last September I had watched the grandchildren one evening while everyone else went to Swan Falls to fish. After tucking the kiddos in bed I unpacked my spinning wheel and the 8 ounces of Crown Mountain Farms BFL roving.  Those few hours were only spinning I got in while there. When we returned home hairpin lace, knitting  and occasional weaving occupied my crafting time but once Mirth’s prayer shawl, Feather’s sweater and Aurora’s hand-warmers were finished I turned back to the wheel…

Brief sidetrack; I forgot to post a picture of her wearing them, not a great picture but she didn’t want to hold still, blame it on wee one’s hiccups!

The cold bug depleted my energy level and fuzzed my thinking but spinning felt relaxing and productive. It’s remarkable how much fiber a person can go through when most everything else is ignored. Almost 8 ounces of singles spun within a four day period. Three bobbins full ready to be plyed during the spinning group.

Spinning was at a home about 30 miles to the west, across the Willamette and up into Eola Hills. Just before the turn to Jere’s house I pulled over to gaze at this view of the Willamette River past the hills southwest of Salem.

With several of the regulars not able to attend we were a group of  six enjoying the slower pace after a busy holiday season when others had also dealt with a virus.

Jerene well captures the mood of the day: quiet and serene.

My bobbin (foreground) was as stuffed as possible. I remembered looking at a spare bobbin thinking to grab it and put it in with the wheel but alas, I must have been interrupted mid-thought. What else does one do when out of bobbins but seriously wanting to be finished with the job at hand? Wind the three singles together into a plying ball to empty the bobbins! The last of the singles were being wound onto the ball when Jerene looked across at me and asked what I was doing. I explained the purposed and Jere exclaimed about having ball winders, niddy-noddies and skein winders that I could have used.  Of course, I should have thought to ask. Jere, spinner and weaver extraodinaire, naturally has the necessary equipment for any such need.

I’m very pleased with this 3-ply yarn meeting my goal for a lofty, bulkier yarn which was spun for a specific project. After washing and hanging to dry it weighs 7.5oz / 214 grams and is approximately 250 yards.
With so many rain-free days this winter our almost daily walks are very enjoyable, even when frosty. We stopped walking during the worst of our illness but by Tuesday we were at it again (missed a few days). I grabbed some of the white wool that was in the birthday fibers and my 1.6oz yew Swan (our name for our standard sized Turkish spindles) with one goal in mind; spin all that fiber only when walking. I’m even spinning walking to and fro the Post Office, and last night I spun my way up the high to Bible Study. Coming home was the best. The moon was bright, the air biting cold, silence spread over this small valley. Bundled up with a shawl wrapped around my head and shoulders, a felted hat down over my ears, a small headlamp perched on my head with the light directly slightly down, the scant half mile was covered all too soon.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

6 thoughts on “Gone Spinning”

  1. Just lovely yarn!
    My spinning wheel has been dormant for many months….other than
    plying singles spun on my handspindles. I just have had so many knitting/crocheting projects, but mostly piano, that spinning has gone back for a bit. Still there…….just back.
    I will send you a photo of the bear set….
    Happy Thursday. I will be at The Home playing “I’m Back In The Saddle Again” and “Don’t Fence Me In”! Whee!

  2. So much beauty! The picture of the valley, your friend spinning, the yarn you finished, the mitts – all absolutely lovely. And I’m very impressed by your walking/spinning project – I can’t quite do that yet 🙂

  3. I’m going to my Spinning Guild tomorrow…really looking forward to it, I shall be plying and hopefully spinning up the next 100g of my fibre, I’m hoping for 4ply weight, we shall see!

  4. I am behind, as usual. Your pictures are always beautiful. I’m sure there isn’t anywhere in Oregon that isn’t picturesque! I love the colours of Aurora’s handwarmers. Here it is too cold for handwarmers. Winter has finally arrived with bitter cold and icy sidewalks, requiring heavy-duty winter wear for walking the dog. In my case that is sweatpants pulled on over my pants, heavy coat, hand-knit lined toque, (I made it) wool gloves with mitts over top, and thick, fluffy scarf.I knit all that stuff too. I have to be warm or the dog won’t get a good walk! I would like some quiet and serene in my life. Can you send me some? 😉

Comments are closed.