Spinning Like Crazy

Just when I’ve got my schedule more or less figured out for the month of July, getting ready for Sock Summit, a tour comes along. The siren song reached my ears and wooed me. How could I pass up my third year in a row on the tour? Especially when Freestylefiber Jo burned my ears.

Now, I dare not spend much time at Ravelry – it gets quickly snatched leaving me wondering what happened to the evening. If it weren’t for wanting to know what’s being discussed on the Sock Summit forum (must be aware of the talk there) and my commitment to the International Moleskine Exchange (I’ll be sad and glad when my moley is returned and that obligation is finished) I’d be avoiding Raverly like the plague. But then it happened. I was merrily sailing along quickly checking vital threads when my ears were burned and I heard the call to join the team Jelly Legs in the Tour de Fleece. Who could resist such a team? Not I.

Oh I debated all right. I laid in bed arguing that it was foolishness to even mildly consider it.
“But I’m spinning practically every day anyway,” the cheerleader convincingly enticed. “And there’s the perfect orange/purple/blue batt you picked up at Black Sheep you should spin.”
“You have too many things going on right now, ” Reason insisted.
“If you’re quick and steady maybe you’ll get it spun and knit for Sock Summit.”  Ha ha. Snort.  “Besides, you could spindle while exercising. By the way, When are you going to make a video of spindle spinning for youtube?”

Tour de Fleece Regulations require that a new spinning project is started on the day the Tour de France starts (July 4th). That was the folly of it: I was closing in on finishing the Precious fiber I’d purchased from Freestylefiber Jo months ago. I really hope to get it woven in time to wear it to Sock Summit. (Louder snort)

I caved. Hauled out the OrangePurpleBlue fiber and started spindling madly away. Madly. Yep. Angst crept in as the days past and very little yarn was building up on the spindle during my allotted 20 minutes of exercise and spindling. The batt has tons multitudes of vegetable matter flecked throughout every inch. Argh. I’m so spoiled with beautifully cleaned and prepped roving (Precious has been like flowing silk through my fingers). By Wednesday I was totally fed up with trying to spin this stuff  when there’s so much spinning I’d like to get done. (It is pretty and I think it’d make wicked fab socks, someday.)

Tour de Fleece Day 1

While the grandbabies napped I pulled out the wheel and soothed my soul with silence and the Precious Fiber for almost an hour as I planned my next attack on the TdF course.

Any proficient cyclist knows that the equipment needs to be in top shape for competition. This batt was not in top form. Time to change fiber gears. A few weeks ago I’d begun spinning small samples of the various fibers I use in my Fiber Sample Packs with the plan to knit one tiny sock from each. Day 1 spin and ply, Day 2 knit the sock. It’d been working decently for the week I’d been at it. Pulling a spindle out of the Sock Summit stock pile I found some Tunis and began spinning.

After two days and 35 minutes into the Tunis it too has been briefly set aside due to more VM than I want to deal with right now. This morning I pulled out some grey Romeldale and commenced spinning happily. 3 grams of fiber spun into singles, plyed this evening and now drying on the niddy noddy. Tomorrow I’ll finish the Tunis, knit the Romeldale sock and just maybe even finish spinning the singles of Precious.

I was planning to spin and knit tonight but was lured away by trying to figure out Picasa 3 mosiac feature.Spinning 7.10

I need to learn how to fine tune it, someday. For now it’s a start! The Precious Fiber, a merino/tencel/angelin blend is the purple/mauve/pink fiber being spun on the wheel. The grey romeldale was spun on a 1.9 ounce/55 grams Turkish Spindle.

In between all the spinning there’s been gardening; a three day jaunt with three friends, over the Cascades to relax, see the Sister’s Rodeo and celebrate a birthday; Picking 20 pounds of blueberries with Aurora; Knitting socks, Watching the grandbabies for three days while son and his wife flew to Idaho to find a house; Attending barbecues; And dozens of spindles being made and either sent off to new owners or tucked into boxes for Sock Summit. (The Summer of Sock Summit)  I’ve also been enjoying preparing for and teaching the Adult Sunday School lessons.  We’ve been in the Psalms the past few Sundays. It’s been wonderful diving back into chapters filled with the riches and wonder of God. At times it’s been hard to stay focused and keep up the energy for everything but then I read a chapter and feel encouraged and blessed.

Pink Milk and Strawberry Oreos

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

9 thoughts on “Spinning Like Crazy”

  1. WoW!!! You HAVE been spinning, and in more ways than fibre… and I mean that in a good way :^)
    The Precious fibre is gorgeous, Jo really is quite amazing, her creations.
    The orange/purple/blue… those colours are just Happy!
    Good to see you, good to hear about all the great times you’ve been making ;^)
    I LOVE that last photo, hee.
    XOX

  2. I love the orange fiber it is just lovely. Its been awhile so I must let you know that I moved my blog from yoknit to homespunfiber.blogspot.com

    What a cute face!!!!

  3. Wow! You have been busy with spinning. Makes my head spin too.

    I am definitely thinking that the best way to attend all these wonderful seminars and conventions is to go as a vendor. You lucky lady!

  4. I love the picture of the little man at the end. And I love your blog, your observation of nature and the world around you. Thank you for sharing.

    Best wishes from Liverpool (UK)

  5. I was glad to find you on Ravelry… it makes it easier for me to keep up with your blog! Sounds like your summer has been so busy—glad that you are finding a little time to spin for the Tour…. hope you find a fiber that brings you joy… 😉

  6. Ooh, that’s some gorgeous fiber you’re spinning! I’d wanted to spin for Tour de Fleece, but was out of town until yesterday, alas. I need to get back into spinning… It’s hard to believe Sock Summit is coming so quickly!

  7. The colours on your spindle look like a beautiful, fiery sunset. Now what kind of chocolate yumminess was Wesley into? I remember the look on my daughter #1’s face the first time she tried chocolate pudding. A big smile spread across her face from ear to ear. Speaking of gardening, I put in some green bush beans this year but every time a tiny leaf appears, it immediately gets eaten, apparently during the night since during the day I don’t see anything crawling on or around the plants. Maybe slugs? Strangely, whatever it has hasn’t touched the peas, which are growing nearby. Enjoy the Sock Summit!

  8. Don’t worry about the vegetable matter, it will wear out of the wool much sooner than the wool will wear away! Just pick out the big stickers……fun.
    Kind of like gooeyness all over a baby’s face…it will wear off eventually!!
    Looks great!
    Keep up the good work!

Comments are closed.