A few extra hours!

It’s bed time for people east of us and I want to post this to give people another chance to get another name on a slip for the drawing.  Thanks to all who’ve been leaving comments! What fun it’s been, although I’m remiss about replying to each person. Don’t worry! Each time you’ve commented on an individual post I’ve added your name to a slip of paper for the item you wish for in the drawing.

Because it’s much later than I’d originally intended for this final post of the contest I’ll extend the comment acceptance until tomorrow morning at 10 Pacific Time. Hey, tomorrow’s my birthday, I can slightly change the rules to benefit as many as possible. Hope no one grumbles at this time adjustment.

We had a very good Christmas day. Just about perfect. Having celebrated with our daughter and s-i-l  yesterday, since they were expected at his folks home today left us with a quiet day to enjoy pondering the birth of Jesus some 2000+ years ago.

It was good to help in singing carols and to listen to the familiar, beloved record of Jesus birth, with the elderly people at the rest home. There weren’t many as most had been taken to homes of family and loved ones. By the time I left for the rest home Ed realized it wasn’t allergies messing with his sinuses as he’d thought for the past few days but a full blow cold, which developed into coughing this evening. It was a true blessing that we had nothing pressing on the schedule for Ed to endure. A restful day at home reading, napping, watching an old movie was exactly what he needed.

I’d planned to gift the handwarmers to Aurora but they’re not yet finished. She did get to try on the completed one yesterday and seemed very pleased with it. I’d gotten up at 5 in the morning knowing that with 2 hours of free time I’d have the second one nailed, with plenty of time for  a quick soak followed by blocking action (assisted by a low blowing hairdryer) and they’d be wrapped in the nick of time.

Unfortunately they endured more tinking and reknitting then should have been necessary for a relatively simple, straightforward pattern. If I could have kept count of how many extra pattern repeats I decided to do on the first warmer. Or, taken the time to size them together before sailing merrily along the thumb gusset only to find I’d done two more repeats than on the first warmer. Eight rows to be taken out. No, 12 rows for the gusset needing moving down another set to come in at the right place. And suddenly the daylight was shining in the window and rolls needed to be made and put to rising.

There’s only the picot edging and the few rows of the thumb and they will be finished. Tomorrow they’ll be soaked and blocked.

Last Thursday’s morning drive mentioned in Friday’s post? A Christmas surprise delivery while the people of the house were away at work.
A washing machine? Dishwasher?

No! Ed made these (2) for Aurora and Haymaker:

I’ll be back tomorrow!

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

18 thoughts on “A few extra hours!”

  1. Ed makes such beautiful things – that’s a wonderful gift! I’m sure it’ll be cherished for a very long time.
    Today is your day, Wanda; I wish you a marvelous one!

  2. What wonderful gifts Ed made – and even wrapped! It’s been too hot here today to go anywhere near the greasy wool I’m spinning at the moment. But I do have some wonderful dyed tops just waiting for a trip to/with the Aegean. Thanks again.

  3. I’ve been up late watching a most fascinating program on OPB called “Music Instinct;” you would have loved it!

    GORGEOUS dresser. Must be the Christmas for them; Brian got one this year, too (watch for a blog post later today).

    Happy, happy birthday, friend! Did you get a little package in the mail yet?

  4. It’s past midnight at your place (if I got that right), so I wish you a happy birthday with lots of fun. Have a great day!

    The gift is so beautiful! Ed is really a true artist!

    (And no, I’m not commenting each of your posts ONLY to get my name in the bowl for the Aegean spindle… I really like your blog and am just lazy with comments usually… a new years resolution, I think 😉 )

  5. Happy Birthday, Wanda!!

    The handwarmers: Isn’t that always the way? The simplest things can throw the most experienced knitter! I’m working on a garter stitch afghan for my son. It has taken three major attempts to get it right. The two previous attempts were more than halfway through before I realized a re-working was necessary……Garter stitch…really! Good thing his birthday is in January, because the Christmas deadline blew right past me.

    The dressers are BEAUTIFUL….and I’m guessing there’s a special story to the wood that was used? (and that you’ll tell us about that later?? fingers crossed here)

    Hope the day is all you wish for…..and with many more to follow!

  6. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!
    Had my computer off all day yesterday as we were home for the shortest time. So I am commenting this morning.
    Had a great Christmas at church and at the homes of Steve’s folks and our oldest son’s place. Valerie Z.’s youngest son flew out from N.Y. as a suprise and it was wonderful to see his mother so happy!
    Nice!
    Hoping for a slower week this week as I am working on January Birthday gifts and have stitched very little this week!
    Have a wonderful day and Thank You for all the posts!

  7. Wishing you a very HAPPY BIRTHDAY, Wanda. And hopefully Ed’s cold will disappear soon. A day or two of rest is always a good thing.

    You can add my name again for the Aegean spindle. Whoever wins it will be lucky indeed.

    HAPPY NEW YEAR to you both.

  8. Those dressers are beautiful! And happy birthday to you!

    Squeaking in just under the deadline for one more entry for the Turkish delight.

Comments are closed.