Whitfield Jacket

Who sends a fax with private personal information without double checking to verify it’s going to the correct number? Late this afternoon a fax with someone’s entire 200_ tax returns, schedules and all, came through our machine. There was no accompanying paperwork showing who’d sent it or where it was faxed from. Crazy. Twill be fodder for a fire.

Woo hoo! Ed’s sweater jacket is finished. After binding off the last edges on the 19th it took almost two days for the blocked pieces to dry.  In the meantime I knit two of the front pockets to sew on after seaming the parts, only to have Ed nix the idea. Once dry the neck stitches were picked up, the collar knit then the side and sleeve seams tackled. Surprisingly I actually liked the seaming process. Cold damp weather had settled in for several days so sitting under a very heavy wool sweater jacket was lovely. It’s not the neatest job but with experience I’ll improve.

After completely finishing it I soaked it in warm water, rolled it in a towel and smooshed it hard then spread it out to dry. It might still be wet if Saturday hadn’t turned warm and sunny day. I even tossed it in the dryer for about 10 minutes hoping to encourage the moisture to leave. That was a bit scary and I’m glad I didn’t leave it in for very long. There was room for shrinkage but I didn’t want to felt it.

It’s  big on him but he likes to wear sweatshirts underneath sweaters in the winter and he’d emphasized that he likes lots of room. If I’d paid strict attention to the pattern notes, and had had faith in them I would have continued with the size I’d first started knitting  but moved up one size for fear that it’d be too small.

While I’m happy enough with the buttons, and Ed likes them, I’ll keep a look out for pewter buttons.
Pattern: Knitspot Whitfield Jacket Loved it!
Yarn: Briar Rose Fibers Robusta It’s a bulky, heavy yarn 1 lb = 500 yards! It will keep Ed toasty warm this winter.
Needles: Size 7 & 8 wood circulars made by Ed.

Oregon Flock & Fiber Festival was this past weekend. I look forward to this weekend all year but had to stave off pangs of guilt as Saturday dawned bright and beautiful – the perfect day for catching up with yard work and garden maintenance. Ed declared that they’d be here next week and that I needed to go enjoy spinning. We delivered spindles to a couple of vendors then Ed returned home to work while I played.

Stay tuned! For OFFF happenings.

Ed standing in front of the gravenstein apple tree reminds me of a couple of pictures taken in early August when the Grandkids were here.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

8 thoughts on “Whitfield Jacket”

  1. Ed’s sweater turned out lovely, I agree with Ed the pockets were to much of a good thing, they would have only added bulk to the front and like my husband it isn’t needed for Ed. Looks like it will be warm and he will really enjoy it as the weather gets only colder, thank you for that, can’t wait for the first snowfall. I am a upstate NY girl who never gets her fill of cold and snow even after living in Missouri for almost 20 years with little or no real snow; the first flake still excites me all to pieces. Guess I still have some kid left in me as old as I am.

    Good job Wanda I’m sure Ed is pleased.
    Sally

  2. It’s fun to see a photo of the “man behind the spindles,” and his sweater is very handsome. Love the yarn…. It was wonderful to meet you at OFFF; you and Ed will have a very special place in my heart forever.

  3. The sweater looks wonderful! Great job! And it really is exactly the right color for Ed – you chose well 🙂

  4. Yay! and WoW! Ed’s sweater jacket is gorgeous! and I’m just imagining how warm it must be considering the yarn and needle sizes you used! and yes, the colours are perfect for Ed :^).
    Glad you got to go play ;^) A dear old friend told me ages ago.. he said it was an old Russian saying… “Work is like wolves, it doesn’t go away” meaning yes, the yard work is always there. and it can wait another day or so.
    Look how those two have grown! Gus is such a sturdy little boy and Feathers… ahhh, Feathers! growing up lovely, love the expression on her face, what ever was she concerned with at the time? It sure had her attention :^)

  5. Oh Wanda, that is a beautiful sweater. Ed will be cozy warm this winter. I too like sweaters that are roomy. Our neighbour in B.C. had a Gravenstein apple tree and he let us pick the apples, which we returned to him in the form of pies. We got some of the pies too. A good arrangement for everyone.

Comments are closed.