Weaving and Spinning

My article on Beads in Cloth was published in Weavezine on Friday. 🙂 Syne Mitchell is a terrific editor/publisher to work with, if any of you have weaving ideas that you’d love to publish, don’t hesitate to contact Syne.

I saw a very unusual piece of weaving the other day at my monthly spinning group. Barbara, an artist to the very marrow of her soul devised this clever weaving.

Woven seed basketSee the grass seeds at the top? Barbara wove  this with her handspun yarns using grass stems as warp, with the actual grass seeds still attached.Woven grass basket(Sorry about the blurry pictures. Barbara wasn’t keen on having  her picture taken and hardly stood still.)

Grace wore the shirt I wove for her. She completed her second ball of spindle spun yarn that day.

On January 1st I embarked on a spinning challenge: spin 800 yards, 2-ply, from 100 grams. Using a 46gram (just under 1.7oz) spindle all my free time seems to be consumed with spinning the fine yarn. Three days in to the challenge I took weight and found to my great dismay the grams were spinning out in an agonizingly slow fashion.  If one spindle is going slow then two spindles is better, right? To shake it up a bit I grabbed the fine Kuchulu, DK (Deer Kuchulu), that Ed gave me for Christmas,  took off the red yarn and  enslaved engaged its help in the 800yd challenge. Working with two very different spindles has been a fun challenge in itself. DK weighs 13 grams and spins like a turbo. Spinning fine yarn on it is easy peasy, spinning fine yarn on Yewi takes more attention.

The other day I weighed out a gram of the 80 merino/20 tencel  and counted how many bouts it took, with Yewi, to spin the gram. Averaging 40″ per bout it took 22 bouts to spin the gram. With that encouraging number I figure I should be spinning fine enough to get 1600 yards from the 98 grams of fiber.  I’ll test the WPI later today.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

11 thoughts on “Weaving and Spinning”

  1. What a great posting, Wanda!
    The weaving is beautiful both the shirt and the basket weaving.
    And your spinning – that Kuchulu really packs the yarn on and looks neat.
    Do you wind it on over 2 under 1 , Shifting over to a new set of arms now and then or reverse to over 1 under 2? The wrap has me intrigued.

    Janet

  2. I really liked your article on weaving with beads – it was very inspiring! I really need to learn how to warp my loom so that I can start playing with it; seeing it all neglected makes me sad, but there’s the good old “so much to do, so little time” getting in the way…

    The yarn you’re spinning for your challenge is gorgeous! So pretty! I think you’ve added yet another dimension to that challenge by using two spindles that are so very different, but this too is inspiring, opening up possibilities I would not have considered exploring. Thank you!

  3. I have that used loom that I’ve never used– I too should learn to warp it! It looks so inviting, asking me to set it up, but where will I put it and what could I weave?? Too many questions until the summer! Maybe then…

    Thanks for your comments on the fruit from the farmers market. It amazes me every week to see the fresh fruits and veggies.

  4. WoW! Barbara’s woven sculpture is aMAzing! and the woven shirt is beautiful! and your spinning? so Fine! and those colours are gorgeous. You tickle me so, creating more challenges within a challenge :^)

  5. Wanda that shirt is so cute! I got my Delight this morning but had to leave for work but I did that a look and it is so sweet! Now I just hope that I will be able to spin on it!! Your just amazing!!!!

  6. So pleased Love For Sale ended up with you, it had been in the shop then made it into my stash and then back into the shop. It looks so pretty and fine too. I found a merino/tencel yesterday that may assist me in another attempt at 800yds!

  7. Congratulations on having your article published – how exciting! The weaving with the grass is really amazing – what a creative idea. I love it!

  8. Congratulations on the article! That’s wonderful 🙂 And I love seeing the fine spinning — it’s absolutely gorgeous. I can see how it would be much easier to spin something that fine on the Kuchulu than on the bigger spindle. I can’t wait to see the finished yarn.

  9. Yeowza! That fine yarn is indeed fine!
    A nice lace shawl? I have been spinning lace yarn on a support spindle over the past year for a shawl that is in progress.
    It is not insane thin, though….I don’t want the shawl to be one moth bite away from disaster, but it is definitely coming out fine. I wonder, sometimes, if it is worth all the time invested, but I am loving every minute of it!
    Keep up the good work!

  10. Hi Wanda, Your friends woven sculpture is beautiful and so is the
    beaded blouse you created . WOW ! You are absolutely right about the Kuchulu’s capacity to spin a fine yarn! I have spun many yards of Cotton on my Dear Kuchulu.4 oz. It spins the cotton faster and as well as the .8 0z. Spalted Tamirind Delight. The new Kuchulus
    are beautiful, especially the B&W Ebony, would like to adopt more of them. Must Not Be Greedy! Is Deer Kuchulu made of Deer Antler? ( It’s O K, I’m from Pennsylvania.) Has there been any progress on Ladakhi? Hope

Comments are closed.