Old and New

One dilemma of not blogging regularly is forgetting to post finished items, at least in a timely manner, then overwhelming someone’s bandwidth with trying to catch up.

Having struggled to the end of Llama I recently dug through my stash for something soothing and fun to spin and found just the bundle:Β  Holiday Yarn superwash BFL – colorway Empire Apple, that Tsock Tsarina and Gywniver, aka Lisa and Jennifer, gave me at the end of Sock Summit ’09.
A few evenings from this to

406 yards of 2-ply yarn. What’s it going to be?

We’ll see! πŸ™‚

Remember the Phang spindle I wrote about early in December, the hand spindle that a certain Janet had carved, using onlya simple knife,Β  whilst walking in the woods? The spindle is her interpretation of the Ladakh phang – pronounced to closely rhyme with song, if I understand correctly. There’s a great discussion about them on the Spindle Lore forum in Ravelry. (Speaking of which, does anyone else get so far behind there that, other than a quick dash to grab a pattern or a link, you avoid stopping by Ravelry for fear that a day will blur into oblivion trying to catch up?)

I finished spinning the wool Janet had sent with the phang. Wanting to keep the length of the single, I wound it off onto a bobbin for ease of plying. PamΒ  gifted some grey Pygora to ply with the wool single. Brilliant! Pygora and phang were a happy union of fiber and spindle. I’m stunned to realize that I don’t have a picture of the finished yarn on this computer.

With these two yarns finished and quietly waiting to be made into something, the spinning bug continues to whine in my ear. How could I resist when I saw this for sale? Even lovelier in real life. This will be the next fiber on my wheel. Seriously, it’s taking all the self-control I can muster not to dive in and spin it.

Knitting this shirt has taken top priority.

Pattern: Buttercup by Heidi Kirrmaier
Yarn: Abstract Fiber Mighty Sock, Koi Pond
I fell in love with the cheerful colors and drape of this 50/50 superwash merino/tencel yarn. It pleasantly slips through the hands and along the needles.

The Grandkids, Faith and Wesley will be arriving tomorrow for a week long stay with us. I need to get busy and clean the house, tidy up project areas and put tempting needle items out of reach of young hands, then do some last minute meal planning and shopping. A busy week ahead is in forecast!

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

9 thoughts on “Old and New”

  1. Just lovely!
    My daughter in law is in Spain for about 2 1/2 weeks, so with 3 little kiddies around a lot, I haven’t done much fiber (or piano, sigh), but….I did acquire 2 Cotswold fleeces yesterday! Whee!

  2. my goodness that spindle spinning is so fine! I really must try and do some finer spinning. I get bored so easily haha

    I’ve never felt Llama yarn, is it soft like Camel? The yarn you’ve produced looks so beautiful..

    I am off to investigate Buttercup πŸ™‚

    I envy you having your Grandchildren to stay, mine live so far away and life is getting busier for me right now so visits are too few and far between

    I am so happy you are pleased with your Twinkle!! it was difficult to photograph but it is just so lovely, can’t wait to see what you spin it into, have a lovely weekend ~ Marianne x

  3. I do hope you’ll post a photo of the finished product. And I don’t think I could discipline myself to wait very long to spin up that lovely pink fiber either.

  4. So much beauty! I love all of the fibers you’re spinning with (not to mention the resulting yarns). I’ve been reupping my commitment to spinning lately, which means less knitting time, but posts like this keep me inspired! Enjoy your time with the grandkids πŸ™‚

  5. Tickled pink!

    I have been spinning a lot this week too. On a certain Aegean spindle – Serenity. One of two spindles I have dared to name. The other? Heart’s Ease. A bamboo Turkish Delight πŸ™‚

    Enjoy a sweet week with your dearest little ones.

  6. Beautiful skein!

    And lucky you, owning a phang from Janet! She is very clever and skilled, indeed!

    Have to google “Trilobal” Nylon….

    but I am currently spinning a Merino Tencel blend, and have been blending Tencel with Gotland. It is an interesting fiber, esp the way it behaves in the dyepot !

Comments are closed.