A Packed Kuchulu, and a Lovely Surprise

I’ve been on a mission: how much weight, how many yards can be possibly spun on my Kuchulu.

I’m nearing the final yards and must stop soon else the little legs will disappear. Yesterday Kuchulu 1 (I don’t normally name my spindles but this one seems to want its on identity) and I  headed for the weekly spinning group at my LYS. It’d been a long time since I’d gone to one but when the store owner told me that a number of women are coming regularly on Wednesday afternoons it seemed time to check it out.  Arriving late there were only three women left sitting at their wheels. A woman I didn’t know asked if I wanted to learn to spin. I grinned and dug into my purse.  It was good to sit and listen to their chatter while adding a couple more grams to the spindle. It’s now weighing 19 grams. Subtracting 8 grams of the Kuchulu weight gives me 11 grams, I had hoped to get 14grams =1/2 an ounce  on this spindle. I’m getting excited about winding this onto a niddynoddy and finding out how many yards there are.  I recently joined a 800 yard challenge at the Limegreenjelly Forum on Ravelry, this just might be the start of it.

Often it seems that a friendship comes about with various customers. I wish I had the time, energy, brain for remembering to foster these fun and often fascinating encounters with people around the world. Often I read emails or talk on the phone with someone and wish I could travel the world meeting all these dear people. One such person teaches in Qatar. She’s called on the phone a couple of times and we had the best chats! Last summer she came back to visit her mother in Canada. While home she sent us a package that left me speechless.

Hand Embroidered These two throw pillow cases are covered with hand embroidery!  My hands stroke across the intricate detailed beauty of these pieces and I’m amazed at the skill and hours they must have taken. Berta has traveled extensively in her life and she recently visited a friend in India where she got these. Also in the box was tea.India TeaReal Indian tea with Cardamon. Would you like to share a pot with me? Tasty!

 

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

12 thoughts on “A Packed Kuchulu, and a Lovely Surprise”

  1. Wow that is alot of yarn on the little spindle. Its just so cute!!!!

    I think that is one of my most favorite things about blogging is getting to know other people and forming such good friendships. Those are the most beautiful pillows!

    Happy Halloween!

  2. Yes, Little Kuchulu looks to have quite the full tummy :^)
    Those are such beautiful pillows! the colours so rich and the designs are gorgeous.
    I’d share a pot of tea with you anytime :^)
    Did the email issues clear up? I sent you email…. Wednesday? yes. sigh. ;^)

  3. The little baby hat in the background of the picture is adorable! And so is your packed Kuchulu 1… adorable *and* impressive!
    Those pillow covers are stunning. All the work that went into them… once again, impressive! As for the tea, I couldn’t resist practicing my reading (even though it’s not Persian, I can usually decipher a word here and there), and I realised that the brand name was Scheherazade – so the woman depicted on the box is the famous storyteller of the 1001 Nights. I’d be happy to share a cup of tea with you, but you’d have to be prepared to hear stories about Iran: tea perfumed with cardamom brings me back there instantly!

  4. Oooo! Scheherazade! Does that mean that there will be some Rimsky-Korsakov in the background?? I’ll be right over!
    At first I thought you spun that entire spool on your Kuchulu! Wow! A goal to shoot for! Thanks for sharing and thanks for the tea party offer!

  5. Oh my gosh! That (over?)stuffed Kuchulu is hilarious! It’s like that kid in the Christmas Story – all bundled up for going outside but he can’t put his arms down…

    Gorgeous pillows, and mmmmmm tea!

  6. Little Kuchulu is about as full as he /she can be. That is a very pretty blue. I have had a chance to try a drop spindle, and my singles came out thicker, then thinner, then the thread broke, and the spindle dropped on the floor! I had to be shown how to twist the ends together and keep going. I guess it takes a lot of practise to spin evenly, yours looks very even. Those pillows are really beautiful.

Comments are closed.