Announcement

Jenkins Woodworking announces the release of the latest in its family of Turkish spindles: the Gorunmez. Invisible to the naked eye, the Gorunmez is suitable for spinning the finest fibers available on the market.

“When Wanda asked me to develop a spindle suitable for spinning the hairs from the downy underbelly of a newborn vicuna, I took up the challenge eagerly,” said Ed Jenkins. “I fired up my nanotechnology lathe and produced the first Gorunmez out of Bolivian Rosewood.”

Unfortunately, that spindle — and the next three dozen — were misplaced. Wanda now uses an electron microscope to assist when buffing and finishing the spindles.

The Gorunmez is available in limited quantities in a range of domestic and exotic hardwoods, none of which can actually be seen. Spindles are delivered mounted on a slide and come with .00005 ounces of baby vicuna hair plucked by moonlight by albino pygmy monkeys. Wanda Jenkins estimates that this should be enough fiber for approximately 4 months’ worth of full-time spinning.

********************************************************************************************
ahem…

The above fable spun by Frith Gowan, aka Sugarspun, while impatiently waiting for Wanda to finish packing orders and clear the deck for the new spindles’ debut.

Used by her permission.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

6 thoughts on “Announcement”

  1. I’m so excited to hear of this new product release. Please find my (miniscule and invisible) payment enclosd here with my order!

  2. I loved the story – I can picture the size of the imaginary spindle – people have a hard time believing that my kuchulu is a working spindle – I think if they say me spinning with this miniscule spindle, I might end up spending some time in a comfy padded room.

Comments are closed.