Walk with me Wednesday

An early morning walk last Wednesday with the grandkids. Two block and we reached the stairs that students used to climb daily to get to the old school. Originally the high school for Scotts Mills, then after unification it became the elementary school until a new one was built in 1975 on the outskirts of town. It is now privately owned. Many times Ed and I have wished we’d known when it was put up for sale. We were only about a year too late!

“Come on!”

Feather is racing ahead up the steps undaunted by the rough unevenness.
See the open door at the bottom corner of the gym? That was the barn part of the gym where the kids who rode horses to school put them during the school day.   The pasture below the gym/barn was fenced so the horses were free to graze.

Finally! The top of the stairs overlooking the town.

Past the school and the church and on down to the County Park with Feather in the lead. The creek is high from all the late snow runoff.


And now to the swings!


Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

5 thoughts on “Walk with me Wednesday”

Comments are closed.