Loom, and Ed Plays Again!

Hurray, I’m thrilled to my toes that I got into my #1 choice of a Sock Summit class! Socks Exotica: Silk, Cashmere and Friends taught by Judith MacKenzie. I can justify taking leave of our booth for one 3 hour class which meant carefully choosing the class that would best meet my needs and as I’m focusing more on the desire to be a spinning teacher I put blinders on for all the so very enticing knitting classes.

Yesterday was the monthly Spinning Group day. I hadn’t been in a few months but decided not to let the noon Sock Summit registration deter my going. The sunshine and soft air seemed to set a glow to the abundant unfurling leaves, grasses and flowers, a day meant to be spent outside, at least enough to drink in the beauty. The day an oasis of calm spinning in the midst of busyness. Happily a new spinning project has been started, one that doesn’t involve hours of picking out vm. Shortly before noon the host, Sharon, graciously let me use her computer to register for the class. Ten minutes and back to spinning, it was that seamless and smooth of a registration.

Llama yarn is spun, dyed with Landscaped Dyes and ready to be woven into a rug. I’d love to warp the loom this weekend. What, is there a better way to spend Mother’s Day?!
Sadly,  Woodland Woolworks is shutting their doors. Though I rarely made the journey across the valley to shop there, I did love being able to select the yarns in person when I had a specific weaving project in mind. More often I access their extensive inventory online and I will greatly miss the convenience. Most of all I’m sad that they weren’t able to hold their own in what seems to be a highly competitive market. Items always arrived within a couple days of placing the order and, as a business we loved working with Diane and her staff! We are terribly disappointed that they won’t be sharing the booth with us at Black Sheep as they did last year. Instead Diane has arranged for Sweet Grass Wool to take her place in the booth. I’m thankful that Diane selected Patty whom I have met and enjoyed chatting with several times, and I love her spinning fibers!

One day Ed was having a non-productive day in the shop where everything he touched either dropped to the ground or ended up in the firebox. Around mid-morning he called it quits and we decided to make good use of the day and drove over to Yamhill to visit Woolworks. At Ed’s encouragement (almost insistence) I came home with far more than I had imagined possible.
If it fit in the back seat of the car I should be able to find a spot in the house for it. Right?

I’d been wanting a Glimakra Julia since testing one at Black Sheep Gathering 2 years ago and when Ed saw this demo loom at the store he knew it was time. I’m looking forward to weaving the generous warp that is on it. Crazy but when we put it back together we accidentally switched the two main bars for the warp and cloth beams. It wasn’t until I tried tightening the warp that I realized the ratchet gears face the wrong way. Another project I’d like to tackle this weekend.

Over two months ago a customer wrote asking if Ed could make her an Aegean using Viking Runes, aka Futhark. She’d gotten the idea when reading Elsebeth Lavold’s Viking Patterns for Knitting. We ordered the book and after looking at the pictures did some online researching and came up with more ideas, including a pre-Greek alphabet (of course that word didn’t yet exist!) which was found on Crete, and an ancient form of Turkish writings which is totally exciting to me. Except that many of the symbols are curved which doesn’t work so well for marking on wood. Last week Ed was finally able to make two of these spindles; one with Viking Runes, the other with pre-Greek symbols.

Holly Aegean Anglosaxon Runes (futhark) reading from middle outward: Joy, Earth, Chalice

Holly Aegean with Pre-Greek, known as Linear B, symbols spelling SPIN

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

7 thoughts on “Loom, and Ed Plays Again!”

  1. this is all so exciting.
    (except for the sad news about WW. I’ve been feeling awful about that)
    What a wonderful addition to the Aegean.

  2. I have sadly refrained from registering for any classes at Sock Summit, though I would love to take a spinning class from JM. But I will definitely run up to wander the marketplace, give and get hugs, and soak up the atmosphere!

    I LOVE how the llama yarn turned out, and how neat to learn that Ed was the driving force behind the Julia. The new Aegean designs are neat, but I’m perfectly happy with mine. 🙂

  3. Oh, hooray! I can’t wait to see you at SS 🙂 And I’m delighted that you got Judith’s class – I was SO tempted to take it, but decided that I just wasn’t up for figuring out how to get my wheel there (a cop out, I know), so I’ll live vicariously through you. She is a wonderful teacher.

  4. You certainly have a lot to look forward to!!
    Congrats on your Glimakra Julia!!

    Have a great time a Sock Summit!

    Ed’s Aegeans with the Viking Runes are fabulous!

  5. Does Ed have a bit of a, “My wife’s crazy!” look on his face, or is he just realizing that the next loom you acquire will need a larger vehicle? Whee!
    Have fun at the S.S. and thank you for the great alpaca photos! Can’t wait to see it woven!!!

  6. I agree about WW – They did an extraordinary job of having all the odd little things I needed, and the lovely, high-quality things I wanted. Sigh.

    How funny that the rune for earth looks like a spindle! Is that pyrography? Or did Ed carve those in?

    Thank you again for the Lark! I’m glad I’ve gotten your blogsite as a bonus, and will read often.

Comments are closed.