Spinning as fast as I can

March 11th will be my fourth blogiversary which started life as a blogspo, moved to wordpress 16 months later. Strange,  it feels as though it’s been much longer than four years. I should do something to celebrate but right now my plate is so full that I dare not add even a simple contest to it for fear of dropping it all. Splat, mental meltdown.

I’ve backed off from Ravelry except to keep my eye on a couple of forums and weigh in periodically at  Limegreenjelly and the 800 Yard Race (I call it a Challenge, with a spindle I’m not racing!). That is most spare-time consuming. I’m slowly but surely spinning away the 98g with the goal of  2-ply 800 yards. Averaging about 60wpi on spindles is slow going, for me. Some point  in the early days I timed the length of time for me to spin a full gram. It took an hour! I almost gave up.

Do you know how much fiber there is in a gram? A gram is 1/28 of an ounce. It takes 3 grams to make 0.1 ounce. 98 grams is 6 grams shy of 4 ounces. Doesn’t look like much in a neat coiled braid. In my predictably rash way of underestimating how long stuff takes me, I thought it’d take just a couple weeks to spin those 4 ounces.  Why do I forget that life gets in the way? That I’m a methodically slow worker, bordering on obsessive compulsive.  Take winding on: I love watching the yarn neatly lining up in a  way that shows off the colors of the yarn. 

Twice the kuchulu has born its weight in singles. The first one I wound off onto the niddy-noddy to be certain I was on target to spinning 1600 yards. 12 grams totalled 266 yards of singles. Ed willingly consented to holding the niddy-noddy as I wound off the singles onto an empty tissue paper roll. Little did he know how long that would take!  The second full kuchulu was joined to the fluffed end hanging from the tp roll and spun to make a good join. Taking the shaft out of the spindle but leaving the singles on the crossbars made winding the tp roll relatively quick work while watching a movie last night.

Moving slowly but surely along there are over 65 grams spun. From an hour per gram it’s now taking about half that time,  decent headway in my lace-weight spinning ability. I’m not sure I’ll make the April first deadline, really, it’s looking doubtful especially since the Mandolin Magazine proofs will be delivered tomorrow and Crooked Finger will be playing at a St Patrick’s gig in Milwaukee (Ore.) this Saturday.

Last Saturday was so warm and the ground perfect, a neighbor friend came over with his small tractor and tilled up the garden plot. We’ve bought seed potatoes, peas, carrot, spinach and beet seeds. By the time I’d gotten the yard mowed and Ed cut up the holly tree he’d cut down the day before it was too late to plant. Probably a good thing since today has been mostly sun with clouds and snow! From 65 on Saturday down to freezing today.

The neighbors asked Ed if he’d like to finish cutting down their holly tree which they’d previously had pruned way back to the trunk. This holly is going to make some stunning spindles once it’s dried and cured.See that mark in the center of the facing chunk?

Isn’t that a beautiful surprise.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

10 thoughts on “Spinning as fast as I can”

  1. You are making fabulous headway now, and the spindles look beautiful. I was eyeing some merino/tencel in the shop and thinking of grabbing it for my final attempt at 800 yards….somebody bought it yesterday!
    I love the mark in the holly tree, simply beautiful!

  2. Happy Blogiversary Wanda! Always good to see you posting 😉

    Your spinnning and winding look beautiful in that photograph!

    And it looks like the holly captured a butterfly!

    Thanks for 4 years! Keep those posts coming!

  3. Happy Blogiversary! You sound, as alwasy, busy but so productive! 🙂

    The holly wood is fabulous, and I’m a little envious of you tilling up your garden – we’re still fairly frozen here. I’m longing to sink my hands into the earth again!

    I really love your friendship yarn from the last post – lovely.

  4. Happy blogiversary, Wanda!
    You’re winding the singles so neatly on your spindles, it makes for the loveliest cops I have ever seen! The finished yarn will be gorgeous.

  5. Happy Blogiversary! Your singles are so even and fine! The finished yarn is going to be gorgeous.

  6. Oh, that truly is beautiful! And happy blogiversary, which is also beautiful 🙂 Your singles are absolutely stunning, and I can’t believe how beautifully you wrap it; I can see how much pleasure you must take in admiring all of those beautiful (there’s that word again!) colors lining up.

  7. Four years?!? Wow. Time flies…. I hope you enjoy your time with your spindle *and* your time outdoors – for as long as it lasts! So many new and familiar surprises in spring. SO many reminders that life follows death – not the other way around!

  8. Oh Good Golly! your singles! What an absolute treat for the eyes! So beautifully spun and wound, WoW!!
    I’m also intrigued with the artwork behind the spindles… hmmm?
    Oh my, the holly wood, beautiful surprise indeed. Any way you could talk Ed into cutting a slice to preserve that jewel?
    Your yard work has certainly commenced, mine is coming up rapidly and will probably be out there next week. xoxoxox

  9. Guess Ed will have to name those spindles “butterflies”..fun.
    The photo of your filled spindles is absolutely awesome!!!
    I plied my fourth skein of lace weight hand spindle spun yarn over the weekend. No idea how many yards…I hate to count…but it is a four ounce skein, took a month to spin the 2 – 2ounce balls of singles to make it, and it took four hours of very fast peddaling to get it plied on my wheel, and then half an hour of winding to get the skein on the niddy! Whew….can’t wait to get that shawl done!
    Happy Spring!

Comments are closed.