Name the New Creation Contest

Yesterday afternoon Crooked Finger Band had a small gig for a small office party at the director’s home. We were scheduled to play on the patio but just as we were setting up rain smattered causing us to scurry all our gear under the cover of the small porch. After the third time we were moved into the house which was a fabulous acoustic setting with wooden floors and a vaulted ceiling. In the smaller space we didn’t need the sound system and were soon making music.Ā  It’s funny how much a setting can affect a band. No longer did we feel like we were performing, instead we were totally relaxed having fun singing and playing to the gathering who clapped and cheered with gusto.

Arriving home Ed said, “you should see what’s in the office.” At first glance I saw nothing new so decided to check emails, and then I saw it. A new spindle creation!Jenkins newest Spindle creation

Irresistable! I snatched it up and soon was spinning away with this little guy.

Not even a Handful

Isn’t it adorable? Initially I was calling it a Turkish Gem, but its slight weight of 9 grams!Ā  and watching the arms blur in a whirl of motion reminded me of the two hummingbirds that Ed and I had the immense priviledge of holding. We like Hummingbird but that seems too long for such a small guy. (Twice a hummingbird had gotten behind the glass window on our back porch and couldn’t figure out how to get back out. The one Ed caught had a a bit more scarlet on his throat than the one I caught a couple weeks later. (Ed’s thumbnail gets a regular sanding.)

Hummingbird

Playing with the spindle again today words flit through my head such as Turkish Turbo, Enchanted…

We’ve been tossing different monikers around and like several. Ed had the idea that we should have a Name the New Spindle Contest. So here it is!

Write the name you think it should go public under in the comment section. (If done anonymously than the name will be omitted)
Names will go into a hat to be drawn by a neighbor or some random person.
If the name drawn was submitted by more than one person, every person who suggested that particular name will have their name put into the hat. The person’s name drawn will be the winner of Ed’s next mighty little spindle.

(ETA: We reserve the right to toss out names that we don’t feel are appropriate or can’t stand. As a Jenkins Woodworking product it needs to be something we will be proud to write and say. We need to steer clear of names already used by other established spindle makers such as Hummingbird which has been pointed out to me is already in use.)

Contest will be open until 6pm PDT Wednesday, Oct 14.
Bitty Turkish Spindle

In other news: I made a video showing how I wind on to a Turkish Spindle. Frequently I’m asked how to wind onto the Turkish spindle and so decided it was time for a quick example.

There’s still much I planned to post such as the Oregon Flock and Fiber Festival that Grace and I went to last weekend. Until next time!

Please leave your name suggestions in the comments! Thanks!

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

36 thoughts on “Name the New Creation Contest”

  1. I have several so…

    Colibri is french for hummingbird

    and I think my favorite is…

    alev which is TURKISH for flame. I picked flame to translate b/c according to Wiki scarlet is the true color of a flame. Scarlet from your little birds neck. although I truly have no cue how to pronounce it.

  2. Awww – it’s so adorable. I think it should be called Little Hummer.
    And I am so sorry that I didn’t come across you at OFFF – I was there with friends, just for the day on saturday… still showing off your wonderful wares to my friends. Ed makes the best turkish drop spindles EVER!

  3. Hey she is thinking like me, my first thought was “Hummer”. We also just love Hummingbirds and we have a ton of them that come to our feeder each day. Well I guess where its a drawing I can say “Hummer” also right!

    I’m so asking for a spindle for Christmas, maybe two!!!

  4. So funny, my first thought was Hummer, too! Although I also like Tiny Turk (I’m no help). Or what about Ruby? She kind of looks like a Ruby (and it reminds me of ruby-throated hummingbirds). Or how about Flit?

    I’d better stop now. All I know is that I want one. When are they going public again? šŸ˜‰

  5. I had a few thoughts flying through my head as I read your post. Then it hit as I read the last line. Such a tiny, graceful spindle … GRACE or even Gracie.

    And I’d advise against “Hummingbird” … Tracey Echeime (sp?) has/had a spindle by that name and Grafton Fibers has a crochet hook w/ that name as well.

  6. I must to admit, I like to keep things simple and clear…. Turkish, Turkish Delight, Mini Delight……

  7. I have another… I had a dream last night that you named it Lullaby.

    So my third suggestion is Lullaby.

