Cat’s Paws Scarf

Last week I’d planned to write about a frosty outing to the Oregon Garden but the evenings were swept away in finishing two more projects and working on another one which should be finished before starting another knitting project.

 


First the finished Northern Lace Cat’s Paw Scarf by Elizabeth Lovick.  A Free Pattern.
50 grams Schoppel Wolle roving gifted to me by my son and d-i-l, M for Christmas ’09, Spun into 3 singles on Lark and plyed in May.
Needles: Jenkins #10/6mm
Began knitting on Nov 30 with intention of giving the scarf. Wove in ends and washed on January 1st.

This scarf is so light, just a wisp around the neck. It’s going to be hard to part with it. M’s birthday is Feb 14th so I have a month to fondle. The sooner I cast on for one of my own the sooner I’ll get over wanting hers. Right?

 

 

 

 

 

Along with the blue/green/black roving M & J also gave me 50 grams of roving in bright rainbow colors. I had immediately test spun a bit of it on the wheel then put the bobbin and roving in a zippered bag and set it aside to dive into the 800 yard challenge. It was unearthed just last month. Minus identifying band. I think it also is a Schoppel Wolle roving. This week it was divided into three strips and spun on three bobbins. They’re now ready to ply together. (Vanity speaking – it really bothers me that the final bobbin-full, the one on the left, is so messy and uneven. I was on a mad sprint to the finish line last night.)

Except now, I’m eyeing the 64 grams of spun soft-grey alpaca left from what I spun to go with the Mohair, thinking if I were to ply a strand of alpaca with a strand of the rainbow instead of 3 plying the colors together, it might give my a colorful heather. I’m reluctant to test spin much of it for I spun with the intention of maintaining the color sequences. I’m not a huge fan of chain-ply but am considering it as an option as I look at Bobbin #3 (left). Decisions! Feedback most welcome.

Saturday the sun was out and I finally did a video of my method for winding onto the flatter armed Aegean spindle. A lot of yarn can be packed onto an Aegean with this method, and I find it’s quicker than the traditional over 2, under one.  For all those who are interested, here you go.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

7 thoughts on “Cat’s Paws Scarf”

  1. Oh wow, thank you for showing that wind on, maybe one day I’ll wond into a bobbin as beautifully as you do! You make it look so easy. As your reward for being so giving, I suggest you keep that pretty scarf and enjoy it whilst the weather is cold :o)

  2. What? No kitty cat in the video?
    Wonderful suggestion, tho!
    I finished the lace Celestial for my mother in law’s birthday and am now working on a Cowichan style sweater for my son! So nice not to be doing so much commission knitting this year….it made my “therapy” a job, and that was not therapy!
    Love the detailed beauty of the Aegean!

  3. I *love* seeing the cops you build on your spindles: they’re so neat and, most of all, so gorgeous with the clear color progressions and everything. A true delight for the eyes!

  4. The spinning is just stunning! (And I agree with Josiane – such lovely cops.) The colors in both sets of yarn are wonderful, each in its own way. I’m not sure I’m the best person to ask about plying the second batch; I tend to let my colors do as they will, and wait with bated breath to see how they’ll turn out – whether colors will come together, or match up completely unexpectedly. I bet it’d be beautiful plied by itself or with the gray for a more heathered look. But I do know that I need to see if I can get some of their roving to play with myself!

Comments are closed.