What’s this bird?

It’s a good thing I was securely sitting down when I saw the date of the last time this blog was updated. Mercy!

I updated Jenkins website today with a new group of Lark spindles and a few kuchulus. I don’t expect them to hang around for long, Ed’s been buying different types of woods and there’s a good variety. We debated even putting them up for sale since getting word last Friday that Woodland Woolworks will be letting us have a table in their booth at Black Sheep Gathering in mid-June. Yeehaw… yikes that’s not much time to build up stock and yet keep customers happy. We’re putting a hold on all wholesale orders until after June.
I’ve been enjoying spinning up some Schoppel Wolle roving my d-i-l gave me for Christmas. I stripped it into three lengths to make a 3-ply yarn possibly for socks for her Christmas gift. One strip done, second one in progress, one to go.

Last week I had an odd deja-vu of last May’s preparations for Aurora’s wedding. The majority of 3 days were spent fixing food, setting and an preparing for an event: a Ladies’ Tea Party Luncheon. The two churches of this community gave a tea party for all the women and girls. We had no clue how many would attend but were compelled to rent the Grange, sent postcard invitations to all the postal customers and offered to host a raffle to help the 8th grade raise funds for their much anticipated field trip.

The 8th grade field trip is a long honored tradition at our local elementary school which averages around 130 students K – 8 grades. Not just the last social fling some of these students will have as a group, the trip concludes with a meal at an upscale restaurant.  After a day on the beach, visiting historical areas and museums the kids change into dress clothes and put on their best manners. Some of these kids have never eaten out other than at a fast food place so it is a valuable learning experience for them to learn how to properly conduct themselves in such a setting. Ed went with Justin and I went with Aurora as chaperones when our two kids were in eighth grade. It’s so worth the money and effort to give these kids these important skills.

Over 60 ladies and girls came to the luncheon! We were ready for them with lots of food, gallons of tea and perhaps best of all – men who did the serving and most of the cleaning up. 🙂 Yes, Ed was up to his elbows in hot dishwater and soap. The men, and two boys, kept the tea pots filled, even going so far as to actually pour the tea for us! We had cucumber sandwiches, peanut butter sandwiches, (all sandwiches sans crusts, the pastor’s 10 year old grgrandaughter was proud to cut all off) dill infused chicken spread mounded on rice crackers, veggie bars (yummy! finely chopped veggies layered on top of cream cheese, a curry chicken salad and tons of homemade cookies. Many of the ladies and girls were decked out with hats, gloves and fine dresses. How I wish I had pictures! (Or Picperfect had been here! She’s the one who insisted we serve cucumber sandwiches – thank Marianne C!) when I dashed home to put a dress on the camera wasn’t in it’s place and there was no time to search. All in all the tea was a smashing success with the ladies asking if we’d make it an annual event! (Few social activities in this village.)

A bird was determined to make a home inside our home. For three days it chirped in the lilac bush trying to figure out how to get in the window. Even when Old Cat sat in the window ledge looking at it s/he still chirped and flitted. I poured through our N American Audubon book trying to find what kind of bird it was but couldn’t find its likeness. Maybe one of you will be able to identify it. Pardon our awful window, it’s a fixed double pane and slowly over the years condensation and mineral deposits have built up between the two panes. It’s on our list of items to be replaced. I hope soon!


I had a hard time getting a picture of his back, he wanted in the window!

The best close-up I could get, I wanted a good peak at his beak. Oh for a clear window!

Any guesses?

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

11 thoughts on “What’s this bird?”

  1. You have a Bullocks Oriole! A western cousin to my Baltimore Oriole!

    They are wonderful weavers, making a beautiful nest! You should offer him some 6-8 inches of light colored threads, he will snatch them up and start building!

    Off to check out your links! I’m sure the new additions are great!

  2. I was going to say some type or oriole too – just because of the yellow – but we have some little yellow finches here that look very similar – their yellow is just more lemony!

  3. I can’t get over how pretty the cops you build on your spindles are! I’ve got to practice some more before I get there… 🙂

    It sounds like that tea party luncheon was a beautiful success! It’s great that the community appreciated it so much, and that it also contributed to the success of the kids’ field trip.

  4. How fitting that the Oriole who is great at weaving nests would attempt to move in with you!

    Lovely service to your community to offer the tea party!

  5. How fun! The only time I ever saw an Oriole in our yard was the year after we bought a house in Texas. I’d moved from Maryland and never seen an Oriole. Sure enough, a Baltimore Oriole moved into the tree in our backyard – in *Texas*!!!!!

  6. Great photography of the bird! Thanks for sharing-I love to bird watch. We saw our first Lazuli Bunting in our backyard the other day, and how I wished that my camera was near!

  7. Oh My! :^) what a wonderful and fun post and yes, the first thing I thought re: the Oriole.. he must have known you’re a weaver also :^) What a beautiful bird!
    The Tea Party, what a lovely event to hold for a fund raiser! A real dress up proper tea :^) and for such a great cause, that field trip will be one they’ll always remember.
    Your spinning is gorgeous as ever and the colours of the spindle with the yarn is quite the visual treat too. :^) xoxox

  8. No guesses on your bird, alas, although he’s lovely. Your tea sounds just wonderful, and you’re right, it’s so important for kids to have a chance to acquire the full range of skills in terms of being able to socialize in all kinds of settings — what a great project!

  9. You have a Northern Oriole. Very similar to the Baltimore Oriole. They make woven nests from string or yarn, even kite string. Enjoy.

  10. Wanda,

    The tea sounds like a lot of fun – I was curious what kind of wood was used in the spindlethat you show with the fist ply of the sock yarn? Also is it a meadowlark or a Turkish Delight?

    Hope you have having good weather.

Comments are closed.