Accomplishments

It feels as though a heavy weight was removed from my shoulders today. Tax bookwork was finally finished and the numerous forms filled and printed. The checks will be written and mailed with the forms tomorrow. I wanted to do a happy dance when the last form was printed this morning but there was a long list of orders waiting to be mailed. Made it through less than half the orders before it was time to dash over to the PO before the window closed. Tomorrow I’ll get the rest packed and perhaps the next group of Delights photographed and on the website. Then it’s on to introducing Ed’s newest creation. 🙂

The 800 yard Race is finished. The last gram of Love For Sale Limegreenjelly roving was spun on Sunday the 28th, immediately set forth rolling two singles together onto one tp roll to expedite the plying process.

Monday afternoon our son JJ and his family arrived from Idaho. It was wonderful to see them and the grandkids again! Our daughter Aurora and her family joined us for dinner that evening. It wasn’t long after dinner before they all headed out the door, the Idaho family going to stay with Mandy’s mom for the week.

Winding the first few yards of plyed yarn onto the Turkish spindle I knew there was just no way I could finish plying it all by April 1st so I set up the wheel and stepped on the treadles.

Homemade chicken soup and a heart bread were made on Wednesday before settling down that evening and plying until the last bit was finished. Oh it felt great to accomplish the goal before the deadline! It took a long time to wind it all off onto the niddy noddy counting and tying every 50 groups. Any guesses?

513 wraps on my 76″ circumference niddy-noddy = 1083 yards of 2ply yarn from 98 grams of fiber! It’s soft and squishy. I have no clue what to make with it.

Tuesday the 30th we met JJ, Mandy and all her family at the bowling alley to celebrate her brother’s 25 birthday. It’d been 8 – 10 years since I’d bowled. The grandkids even got in on some of the action.

Was that a strike?

Do you see that yellow ball? Good job Wesley!  (With help from momma)

Much to my astonishment I scored my personal best, 146 points. Must have been all the spindling action over the past couple months made my arms strong. 😉

What else did we do with the grandkids? You’ll have to check out Walk With Me Wednesday, coming up this week. Until then, here’s a sneak preview.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

15 thoughts on “Accomplishments”

  1. The yarn is beautiful – but I have been in suspense ever since you started to hint about a new spindle – the suspense is getting to me – am glad that you got your taxes finished – but I can hardly wait to see the new spindle.

    I went to a Gallery in Lowell where they have a display of Kimonos and other forms of Japanese handwork on Saturday and I had my pink ivory huchulu in my pocketbook. They were very impressed with its size and how beautiful it is. I can hardly wait to see the new spindle . . ..

  2. Keeping us in suspense?

    Amazing job on the yarn! It’s beautiful!

    Isnt’ it wonderful to have the ‘kids’ home for a bit?

  3. The yarn is fabulous, and how nice you got to spend such a happy time with those babes! I just finished our personal taxes yesterday, so I can imagine how relieved you must feel! 🙂

  4. Ah! NOW I know what you’ve been up to! Congratulations on getting through all of those deadlines. And the results are to die for! That yarn is absolutely gorgeous — I can’t wait to see what you end up knitting with it, the results are bound to be amazing. 🙂

  5. Good for you on all fronts…
    we still have a day to go on the forms – it is a tradition.

    the yarn is gorgeous.
    …and like everyone, I wait to see what’s new.

    but, being with your family aces the rest!

  6. I am SO very glad for you getting all the tax work finished up!!!
    and even happier to see Faith and Wesley on the scene :^) ahh. happy times!
    Your yarn is stunningly beautiful! Talk about some fabulous colours!!
    Oh goodie! a walk with me Wednesday!
    xox

  7. Woo hoo! Great skein!
    I am planning on updating my photos
    on the onward, forward and forever handspun Shetland shawl, I will send them to you. A lot of work, but very enjoyable.
    Cute, Cute, Cute grandkids and wonderful flowered photo op! Thanks!

  8. Wanda,
    It was so good to catch up with you yesterday.
    That yarn is beautiful. I am so impressed and inspired to learn to spin. Hope to see you at The Purl soon.

Comments are closed.