  8. WoW! What a beautiful wee spindle! and I’m loving all the names suggested… of course the Ruby, and Grace or Gracie, which then had me thinking ‘Feather’, ‘Turkish Feather’.
    Otherwise I’m feeling a bit like a deer caught in headlights :^)
    Loving the photo of Ed holding the hummingbird! xox

  9. Umm, Whirling Dervish? My brain is not feeling very creative these days! I have never held a hummingbird, but I think that would be an awesome experience. They are so tiny, yet so full of amazing energy. And thank you for the video!

  10. I find myself spinning and thinking of names…
    Wisp, whisper, treat, treasure…
    But, I also keep thinking it should be musical –
    Melody – or Dancer – or something light and airy… twirling and joyful

  11. The first thing that came to my mind as I was reading your post and looking at that cutie of a spindle was “Tiny Turk”. When you used the word “flit”, it also felt right; I realised a moment later that I may have had that feeling because Flit was the name of the hummingbird in the Disney movie Pocahontas.

    Seeing that both of these have been suggested already, here’s another idea: “kuchulu”. It’s a Persian word (it may be in use in Turkish too, though I can’t say for sure), and it seems really appropriate here, as it is used to describe something that’s tiny and cute; it’s also a term of endearment. For example, babies are often called kuchulu, or said to be kuchulu. (Here’s a pretty good definition: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=kuchulu)
    It’s one of my favorite words in Persian, and I think it would be perfect for this cute and tiny spindle!

  12. Oh my! Such great suggestions! I had thought
    of Peewee, but when I saw the suggestions like “Feather”! how ideal!
    People are so clever!
    Can’t wait to hear about OFFFFFFFFFF!!!
    Thanks for the preview, and the video
    is WONDERFUL!!! THANK YOU!!!

  13. Oh my….I love it! and so soon after my Turkish Delight arrived.

    I would name the new creation the Turkish Dervish…..because I’m sure it spins like a dervish.

    I’m so enjoying my new spindle and other gifts in the spare moments I’ve been able to snatch these past few days. Will write a blog post soon!

  14. The name that pops into my head is “Jenkins Joy” since it looks like it would be such a joy to spin with this wee spindle.

  15. I have to say, my grandma’s maiden name was Delite Hummer so I’m finding this conversation very funny. Her 90th birthday is this weekend.

    But since Hummer has already been suggested, how about the “Turkish Teensy”

  16. How about, “Ed’s Turkish Pride” and I also like “Ruby” after the ruby throat hummer.
    Thank you for the informative video.
    Now I’ll sign off with my fingers crossed.

  17. Ed does such fabulous work!
    The new creation is sure to be a good seller šŸ˜‰

    I just love the size…good for slipping into a pocket…a “Pocket Turkish”…or the “Pocket T” !

    Whatever name you go with, I’m sure the spindle will sell itself since it is made by Ed Jenkins…

    ps..wish I could have heard the Band! Sounds like fun ~

  18. So many good entrys already but here

    goes : Pixie

    Djinn

    Imp

    Little Scarlet

    Little Scarlet is a British strawberry preserve made since 1885 from tiny intensely flavored berries. It just jumped into my head when I first saw this beautiful spindle.

  19. I like the name Dart as it a sleek, fast moving, sharp looking little spindle. It’s a real beauty that I’d love to have.

  20. I think I erased my own comment somehow.Apologies if this is a repeat.
    So many good suggestions already but here goes…
    Pixie

    Djinn

    Imp

    Little Scarlet
    This one just jumped in my head when I saw this beautiful spindle.Maybe because Little Scarlet is made from the tiniest most intense berries.

  21. tiny turkish delight chocolate and red of the turkish delight and it would be a delight to spin on. what ever it is lovely and should be such a big seller good on you and one day I will be able to order from you

  22. I thought of another twinkle as in twinkle twinkle little star a
    “turkish twinkle”
    a little bit of tounge twister for a little yarn twister.

  23. The new creation spindle is adorable, portable and, I’m sure very
    functional. I’d love to have one !

    My Name suggestion for this lovely spindle is Demi-Delight.

Comments are closed.