Celebrations!

In one week we celebrate the birth of Jesus! In one week and one day, I will celebrate my 55th birthday. And today, I write the 155th post on this WordPress blog.

So, to let you in on the celebrations we, (Ed and I & Jenkins Woodworking) be having a drawing on the evening of my birthday! All who leave a comment between now and midnight of the 25/26th will be entered into the drawing.

What are the prizes???

Yes, there will be several!

1 – Walnut Hairpin Lace Loom (minus the yarn!)

1 – Circular Knitting Needles

Note: This is just a sample picture, if you win you will choose the size, and length: From US 11/8mm to US 50/25mm with the length you’d like. 45″ is a very popular length with the larger needles – great for quick stashbusting knits!

1 – Crochet Hook
Again, these are just samples! If you win you will choose the size: G/4mm – K/6.5mm will be made from either Pink Ivory or Kingwood, or L/8mm and M/9mm with Eastern Hardrock Maple, orย  Sizes N/10mm – U/25mm will be made with our beautiful local Bigleaf Maple, perfect for big, fast projects!

1ย  – Turkish Delight, Tambooti wood
Isn’t this one a beauty!

1 – Aegean Spindle, Olive wood
Ed’s latest rendition of branches and stars!
Each item will have one dedicated bowl. In your comment please state which item you’d like to win and your name will be placed into the bowl. You may comment on each post I put up between now and then, each person’s comment per post will get that person’s name in the hat again. (i.e. If I post 3 times and you leave three comments – one per post, then three slips of paper with your name will be in the bowl.)

Wishing all of you a calm, peaceful Advent week!

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

28 thoughts on “Celebrations!”

  1. Oh, that’s right – I remember we discovered last year that your birthday closely follows mine! I wish you a wonderful week as you are getting ready to celebrate Christmas and the beginning of a new year for you.

    It’s really generous of you to be the one to offer gifts on that occasion! Thanks for putting my name in the bowl for the Turkish Delight. It is such a gorgeous spindle, and would make a lovely companion for my Kuchulu!

  2. I recently turned 55. It’s not too bad! Thank you for your generous gifts! I love them all but decided to try for the hairpin loom.

  3. Well, a very Merry Birthweek for you and Jesus!
    What an incredibly fun time to have a birthday!
    Your gifts-in-reverse are just awesome!
    How does one decide?
    I, so much, enjoy my Jenkins knitting needles.
    I think, if I was chosen, a crochet hook would be just
    wonderful and beyond any holiday delights!
    Have a wonderful week!
    And THANK YOU for such an offering!

  4. What a lovely time of the year to have a birthday, can’t you just tell I’m a winter person; guess my northern New York roots are showing.

    Each and every gift your giving is awesome and I would be proud and greatful to own an example of Ed’s talented work. If I get so lucky I would choose the circular knitting needles they must be so special to knit with.

    May the Peace and Joy of Christ’s birth be yours now and forever more.

  5. Dear Wanda – what a generous offer you are making. I have been admiring the Jenkins spindles for a long time. I hope you have a peaceful Christmas and a wonderful birthday. I’m in love with the Turkish Delight, thank you.

  6. Happy Holidays and Happy Birthday- my dad’s birthday is the 26th too! How wonderful of you to do such a lovely giveaway. I’d love to be in the drawing for the Aegean spindle! Love the branches and stars…

  7. Sounds like a great week for you! Have lots of fun and a little time for yourself and your spindles now and then too ๐Ÿ˜‰

    And thank you so much for offering us gifts!
    I’d be thrilled to add an Aegean Spindle to my Jenkins collection!

  8. Wanda, Merry Christmas to you and yours! I love reading your blog, and really love using the Turkish spindles your husband makes!!!

    Pat

  9. It’s been a year since I came to visit you! How time flies! I still love all my turkish spindles and they have all been used often through the year. Merry Christmas to both of you! (I’d like to be in the bowl for the crochet hook! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. It feels unfair to comment, since I already get to enjoy your spindles! That olive one is wonderful – I love the new branches and stars. But I do have to say Merry Christmas and a happy upcoming birthday! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Merry Christmas, and happy birthday! I have two of your spindles (delight and kchulu) and would love to win your Aegean spindle. Wishing you all the peace of the season,
    Michele

  12. Wishing you a very HAPPY BIRTHDAY! And a big thank you to you and Ed for beautiful tools. Every Jenkins spindle is perfectly balanced and made with love and respect for the wood. Put my name in for the Aegean, please.

    Happy Holidays to you and your family and thank you for such a generous gift to all of us.

  13. Happy Birthday to you! As always, your tools are just gorgeous and wonderful to play with. I have your turkish spindle and just love it!
    Wishing you and your family a blessed Holiday season and thank you for your
    generous drawing.

  14. I love the branches and stars. Appreciate the chance to have my name in the bowl for the Aegean Spindle

  15. I’m working my way through the blogs I follow since getting back from AZ; so glad I saw this one in time! How can I be surprised that you and Ed are being so generous when it’s YOUR birthday? ๐Ÿ™‚

    While I always have “spindle lust,” I am thinking that getting to knit with Ed’s circular needles would be very special. I am curious about the hairpin lace loom, but the first two photos aren’t loading, so I’ll opt for the knitting needles drawing. Thank-you!

  16. Oh yes…I remember we’ve talked about our “close to holiday” birthdays.

    Congratulations on arriving at the birthday my dh and I called our “double nickels” year. ….We’re both passed that and are onto the higher speed limits of the bigger freeways now (ahem). Happy Birthday!!

    If you put my name in a bowl…please put it in the Aegean bowl. Thank you…

  17. Looks like you’ve gotten a little break in the clouds – I think it has been socked in with unrelenting overcast here in town. The fog today is sort of calm and peaceful though, like a cup of tea!

  18. Wanda, I hope you have a Wonderful Fiber Filled Birthday! You know I can’t resist throwing my name in the hat for anything that Ed makes. But more importantly, I wanted to wish you both a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

    Jana

    ps I’ve always wanted some of Ed’s knitting needles ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. I’ve been ‘out of touch’ and ‘offline’ for several days. I come over for a visit and discover a fun opportunity!

    Merry Christmas to you and also Happy Birthday. Oh, and Happy ‘blogoversary’ for your 155th post!

    I would love to have a pair of knitting needles.

  20. I’ve known of the spindles for several years now, but somehow missed the needles and hooks. I’ll be looking for those on the website and at shows.

    I’m ready to add a spindle to go with the fiber I got for Christmas. I really like the design on the Aegean spindle. This is my choice. Happy Birthday Wanda

Comments are closed.