Mom’s Birthday

Mother would have celebrated her 95th birthday today. She’s been much on my mind lately.

A phone call yesterday, the voice asking how my day is going. For a moment time disappeared and I thought it was mom. The voice and question were hers. I’d never before mistaken Aurora’s voice for mom’s. Perhaps only because I’ve been thinking of and missing her a great deal lately. 15 years ago my brothers from Arizona, my sister from the coast and I gathered to spend mom’s last birthday with her. She was extremely disappointed not to get her birthday wish: to celebrate her birthday in heaven. One month late, on Mother’s Day, she was granted that wish. There is so much in my life that I wish I could share with her. She was an encourager, a good listener, accepting of people where they were in life with good sound advice to help them move beyond the hurdles, practical, and greatly loved nature and all that is beautiful.

It’s a great sadness that our grandkids don’t have the privilege of her love. She married for the first time in her 30s to a man she loved the rest of her life. She was 40 when she gave birth to me, the youngest of four children in six years. My parents never seemed older than most of my friend’s parents. They both aged gracefully while maintaining a youthful outlook with a love for people, life and keeping eyes fixed firmly on God. Once I hit the teen years I understood the huge advantage we had over our friends: parents who’d already figured out that most teenaged turbulences are simply minor bumps in the road and nothing to get steamed at. Mom had worked with inner city kids during her college years in downtown Chicago in the mid-30’s. Those street kids taught her how to deal with unruly people without losing her cool or composure.  She was the epitome of patience even in the face of hard trials and heartache. Only three times in my memory did she get very angry and let us have an earful before shutting her mouth in anguish for erupting at us. We deserved each outburst. Teenage  pettiness and arguing with siblings during times when she was extremely tired and under a great deal of stress. I wanted to crawl off to my room, (under the car seat the last time) in shame for being so selfish and mean that I’d caused mom this grief.

This picture was taken in the late 40’s when she was home for a visit. She’s  sitting on the rock, laughing.

Mom’s anchor and joy throughout life was the Solid Rock.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

7 thoughts on “Mom’s Birthday”

  1. Beautiful post…I am so emotional regarding Mother issues. My Mum is 79! She lives in Northern Ireland and has just had her Knee replaced. We travelled to stay and look after her for a week. It has taken me a while to accept that my Mum is getting older, i used to get annoyed at her ailments, she seemed to develop knew problems so very quickly, I felt she was giving in to old age…now i realise that she is a good age, but only 24 years ahead of me so I must take care of my bones. She is such a precious member of our family, i keep imagining how grief stricken i shall be when we no longer have her in our lives.

    I understand Wanda…truly xxoxoxx

  2. My mom would have been 97 this year, Dad 106. How blessed we are to have parents whose love and example we miss. Mine were not outwardly religious, but they were two of the finest Christians I know, and they prepared the way for me to become one. Sending you love from the Lone Star State.

  3. What a lovely tribute, especially with Mother’s Day coming upon us soon!
    I just finished and mailed a Swallowtail Scarf (pattern modified) to my mom for her 75th birthday. She is a newlywed now, and she and my new 84 year old dad whisk around in the Miata and on cloud 9. Too fun. So great that she gave her family a deep Biblical rooting and grounding.
    Say, who are the other two ladies in the photo? Great picture!
    Happy Mother’s Day!

  4. How blessed and lucky some of us were to be nurtured by wonderful mothers (and fathers). We could grow up and raise our own children with those same caring values. I remember the first time our daughter came home from college, insisted on a group hug with her mom and dad and thanked us for being normal and caring parents. I silently thanked my mom for the same thing. Great post….thank you!

  5. Thank you Wanda, for that lovely post. My mom right now is very ill and tomorrow she’s getting the results of tests which, we fear, may bring some bad news.(We’re prepared for a cancer diagnosis.) I’ve rescheduled my weekend so I can go and see her if she feels up to it. Your post was very timely. I love the picture of your mom. She looks beautiful, happy and carefree in that picture.

Comments are closed.