Flurry of scarves

A couple posts back, appallingly more than a month ago, I wrote about taking piano lessons as a child. When my brother, DL –  Dan, read the post it set his mind reaching back through the years. Memories of lessons with Mrs Messerlee surged to the front, most notably her maddening habit of dozing off with her pencil still on the music. As the erstwhile student continued playing the pencil would scribe tiny scribbles along the music staff leaving her marks throughout our music books and sheet music.

Mention of the little statues sent Dan digging through his belonging to this triumphant find. I am so tickled that Dan saved one of the composers to have for sharing a small token of a time that shaped our lives:

Ideals of posting weekly lay in the dust-motes of vanished weeks. So much has happened: the grandkids visiting; a couple of music gigs; traveling to Madrona Fiber Retreat; spinning demo/mini lessons at a yarn store during the Portland Yarn Crawl; getting waylaid for over a week by the flu. It’s most logical to start where I left off but don’t worry, it’s not all happening on this post.
First, the concentrated effort of finishing scarves to give to Mandy, Feather & Wesley. I hadn’t intended on knitting Feather & Wes scarves. Happily knitting on my very own red Cat’s Paw Scarf , entranced by the rhythm of the pattern and the subtle variations of red, the idea pounced: “Knit Feather a scarf. Now. With the colorful yarn from the roving Mandy gave you. ” Immediately I tried to stifle the nonsense. “Insane! I’m too slow!” But, “Feather would love a cat’s paw scarf!” So, I dug out the yarn, which I had decided to 2-ply (pictures and the debate on how to ply it in the January 10th post). Knitting needles in hand I started the scarf on Feb 3. Three days later it was finished! Whoot, that tops all records for me. Granted, a four year old doesn’t need a very long scarf.
Wheeee. Since that was finished sooo quickly I must make a scarf for Wesley too! But not Cat’s Paw.

On Feb 4th I saw on the knitdaily newsletter a simple ribbed recipe which I had the presence of mind to write down on a scrap piece of paper:
Row 1 : *K3, Slip 1* purlwise with yarn in front, Repeat, K last 3 stitches
Row 2: K1, *Slip 2, K3* Repeat to last 2 stitches, Slip 1, K1
Repeat Rows 1&2 until desired length. Bind off. Easy peasy! (Always slip stitch purlwise with yarn in front)

The needles had barely cooled before I was casting on with some yarn from my stash. No time to spin for this scarf… next time little guy.
Without the blinders of a weekend to give me long knitting hours this scarf didn’t slide off the needles until the 13th, just in time for a soak and blocking dry before the kids left to go home on the 14th.

Meanwhile I was also spending any spare moment at the loom to finish the three rugs. The last one was also for Mandy’s birthday and I wanted to give Feather & Wes the chance to weave on it before taking it off the loom and finishing it. The grandkids were with us all day Friday. They seemed to enjoy weaving on the rug, especially the beating part. Sadly we didn’t think to get any pictures of them helping me.   Saturday I tied the fringe, tossed the rug in the washer then dryer and was pleased with the overall results. (Lilydog tried to claim it for her own.)


Mandy seemed thrilled with both the scarf and the rug. 🙂   The kids also seemed to like their scarves but they were already seatbelted in for the long journey home and didn’t get out.

Oh, and remember the bunkbed Ed was making for Feather? Back home, installed in her room.
Goodnight everyone!

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

5 thoughts on “Flurry of scarves”

  1. Beautiful, all of it
    and a bottom bunk where you don’t have to bang your head getting into it all the time. wonderful design, Ed.
    Janet

  2. All I can say is Wow, Wow, and Wow! on the bed, scarves, and rug! Sounds like your weeks have been very productive! Love the photos!
    Any sign of spring up there yet? We are still anxiously awaiting as it could be 2 more months here….sigh

  3. So very productive! What a lucky girl Feather is to have such a bed. Love the scarves–sometimes you just gotta go with what the yarn tells you it wants to become.

  4. My goodness! You’ve been busy! Those scarves are just lovely (and they will be well-loved), and the rug turned out beautifully. The kids look like they’re having a great time on that bunk bed, too. I’m sorry to hear you got the flu – I hope you’re feeling well-recovered 🙂

  5. I love the bunkbed! It’s a great design, Ed. And the wall behind with the clouds is lovely! When I saw the little Bach statue, it reminded me instantly of something I’d forgotten. My aunt had a statue just like that of Beethoven on her piano. Whenever I visited her, our visit was always full of music. She and I played our flutes together, or I accompanied her on the piano, or we’d get out recorders and have a blast trying Renaissance music. And all the while, Beethoven would be glowering down at us from the top of the piano. I wonder where that little statue went? I hope your flu is all gone. I never got a shot this year–I probably should have.

Comments are closed.