Spinning By

Between getting sidetracked by the Ravelry Tour de Fleece and trying to get ready for Sock Summit another month has spun by with not as much to show for it as I’d planned. Still, things have been done, or are getting close. (12 days left!)

First up the spinning accomplished for the TdFTour de Fleece 09 Fiber

Fiber: 4 ounces Limegreenjelly merino/tencel/angelina blend spun two-ply.
Yardage: ca 460 yds
Equipment: Louet Victoria

This was great fiber to spin and I very much enjoyed being on Jo’s Jelly Legs Team that I’ve signed up to be on her new Jelly Legs Forum. Note to self: Stop signing into new forums on Ravelry!

Meanwhile, I’ve been madly knitting socks for the Sock Summit (what else?). Pity I’m such a slow knitter! You’ll have to take my word for it that I knit Ed a pair of socks. I keep forgetting to take pictures of them. Nor have I thought to take a picture of the socks in progress for me to wear.

The green yarn is Cascade 220 used to tie bouts of 50 as I wrapped the freshly spun yarn around the niddy noddy.

Handspun Sock Yarn
Handspun Sock Yarn

Specs: 4 ounces Crown Mountain Farms Corriedale pencil roving (can’t find the tag for the colorway)
3 ply (not chain plyed) ca 365 yards.

My socks are almost finished. I’m doing both at the same time. Well, sort of. I knit a couple inches on one, then a couple inches on the other. They are vanilla plain, toe up socks. No time for fancy these days.

My main spinning for the Tour de Fleece was spindling while exercising. My first choice wasn’t that great what with more vm than I like. Grannie Linda suggested just leaving it in and letting the wash take care of it. Problem is, some of it’s very fine, hard pieces of matter that poke and stick. It seems that if I leave it in it’ll be full of tiny irritants. I remember reading some time back, that people who think they’re allegic to wool are more likely reacting to fiber that hasn’t been well cleaned, it’s the vm that’s causing the rashes.

My modus operandus for 15 – 20 minutes many days during the TdF.

Spinning SpinningDuring the long wet days of winter Ed set his bike up on the back porch so we’d be more diligent about exercising. Going nowhere for 20 minutes is downright mind-numbing and it didn’t take too many days before my spindle was learning to avoid the pedal. On Saturday I decided it was time to capture my spinning adventure (heehee).  The camera set,  Record clicked, hop on the bike and away to spinning. The video was edited and posted to YouTube that evening. I’d love to have you see it! Spinning Spinner .
(I thought about putting it directly in this post but didn’t for the sake of dial-up users)

A heat wave has moved into the Pacific Northwest. Yesterday we had temps to 98, today we hit 100, forecast for tomorrow is 102! Hot. We manage to keep it a bit cooler in the house by closing all windows, doors and drapes by 9am. The catalpa tree we planted 22 years ago has gone large enough to spread its cooling shade well over a good portion of the south side of the house. Tomorrow I may just have to take the time to dash over to the creek for a good cool down. Along with hordes of others.

The flower fields are in full bloom.

Flower Fields

Faith and the flowers

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

10 thoughts on “Spinning By”

  1. Your spinning is lovely! I just love the purple! I know what you mean about hot we have been at 102 to 104 these last two weeks. Todays high is going to be in the low 90’s and boy am I happy about that.

  2. Wanda, I get a kick thinking of you spinning and spindling – what a great idea! I’ve often thought about knitting while walking on the treadmill. 🙂

    Off to check out your video now!

  3. Hi Wanda, I agree with Charity, I would love to be able to combine knitting and walking on the treadmill. Unfortunately my treadmill is manual, not electric, so I can’t really knit while walking. I love your video, the music is perfect with your peddling and spinning! Faith exploring the poppies is just too precious for words. Wouldn’t that make a lovely watercolour painting.

  4. Both handspun yarns are beyond beautiful! yummy. I watched the youtube, fabulous! not only the joy of seeing the orange (so vibrant!) but also the music and your balancing.. great form, and I kept thinking about all the greatness you were doing for your core strength! :^) (I tried leaving a comment but not sure if it worked…)
    Aaaah, the photos of Feather… has my heart singing, soft as a summer morning, fresh.
    wow… didn’t know it got THAT hot up in your neck of the woods! I like your ‘climate control’, exactly what I did when I lived without AC.. here… for years!
    XOXOXOXOX

  5. I use my elliptical machine and knit while I work out. Not as often as I should. I sometimes walk and knit if the pattern is easy and I’m using circulars!

  6. Hi Wanda! Your little Granddaughter is so beautiful! Gorgeous photos…just off to watch the video now. I am in awe of your amazing 3ply sock yarn!

  7. Hiya Wanda!
    Beautiful photos of your Granddaughter.
    In response to your question you left on my blog, we’re hoping from ages 2-10, primary school age. I think I’d concentrate on the little ones and Jim on the bigger ones. He’s hoping to do bike rides, litter picks, all sorts of things that you wouldn’t get in a ‘normal’ church!
    Looking forward to seeing more of your handspun, they’re beautiful x

  8. WHEE! LOVE THE WORKOUT VIDEO!
    Sorry about the vm, tho….
    I do often tell people, especially if I have made things from their sheep, that if they feel something pokey or scratchy, find it and pull it out! fun…it is a beautiful color tho — but dims to the sight of your grand daughter! Thanks for the fun post.

Comments are closed.