A Simple Coconut Cake Recipe

First, a word about the duct-tape shirt form I made for Feather in the previous post. Sadly I can’t track down Charity’s blog post about when she and some friends made theirs. We flew by the seat of our pants when taping Feather and hoped for the best. Yeah, it worked.  This evening I searched for Duct Tape Dress Form and came up with this terrific how-to post at Threads Magazine. There are four different approaches to making a form for yourself complete with photos. Years ago, shortly after I’d taken up weaving, I subscribed to Threads Magazine and enjoyed all the inspiring articles. I’m delighted to make its acquaintance once again.

Progress on Feather’s sweater has slowed down due to the need to spend more time practicing the violin. The local strings group I play with has taken on some new pieces: Molly on the Shore (fun!), Sonata 1 and 2 of Telemann’s Six Sonaten, and Vivaldi’s Allegro in D for Strings. And today we were handed St Paul’s Suite by Gustav Holst. The timing in that piece is very tricky for me. Fortunately, my stand partner today was completely up to speed with her sight-reading abilities!

Last night I dreamed of coconut. Seriously. I woke during the night with the thought of sweet coconut scenting the house. This morning while checking Facebook a friend linked to an article on Emily Dickinson with a picture of a recipe she’d written on a piece of paper:

No instructions, only the ingredients:

1 Cup Coconut
2 Cups Flour
1 Cup Sugar
1/2 Cup Butter
1/2 Cup Milk
2 Eggs
1/2 teaspoonful Soda (baking)
1 teaspoonful Cream Tartar

How’s that for timing!
Understanding how cakes should be put together the batter came together quickly. The sugar and butter were blended until creamy then the 2 eggs were added and the mix well beaten to incorporate as much fluff and air as possible. The dry ingredients were measured and stirred together in a small bowl, and the milk briefly warmed.

I stirred in the flour and milk, alternating with a third of the flour mix, followed by half the milk, thoroughly mixing them in between each addition. (Mixing on slow speed to help keep the flour tender for the cake.) Last I stirred in the coconut until blended.
Judging by the amount of batter I buttered a 9×9 glass pan and put it in a 350 degree oven for 35 minutes. It ended up baking about 40 minutes.

Next time I’ll use a 9×11 pan so it won’t take so long to bake, this time it is a bit on the thick side causing the edges to cook more than I’d have liked. And I’ll try soaking the coconut in the milk first, just to help it become as moist as possible before baking. It’s oh so ever slightly a touch on the dry side – probably from the extended baking needed to get the center firm.

One departure from Emily’s recipe – frosting! I often don’t frost our cakes but in celebration of Feather’s fifth birthday it seemed in order, even though she’d not here to eat it. Also, on Wednesday I had sent a German Chocolate cake with Ed to serve at the community dinner the next town over and he’d longingly looked at the frosting. Coconut-Pecan frosting was a perfect additional for this not-too-sweet coconut cake! 🙂

Overall, it is easy and delicious, definitely one that will become a regular in this house.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

4 thoughts on “A Simple Coconut Cake Recipe”

  1. I think I will try this today, using coconut milk, and baking it as cupcakes. That will help me to use up the cow’s milk butter I have on hand, so I can justify buying goat’s milk butter from here on out. If it’s successful, then I have something fun I can take to potlucks at church, and to Thanksgiving at my kids’. Thank you, Wanda!

Comments are closed.