Anticipation!

Tomorrow a cherished dream will become reality. For almost as far back as memory serves I’ve wished to ride a horse at the beach. Though I grew up with a horse and had a  horse for several years when the kids were young we didn’t have a trailer so all riding was done, well, within riding distance. I’ve ridden through vast redrock canyonlands in Northern Arizona, leaving the horses patiently waiting below as my friend and I explored old Anasazi ruins; under majestic soaring fir trees and along needle covered paths winding through areas of the Cascade Mountains; across fields and through creeks; in parades and through thick fog, but never at the ocean.

When I happened to mention this dream to Michelle of Boulderneigh a couple months ago she quickly invited me to go with her sometime, and now is the time! I’ll drive across the Willamette Valley, crossing the Willamette River by ferry which will cut a dozen miles off the route that would lead through Salem (at rush hour), to meet Michelle at her place where she plans to have her horses loaded ready for my arrival.

But first a picture of the Holiday Yarn “Yarn Fairy” colorway Silver Roving that I finished spinning the other day. The camera had a hard time capturing the sparkle of the silver fibers.100+ grams 226 yards of 3-ply
Aurora says I should definitely make something for myself with this yarn.

The moon lured me outside this evening. What do you know: A Rabbit Moon! Do you see the dapper fellow?
I had no idea he was there until I uploaded the pictures onto the computer.

A couple weeks ago I joined my local church group for a weekend campout. Sometime I might post about the dark o’ the morning misadventure but for now, with tomorrow in mind, this will do.
I was shaking the dew off my sleeping bag when I heard a muffled snort, startled I looked around through the light layer of fog. Neighbors out for an early morning ride.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

9 thoughts on “Anticipation!”

  1. how wonderful to be able to fulfil a dream….I’m waiting to see if this garden turns out to be the one in my dreams, it is badly overgrown after 18 month of neglect.

    Love the rabbit moon! We had no curtains in our bedroom for the first 2 nights here and there was a full moon lighting up the sky, was great to watch the clouds moving across

    1. Hi Marianne,

      I have no doubt your garden will be fabulous. Remember, it won’t be achieved in a few months. 🙂

      It’s almost hard to put curtains on bedroom windows – love watching the changing night skies, the stars, moon, dawn breaking but privacy is more important when living in a neighborhood!

      Enjoy an afternoon of spinning! Wanda

  2. I bought some of that Yarn Fairy silver roving at Sock Summit too — mine’s a light green. But I haven’t spun it yet. I’ll be looking forward to seeing what you do with yours. Great pictures!

  3. That yarn is so gorgeous, so even! Make something festive!
    I could never see the man in the moon…a bit obscure, but
    the rabbit is always easy to pick out as it hippity-hops through the
    night sky! Cute photo! Have fun on the beach!

  4. I hope you’re having a lovely day riding at the beach, and that fulfilling your dream will be just as good as anticipating its fulfillment!

    Your yarn is exquisite! I agree with Aurora: treat yourself to something nice using it.

  5. A beach ride sounds fabulous – I hope it’s even more wonderful that you’ve dreamed! (And the rabbit moon is fabulous – what a happy surprise.)

  6. What beautiful spinning!! I’m in awe. And totally marvelous that you are fulfilling a dream – I know you will treasure the memory!!

  7. Oh, I can’t wait to hear about your beach ride! I know that this is something that you have long looked forward to, and I’m so glad that it’s going to happen! (The yarn is gorgeous, too 🙂 )

Comments are closed.