09.09.09

Supper dishes were washed, the floor swept, and a few spindles were weighed and written on to get a head start on a busy day tomorrow. The chair with knitting projects to one side and laptop on the other beckoned as the perfect place to spend a quiet evening. There was one must-write email to discharge and then! the luxury of finally slipping into blog posting mode.

Of course the phone rang. It had to do with the pending email. Plans went into a tailspin and right out the window as much of the evening was chewed away by working out elusive details until the point was reached where I can do no more until I hear back from a key person. And now here it is, past my bedtime.

It’s been one of those days from the very beginning.
a cluster headache lurked,
a long list of must-dos, but a body/mind out of sync
a message that didn’t set right and I don’t know how to respond.
Or even if I should.

It’s good to sit here sipping tea, looking through pictures to post since I’m too lazy/tired to upload the more recent ones.

Two projects are on the needles these days. One should have been finished by the 4th, mornings and evenings have been rather consumed in the making of them. I’m well down the foot now but with #1 / 2.25 mm needles it’s slow going.  This picture was taken the end of August. DSCN0459

The other is a sweater for Ed, started just before his birthday. I can hardly wait until it’s done, it’ll be so cozy for him to wear in the house.  It too is a bit further along than in the picture. Knitting with #8/5 mm is a good change of pace for my hands.DSCN0462

We had a wonderful time watching the grandkids a few days while our son and wife moved their household to start his new job in Idaho. Such a precious time knowing they’d be moving too far away to watch them growing as we have for these first year(s) of their lives.

Here’s a few pictures from one day’s excursion to the creek.

DSCN0441

DSCN0444
DSCN0449

The days are full of filling orders; finishing, writing on and packing all the individual items that Ed is continually turning out one at a time. We took a break from regular duties on Monday to can green beans with our daughter. We all enjoyed the change of pace, and especially watching the row of filled jars growing. The green beans in the garden have finally rippened and are growing at an alarming rate. I need to do another canner full tomorrow. With the rain we had last weekend it won’t be long before the yard will need mowing. Soon that’ll be a regular, almost weekly chore.

Friday morning my friend Grace and I plan to take her canoe out on the nearby resevoir. I’m so looking forward to being out on the water in the early morning calm.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

8 thoughts on “09.09.09”

  1. Lovely to have this little glimpse into your hectic life with it’s little bit of calm, as you know it always calms me to visit your blog. A canoe trip tomorrow sounds magical, have fun!

  2. Oh goodness, Busy! Love the photos of Wesley and Feather :^) any creek time is good time (as a rule).
    The socks are gorgeous, and the colours in Ed’s sweater… swoooon. I’m hoping the cluster lurked off elsewhere. The canoe trip sounds like just the ticket. and YAY on getting your harvest canned, I remember spending full canning days like that with my grandmother :^)
    I’m woefully behind on an email to you, that will be amended :^)
    XOX

  3. I’m sorry to hear about that message; I hope the right response, whatever it may be, will come to you over the next days. The time on the water in a canoe sounds like it will bring some peace. And the pictures of the grandkids are absolutely wonderful 🙂

  4. Good to see that you are enjoying these last days of summer…it is sometime difficult to do when “phone calls” can get in the way!

    You obviously know how to balance it all!

  5. I’m so glad you took the time to share with us what you’ve been up to! Those grandbabies of yours are getting so big, and sweeter than ever, from the looks of it!

    Canoeing in the quiet of the morning sounds like a perfect refresher from busy, busy days, I hope it’s wonderfully peaceful for you! :o)

  6. The socks are a lovely colour and they look luxuriously silky. I just finished a pair myself. Canoeing is so peaceful, with just the sound of the water dripping off the paddles. You get to see so much from a canoe too, like loons, in my case. In a canoe you can follow them without scaring them. Yum, green beans. Do you ever make dilly beans?

  7. Learning to canoe is on my life list. Hope you had fun.

    Thanks for the Half Marathon encouragement. It’s mostly an inspiration for someone else to get active, but it will certainly help us 🙂

Comments are closed.