Good times

Earlier today I stumbled across an article on the theory of the flexibility of time; time is not rigid and constant as seconds ticking round a clock but can be expanded. Benjamin Franklin was cited as a person who well understood how to “expand” time in his pursuit to achieve much in his lifetime. Being the ordinary person who’s constantly tripped up by sweeping minutes, I desperately wished that I had the time to fully read and dig further into the concept.

I’ve wondered often how it is that the older we grow the faster time seems to move , except for those agonizing times when time stands still. And lately it seems that even children have been caught up in the rush of time compared to what I remember of long days with plenty of time to explore, read, craft, daydream, do schoolwork, feed the animals and attend to home chores. And still be in bed by 8 or 9, depending on age. (My parents believed in a full night’s rest. Ed does too.) For a long time I entertained the notion that time seeps slowly for children because of their anticipation of what’s ahead, and zest for time to hurry. “I’m almost five… when I’m 16… I can’t wait to be 21…”Β  then we’re twenty-five and we realize how carefree and pleasant childhood really was.

I don’t get too excited about the changing of the year on a calendar. Deep down I believe the new year begins on my birthday. And yes, I like celebrating my birthday. πŸ™‚

Christmas and my birthday falling on the weekend was nice, we were able to kick back and really relax. We had such a lovely, quiet Christmas with Aurora and Troy over for mid-morning present opening and feasting on hot cinnamon rolls and coffee. They headed to Troy’s parents by early afternoon leaving Ed and I to our succulent lamb dinner.

Saturday morning moisture sparkling in the frozen air with the dawning sun lured me outside for a walk. It was the perfect morning to borrow a neighbor’s dog as a companion. If it were possible I’d bring Jasmine home to live with us. She’s mild-mannered, good-natured Rotweiller, and we seem to connect at a deep level.

Aurora and Troy invited us over for a birthday lunch. It was fun hanging out with them at their new place, a charming older farm house just down the road from his parents. They’d love to eventually buy the place someday. It sits on a country corner with a church kiddy-korner, another farm house right across the road then just up the road a bit an old grain elevator still in operation,Β  a few houses scattered near a small school with about 70 kids attending.

The surprise in store at their house was something Ed dreamed up in October. To my utter astonishment and delight he’d bought me a mountain dulcimer. I’ve been enjoying learning how to tune and play it. Cousin Faith? Can you come play with me? πŸ™‚ She let me play her dulcimer when we visited her on our way back from Idaho, which is where Ed got the notion that I needed one.Mountain DulcimerInstead of meeting at a coffee shop for a birthday get-together, Hope hosted a birthday dinner of Indonesian food mid-week for my four friends at her house. (They had lived in Indonesia for over 20 years) She hand embroired the beautiful table cloth which set off the gado-gado very nicely.Β  Hope also made peanut sauce (to go over the gado-gado) and chicken curry which was served with rice. Delicious!

It was wonderful to celebrate and enjoy being with these dear friends. Constance and Grace played duets while I tried to strum along on the dulcimer, then we played BananaGrams (sort of like Scrabble), and charades. It’d been ages since I’d played charades, yowzsers, I’m bad at guessing!

The weekend before Christmas we visited Ed’s dad and Linda. While there we both became enamered with a new little dog that came to them happenstance. Linda already had a poodle that she adores but she couldn’t resist when someone desparately asked her to give Millie a home. Before we left she casually asked if we wanted her. Knowing Ed’s not keen on dogs I waited for him to answer but he didn’t say a word. Later that day he mentioned that Millie would be a nice dog to have.

On January first we drove 80 miles to meet Linda half-way to bring Millie home. She’s 8 years old, well trained and a very agreeable little doggy. She’s fitting right in and has made herself quickly at home claiming the couch as her hangout.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

11 thoughts on “Good times”

  1. :^) sounds like some truly wonderful times you’ve been having! Your dulcimer is beautiful, hee, that Ed, he’s quite the sneaky delight. Welcome Miss Millie! and I’m hoping to hear that she and Beautiful Jasmine will be good friends. Thank you for that photo of Jasmine btw..(you could take more, wouldn’t hurt my feelings at all :^) I happen to have the softest spot in my heart for a good rottie, once you fall in love with that face.. sigh. in fact, she reminds me so much of Blue that I’m near to tears.
    xox

  2. Sounds like a cozy holiday. I share your perceptions/reflections on time. A mountain dulcimer and Millie…what wonderful additions to your lives!

    Happy Birthday, belatedly.

  3. Happy Birthday! I’m glad you had a nice holiday, and such a great birthday! Millie looks like a great addition to your family – so sweet. πŸ™‚

  4. I’m sure Millie and Ed will be fast friends in no time. My father has been surprised by the addition of two dogs to his life in recent years – and we’ve all been more surprised by his attachment to them!
    Bananagrams is a game I discovered while in Malawi this summer – our team played quite often during our “down” times. I gifted a number of friends with it this Christmas – we love it!
    Happy (belated) Birthday – it sounds like you’ve had a lovely time!

  5. Happy birthday! And congratulations on the new addition; she looks like she’s fitting right in. I have to say that having a dog makes my walks that much nicer — dogs always seem to really live in the moment, and it’s a good reminder to me. Your new dulcimer is absolutely beautiful, what a wonderful gift! πŸ™‚

  6. Happy belated birthday! I agree, when our birthday is just a few days before New Year’s Day, it’s easy to feel that our new year really begins at that moment.
    I’m really happy to read you had a wonderful holiday, and such delightful surprises!

  7. Happy Birthday! And what a cute little dog. She will steal her way into your hearts in no time, if she hasn’t already. Our Labrador Retriever was nine when we got him, and in desperate need of a home. We are so glad we adopted him. He’s a great buddy and walking companion. What a beautiful tablecloth. I had to enlarge the picture to get a better look at the details! Now I’m going to go find out what gado-gado is!

  8. Happy Birthday to you! Did you know that I lived for many years in Indonesia?? We cook Indonesian food out our house too– gado gado, rendang, nasi kuning!

  9. Happy Birthday!

    Happy New Year!

    And happy times with your new toy πŸ˜‰
    I’m sure you will make beautiful music together!

  10. What a wonderful gift, Ed did a great job! And it sounds like your daughter has a great place to live, I would love to see pictures.

    I’m so happy for Millie she has found a good home!

  11. Oh Wanda, I turn my back for five minutes and you’ve got a new fur person in your life! She is so like Sophy Wackles I had to laugh and cry at the same time – clearly the Powers thought we needed identical twin fur familiars!

    These things don’t happen by accident. And I’m so happy she’s found home, warmth and safety. She couldn’t have found a better place, that’s for sure. And shall we take a small side bet that soon you’ll find her in Ed’s workshop, her head resting on his foot while he works?

Comments are closed.