An early walk in the sun

Early light pulled me out of bed eager for a walk along the road.
Yesterday evening, while walking with a friend, I saw several items that needed the rays of an eastern sun. This morning’s early sunlight pulled me out of bed, eager to retrace my steps. Mopley wasn’t quite so eager. She seemed to think me daft to be hitting the road again so soon. We haven’t been walking near as much as needed and it’s time to mend my ways. Perhaps her eleven year joints were achy.

Every time I walk past this tree I want to climb the fence and stretch out along that wonderful branch. Over a dozen years ago when the property with its old house and small barn were put on the market I longed to buy it. But it’s in the county across the creek where property taxes are considerably higher than in this county, and the asking price was too higher. Can’t you see children swinging in a rope swing arching up into the canopy? Course, it’s not high enough above the ground to seriously swing, it’d be a lazy swing! When I was very young we had a grand maple tree in our front yard with a rope swing hanging from a high branch. My dad would push me so high he’d have to jump to catch my ankles, propelling me upwards until my feet kicked the leaves.

Further along I continue straight ahead, cutting across the sharp left turn of the main road, to wander the smaller road leading to a couple farms and the cemetery. The play of shadow and light across the immature wheat field captured my attention.

Protecting the corner between the wheat field and a farm house is a huge pine tree.Yes! That is the color of the fruit – purple! The needles are very long on this tree, my friend – who is half Chinook, identified it as a Sugar Pine and said the needles are favored by various tribes for making pine needle vessels and baskets. (Chinook – pronounce with a hard ch as in chair, are Native Americans who live in various coastal and river areas of SW Washington and NW Oregon)

On the other side of the lane a beautiful field of sugar peas, oats and a white flowered grass stretches up a gentle hill. This field is on a farm where young Holstein heifers are raised. This combination makes me believe this crop is destined for the munching pleasure of the heifers.

I’ve tried looking up the white flowered plant, to no avail. I keep wanting to call it vetch for that is also often planted in fields of oats and peas. It’d be easy to become completely sidetracked chasing down the name of this plant and getting lost on all sorts of rabbit trails!  Rather than continue to wander blindly amongst the search engine offerings I suspect a reader will know!

All too soon it was time to turn back and dive into the day’s work. Upon reaching home I brought in the newly spun skein of yarn which had hung to dry on the back porch last night.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

7 thoughts on “An early walk in the sun”

  1. Interesting: in my part of Idaho (where I grew up), we were taught to pronounce it “shi”nook, as if it were French. Must be a regional difference. Your photos, as ever, are gorgeous, and make me homesick for the Pacific Northwest.

    1. You know what’s a riot? For years I pronounced Chicago with the hard ch. I suppose it was due to growing up hearing and seeing a couple of place names, taken from the Chinook language, that start with the hard ch, ex.;Chemawa, Chemeketa and so transfered that sound to Chicago. I still slip at times. With other words, too, as some of my friends can well attest.

      French influence was strong in some areas in the Pac NW but the Chinook people are adamant about the hard ch sound. It’s confusing when most people use the soft sound when commenting on the Chinook Wind or the Salmon.That was one of the first things my friend stressed when we first met and got to talking about some of the stuff she’s involved in with the tribe. She’s very active in working to help preserve the Chinook language.

  2. I am an Oregon native and this is the first time I’ve heard anyone use a hard ch for Chinook and I even had native American friends when I lived there. We must have never talked about salmon 🙂 Thanks to your friend for educating me. As the wife of a former (can you ever really be a former?) linguist, I’m thrilled to hear that the CHinook language is being preserved.

    And that fiber drying in the morning sun–oh now I’m itching to pull out my wheel and spin for even a few minutes!

  3. That must have been a lovely walk. Your picture of the sugar pine is beautiful. I hadn’t heard of it before so I looked it up. It seems the sugar pines are suffering from blister rust. Hopefully the ones in your area are okay. I’d really like to find out what the white flower is. I’ll look into it!

  4. Beautiful walk thoughts, Wanda!

    Makes me want to swing so high I can touch the leaves with my feet, and stretch out on that limb.

    Your yarn is lovely! Can’t believe you can hang it out at night! Here in the river valley, the dew coats everything this time of year….

Comments are closed.