Update concerning Jenkins Woodworking website

It seems best, for now, to keep announcements concerning the Jenkins Woodworking website confined to the actual site and this blog. 🙂

Wouldn’t you know it; years ago I threw away the box the Microsoft FrontPage CD (my website building software) came in, and kept only the CD. Without the Product Key, which was on the box, FP can’t be installed on our newer work computer. Called Tech Support this morning and talked with a  helpful person at Microsoft who informed me that they no longer support FP. Spent a couple hours this morning reading website builder reviews. More decisions to be made…

Aegean, Sycamore

For now I’ll muster on with FrontPage on the old computer. Deleted a bunch of old documents and pictures to free up space then uploaded pictures of a good portion of the spindles that are in stock, only Aegeans, Kuchulus and Larks at this time.

All but three Swans (Standards) sold out at Sock summit.

Kuchulu, Redheart
It took most of the afternoon and into the evening to format and edit pictures of the spindles.  All that’s left to do is figure out uploading and embedding the PayPal buttons to facilitate buying the spindles without the need for time-consuming back and forth emails.      Lark, Marblewood

A couple weeks ago Ed and I took a Thursday and went to visit friends who live at the coast. Our children were babies and preschoolers together during our Portland days, Vallie and I shared stay-at-home motherhood and aerobics, the men drank coffee and smoked a cigar most Saturday mornings and fished whenever they could. When we left Thursday morning we planned to spend a few hours with them then head down to the beach.

The sun was shining but a stiff cold wind was blowing down from the northwest. Their living room window had a splendid view of the ocean with an occasional boat passing along the horizon. We had such a lovely time visiting and sharing food together, the hours pleasantly passed and too soon it was time to leave. We walked past a couple houses to the end of their block to gaze at the ocean one last time before heading inland.
It was disappointing not to spend time on the beach, to roll up my pants and do some serious splashing but I have a date with Michelle to look forward to: we’re planning to trailer her horses in September for a long ride on the beach – something I’ve always wanted to do.

Horses… My daughter’s step-daughter, Autumn culminated a week of horse camp at Canyonview with a show for parents to see their child and horse in action. Aurora and I spent a relaxing morning watching each camper individually put “her” horse through its paces. Each child worked on specific goals to achieve the next level in the Christian Camp Horsemanship International rankings. Watching the kids and horses brought a flood of memories from the two summers I spent as a wrangler at a camp teaching kids to ride and taking them on a multitude of trail rides.
One requirement was that Autumn had to halt at the far end of the arena before completing the last course of cones. This was her first year. See how nicely her heels are down and she’s looking ahead anticipating the next move after engaging her horse. 🙂

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

3 thoughts on “Update concerning Jenkins Woodworking website”

  1. Of course I clicked for big on all three spindle photos, and LOVE the Aegean and Lark! The Sycamore’s grain is so interesting, and the marblewood is stunning. How much does the Lark weigh?

    Looking forward to our beach ride!!!

  2. I love the picture of Autumn on her horse! That is one thing that I (and the girls) have always wanted to do but haven’t made time for. Note to self: reexamine the schedule 😉 I can’t wait to hear about your beach ride!

  3. Yippie ki yo ki yay!
    Should be a fun ride on the beach!
    Have fun with the FP……I figure, if the
    fiber arts site I maintain goes buggywumpers,
    or our computer dies….(and it is definitelly on the “outs”)
    my relationship with websiting will be over.
    Fortunately, my in-home tech support favoriteman does his business
    web site and messes with all the cart, payment, etc.
    A BIG deal, and don’t let anyone tell you differently!
    Thanks for the nice photos!

Comments are closed.