Winter Walk

Walk with me in the Oregon Garden.

A brisk day with frost on the ground and no hint of rain had me longing for a walk some place that I hadn’t been in awhile. Grace suggested The Oregon Garden and so it came about that we hung out for a couple hours enjoying fresh air, a good walk, conversation and food. The easy, quick access and lack of people made it the perfect place for rejuvenation.
The Oregon Garden is a youngster in the world of gardens having been only a dream less than 20 years ago. Developing a world class garden takes knowledge, passion, huge effort and thousands of hours of work. She’s has a rocky start with various obstacles to overcome but I’m very thankful for this lovely spot on the edge of Silverton overlooking the Willamette Valley. There are various types of gardens and all kinds of activities for young and old during warmer seasons. Even in January there are events such as the Stitches in Bloom Quilt Show on the 27th and 28th.

 

 

One of the first places we sought was the Conifer Garden with its array of species, and this tree in particular.

Chief Joseph Lodgepole Pine
Pinus contorta var. latifolia ‘Chief Joseph’

This dwarf pine tree becomes a brilliant yellow in the cold of winter. During the spring the needles slowly change to green then back to gold with autumn.
Its only natural habitat is in the Northeastern corner of Oregon, in the Wallowa mountains where Chief Joseph spent the summers with his band of the Nez Perce tribe.

 

 

 
Winding paths lead us to the Signature Oak

Oregon White Oak
Quercus garryana

 

Winter does not do this majestic old tree justice. Nor does my picture capture the immensity.
This grand oak is over 400 years old! See how the lowest limbs dip down and embrace the ground? I will visit this tree again when the grass is green and leaves crown it with glory.

(Note my coffee cup resting on the fence post where I placed it to take the picture. A hot cup of coffee is a pleasant treat during a freezing walk.)

 

 

 

 

These children greeted us at the Pet Garden

They offer refreshing water to thirsty pets that accompany walkers on Garden outings.

 

 

 

 

 


 

At this small pond is a sign

Grace was tickled to read the this plaque and see the name of the woman who taught her to spin years ago, Lurlyn Long. What’s the odds of two spinning friends out for a stroll to unexpectedly come across the name of a dear mentor.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Grace next to Bobbie the Wonder Collie.                              

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And what is a brisk walk in freezing weather without a meal to celebrate?  Curtousey of Grace.

 

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

5 thoughts on “Winter Walk”

  1. What a nice break from the constant indoors of our cold winter! Montague is such a different place when all the locust, maple, and elm trees are winter bare! Can’t wait for them to leave out again!
    Stay warm!

  2. I’ve only had the pleasure of visiting the Oregon Garden twice; once before it was finished (free), and once since, but years ago. I would LOVE to have a membership and visit often, but know that with my life that wouldn’t happen. Thank-you for taking us along to this beautiful place!

    BTW, I’m using my gorgeous Jay to spin up a luscious 75/25 BFL/silk sample from Corgi Hill Farm; it’s a totally decadent experience! I also mentioned Jenkins in a recent post on my favorite Oregon brands. 🙂

  3. That looks like such a lovely walk, and yummy Food! Is it some kind of French toast? It’s so cold here, and snowy and icy, that walking is not really fun right now. Of course, the dog needs to be walked, but if I didn’t have her, I wouldn’t be venturing out at all. I really can’t wait for spring.

Comments are closed.