Tulip Walk

You’d think by now I’d be better at predicting the amount of time it takes to get my work done. While I thought I’d have all the newest kuchulus mailed, pictures of Delights taken and the website updated I only managed to send most of the kuchulus yesterday. Unexpected delays and sidetracks have been the theme of these past two days. I did manage to take pictures of the Delights before the rains moved in late this afternoon, those will be posted to the website tomorrow.

Today was a beautiful day with clear sky and sunshine. At the beginning of the week the plan was to set aside a most of today for visiting a friend, weaving, violin and mowing the yard. Didn’t happened. Perhaps tomorrow I can get in some much needed time away from phone and computer and at least spend some time with the friend. First I will need to weigh and write on the seventeen newest spindles which Ed had brought into the house this evening. The newest spindle design has a name… sadly, the name I wanted is not one Ed likes (says he can’t remember it). He suggested Crow’s Foot. πŸ™‚ At the moment we’ve sort of settled on Nuthatch – one of our favorite birds to frequent our feeder.

Please walk with me through the cold air and breathtaking fields:

When the grandchildren were here we had a family outing to The Wooden Show Tulip Farm. After days of rain (snow in the mountains) the wind was raw but the sun breaking through the clouds.

Gus and Feathers were enchanted.


That is a Hazelnut (aka Filberts) orchard in the background. Fresh snow on the Cascade Mountains to the east.

I hadn’t realized how much I was focused on the fields with the arrays of colored tulips rather than the broad swaths of single colored bulbs of which there were many.


So Long!

And now, a glimpse of a Nuthatch!

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

14 thoughts on “Tulip Walk”

  1. very interesting they seem to be a little larger than a Turkish Delight – am I right?

    When are you posting them?

  2. Hi Wanda,

    Your grandchildren are adorable. You and Mr. Jenkins are so blessed to have them. The Tulip field is magnificent, it reminds me of the Elizabethan Gardens in North Carolina.

    The new spindle creation is great. The cross arms look like they are placed higher on the shaft. I want one. Warm Regards.
    Hope

  3. I also want one as well – can hardly wait it even lloks more like a sculpture than your others – this is addictive. Let me guess the ones that you pictured are rosewood and lilac.

  4. What lovely pictures of the tulip fields! A feast for the eyes!

    I really like Ed’s new creation too. Nuthatch is as pretty as its siblings, and I love that its arms are higher on the shaft: more space for twirling even when it’s almost full! πŸ™‚

  5. I agree with Willow. How happy!
    From the very first photo to the very last ;>)

    Nuthatch is nice – I don’t know if it is particularly easier than _ _ _ _ _ _ _ (fill in the blanks) to remember
    but flight is the key concept.
    Look forward to seeing more.

  6. the tulips are beautiful the colors are amazing and both of the grandchildren are growling like the flowers they’re walking around. Wesley is not longer a baby you can see how he is turning in to a little boy – bib sister is making sure he just looks at the flowers – I imagine that you had a good time when they were around.

    Last week we hit 90 we have rain again over the weekend and we may end up with a little snow – this is getting to me.

    The new spindles are beautiful – I really like the lines in these – I want one – but then I have a hard time resisting anything that Ed makes. . .

  7. All of the photos, such a Treat! the grin on Gus :^) and getting to see him and Feathers absolutely tickle me. The tulips are amazing.
    Little Nuthatch is quite the Beauty (as always)
    I’ve been somewhat overwhelmed with yardwork (trying to get things cleaned up before our heat sets in) but will get an email to you within the week. XOXOX

    1. Dear Sunshine, Please don’t fret about finding time to send an email! I know you will in good time.

      Yardwork – shudder. We’d been doing pretty good at staying on top of the mowing this spring until the last two weeks. The grass is sprouting up rapidly. I haven’t even touched the one flower bed in front, and blackberries will soon be over our bedroom. You’re probably having to run to get ahead of the growth there after so much snow and rain this past winter.

      Nuthatch – I’ve misgivings about that name. How many people know what one is? Would more people know what a kestrel is? Or maybe swallow, except for the double meaning. Names!

      I was struck by how photogenic Wes was this time around, but then Feathers was not feeling good. Sweet kiddos.

      Have a blessed Sunday! Wanda

  8. Gorgeous tulips! Ours are just starting to open. And your grandchildren, my goodness they are growing up! I have never seen a hazelnut orchard.

Comments are closed.