June Rodeo

One of my good friends, Hope, is a quilter who also likes books and watching the occasional rodeo. Her birthday usually lands close to the weekend of the annual rodeo happening in a town that also has a fabulous quilt store ,with part of it devoted to yarn; several bookstores, used and new – one that not only has all sorts of books but a corner devoted to buttons of all sizes and colors,  the best place to buy buttons in town; an inviting  log-framed coffee shop with a huge fireplace at one end; antique stores and all manners of boutiques, including an alpaca shop . As a shop devoted to all things alpaca managed by a man who’d just set up a four shaft floor loom and once he’d discovered I could weave asked all sorts of questions about tying up and threading. He loved weaving scarves and runners (for sale) on a ridge heddle loom and decided it was time the bigger loom to do bigger, more complex weaving.  The past several years we four friends have scheduled the time away from work and normal responsibilities to stroll the streets, peruse the stores and spend time together in the town of Sisters before attending the rodeo.

Last year we decided that as relaxing as two nights away were, wouldn’t three be better? By late December new 2010 calendars were consulted, scheduling arrangements made and the reservation for lodging secured. As the cold, seemingly endless spring crept into June we started praying for the weather to clear off and the sun to appear for more than a day.  A layer of grey, damp marine air slowlydissapated   each of the friends in turn loaded their gear in the car. By the time the Grace was handing out lunch munchies, as we gained altitude in the mountain pass, the sky had become a brilliant blue.

We’d booked a condo/apartment just a mile from the downtown, a perfect distance for getting great daily exercise as we collectively or alone went back and forth along the road that wound through a quiet residential section. (Sisters has a population of less than 4000 but bulges at the seams with tourists.)

(If I continue in this manner the post will become a book!)

We feasted, lolled in the sun, swam in the outdoor pool and fully enjoyed the respite from the busyness of life.

Sunday afternoon: Rodeo Time

The theme was something like, “Courage to Wear Pink” with buckets passed through the grandstands for Breast cancer research.


This horse had a mind of his own, I’d very much like to ride him.

I’ve never seen so many cowboys wearing pink.

Bring on the Bison! (there’s still a few shaggy patches of what’s commonly known as Buffalo fiber for spinning)

While I like watching an occasional rodeo I much prefer watching someone handling a horse where the two are working together based on a well developed relationship and understanding. This man had such a relationship with his mule – his preferred mount when working with bison. He has only one arm and mainly directed the mule with his feet, seat and voice rather than with reins and bit. I thoroughly enjoyed watching him working with his mule to herd the two bison, who did not want to co-operate.

My Turkish Lark , Chatter, kept wanting to see some of the cowboy action, I think he thought he could spin on horseback quite handily. Maybe someday.

There’s been spinning and knitting and trying my hand with a raw fleece. Lots of fibery stuff to catch up with as well as other happenings in life. I really do need to post more often!

In the meantime: Tomorrow the grandkids are coming for an overnight visit! It will be sooo good to see little Feather and Gus again.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

6 thoughts on “June Rodeo”

  1. Sounds like a fun getaway!
    Thanks for the link to the Larks – not only are they lovely, but going there led me to the link to your video about making a leader. Thank you for doing it and making it available! That’s helpful to me, as your technique seems much less fiddly than what I had come up with. 🙂

  2. Wanda, I just love getting a peak into your and Ed’s lives! I’m so thankful for the things you do and I’m glad that you both got an opportunity to have some fun!

  3. Isn’t it great to just get away from the busy routine once in a while? We all need to do that sometimes! Now you have got me curious, so I have to ask, just what is buffalo fiber like to knit? I’m imagining that its either very soft, like qiviut, or very coarse. Sisters sounds like my kind of town, since I just love browsing in little shops.

Comments are closed.