Let the Sock Summit Begin!

Boxes, fiber and paraphernalia of all sorts litter the living room, trailing out from the storage room and office, spilling forth in the kitchen. Even in our bedroom the Sock Summit bug has left its mark evidenced in a couple piles of clothing to be packed tomorrow evening.

Most of our products and booth gear are packed, lists crossed off one by one, except for my long list of things I would have liked to accomplish in the knitting department, and bagging fiber duty. Two boxes filled with sundry sheepy fiber are waiting to be divided into small bundles and sorted into Fiber Sample packs. I’m totally rethinking that whole concept. The amount of time spent pulling fiber into equal chunks, rolling them and writing the sheep type on a tag then making sure each bag with 10 types of fiber weigh approximately the same takes hours. For three hours I sat on the floor last night, surrounded by bags of wool and such dividing, rolling, tagging, weighing. Sadly there aren’t many for that much effort at the price I charge. I should be on the floor finishing up another group of bags but I am tired.

In the past seven weeks we have made:

360 some spindles – (243 for SS the rest were sent to vendors needing them for workshops & classes)
124 pairs of circular needles. (70 pair were made in early June)
62 Hairpin Lace Looms (35 to go to SS)
As well as many individual and drop ship orders that day went to the Post Office
232 Books printed, cut and compiled, and that many dvds burned to accompany the books.
Copious amount of yarn for sample bits to be knit into tiny socks. (ha, managed to get only six knitted), and to weave into a shirt – which sadly hasn’t happened in time for Sock Summit
Finished my socks – whoo hoo!
Finished Ed’s Vest!  Halleluia! He wore it to church last Sunday. I was so proud I wanted to burst my buttons.  (Pictures to be forthcoming)

Ed’s exhausted. I’m exhausted. Tomorrow we head up to the Convention Center by 8:30 am to get set up. My house is a disaster. Aurora brought her sewing machine over this evening so I could sew the sleeves for our poster (sewing machine disasters this week, long story). While I was sewing, she washed my dishes. Sweet girl. She’ll also water the garden for us. We’ll be coming  back but won’t have time to tend it.

I need to go to bed.

Sock Summit OR CC

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

8 thoughts on “Let the Sock Summit Begin!”

  1. Mercy. That’s an amazing amount of work you and Ed have been doing. I hope you both were able to get a good sound and restful sleep last night… YAY!!! It’s HERE! with YAYs! for your socks, and Ed’s vest! Looking forward to seeing both.
    My very best to you and Ed with SS09, may your goods sell like hotcakes! :^) Just remember to breathe and make good time(s)!
    XOXOX

  2. well anyone who knows the quality of the products you guys make – knows they will sell out quickly – and you will wish you had more to sell — 😉

    try to be sure to enjoy some of the chaos you will be in the middle of –

  3. Such a lot of excitement! Sock Summit sounds as if it will be marvellous, but exhausting! Can’t wait to hear all about it (after you recover, of course). 🙂

  4. Well, I wish I were going! It’s going to be amazing. I’m sure there will be people I know popping in to your booth. Do say hi for me!

    I hope you will enjoy SS even though you are so tired. Get some good sleep, take a deep breath and just figure you’ll have a good time.

  5. Wanda, Your stuff will sell out, I know it. Have a wonderful time amidst the busyness and take some pictures to send our way (if you have time!) Your daughter is so sweet to look after things at home for you. Hurray for your finished socks!

  6. Have a wonderful time at THE summit!

    You (both) certainly deserve it!

    Can’t wait to hear all about it~when you have recovered, that is!

  7. Gosh its exhausting just reading about what you are up too. Hope you enjoy Sock Summit and that you geta wel deserved break at some point ;)!!!

Comments are closed.