Spinning Pinks

Still haven’t finished updating the Jenkins Woodworking website but it’s getting closer. Added PayPal buttons to the Aegeans and Larks. Only the kuchulus to add. (I am not happy with the exposure on the spindle pictures but really hate to spend even more hours rephotographing all the spindles then editing and uploading…)

I’m at a lose to know whether the PayPal buttons work properly. Can’t figure out how to test them without taking the site live. Looks like I need to bite the bullet and upload the website and see if everything works. Meanwhile I keep having second thoughts that I should completely start all over and build a new website from scratch but with online  software that I could access from the work computer or on the laptop as needed.

Evenings have been devoted to weaving, a bit of knitting, some hairpin lace, and reading. Sunday afternoon I sat in the shade of the catalpa tree and finished spinning 3 singles of Holiday Yarn’s Silver Roving which I got at Sock Summit.Haven’t taken in progress pictures. Spinning this fun pink fiber reminded me of spinning late May/early June. Looking  back through June posts I see that I’d forgotten to post pictures of spinning Picperfic’s Twinkle. (There’s still much from June I’d like to blog about!)

A parcel arrived from England bearing Twinkle from Picperfic’s Etsy (you must see what she’s creating now over at her blog!) Raspberry/pink fluff-n-stuff spilled forth from the bag. I was so tempted to spin it right away but needed to finish a couple projects. During the Memorial Day weekend I was able to spin to my heart’s content.
It spun sweetly through my fingers the sun glinting off the sparkly Trilobal Nylon aka Firestar aka Icicle, which is a shiny polyester material.

 

100 grams = 270 yards of 2 ply yarn. Still not quite sure what to make with it.

Sherbert anyone? mmm

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

3 thoughts on “Spinning Pinks”

  1. Do you know just how much I needed to read this post? do you know what trauma has been going on in the Fluffy household? Today is a new day and we are coming round from the stress of buying a house from a deranged man….you have cheered my heart, thank you Wanda…oh and I need to go and see if I can buy some of that silver fibre, I have tried and tried to get some to dye for my shop, it is a most lovely blend but the small amount I did manage to buy just flew out of my shop, except for a little bit that I kept for myself 🙂 Beautiful spinning as usual xox

    Oh and if you’d like to read about the trauma you can find it here in Barry’s blog http://razmabaz.blogspot.com/2011/08/how-difficult-can-it-be-to-buy-house.html

  2. BEAUTIFUL, BEAUTIFUL!!!
    After a 5 month hiatus, I have my wheel back in the living room and am working on some cotton for a crocheted vest……..someday.
    I am, sort of, under a catalpa tree, as our neighbor has one and I know
    the branches hang over the side of our living room where my wheel is!
    Tee hee hee!

Comments are closed.