Five days

Five days left to the wedding, really four in the sense that what’s not done by Saturday most likely won’t get done. Aurora and I spent a couple hours this afternoon tying ribbons around the napkin wrapped plastic ware. (Despite the wedding getting more elaborate than she’d wanted she’s still managed to keep quite a bit of it simple.) Another task ticked off the list.

I’m getting very excited about seeing family and friends, some whom I haven’t seen in a number of years. The weather prediction is positive (though it’s raining quite hard this evening!), and plans seem to be coming together well. There’s still Thursday food cooking and prep, Friday decorating, preparing and rehearsal but it’s all going quite smoothly after the hectic week we had last week.

How crazy can life get when there’s a wedding to prepare for, business is booming, a garden needs planting and the grass leaping towards the sky?  Apparently even busier. I hung up the phone after my son called last Monday morning, and had a very serious chat with God. It wasn’t with a thankful heart either.  It wasn’t enough that the week was scheduled to the brim with must-do shopping, trying to get a handle on the backed up orders, including three large ones that had to be sent by specific dates.  No, life was about to get more demanding.

Our son had received word that he’s to be transferred to the new plant in Boise. Between his new training schedule and several other obligations (like his sister’s wedding) it was the only weekend until the end of June that they could get over to Boise and start looking for a house. Could we watch the kids Thursday afternoon until evening on Friday when the other grandmother would take over babysitting? Of course we said “yes”. We juggled the schedule and moved the main shopping expedition with Aurora’s mother-in-law to be to Wednesday. Monday the grass demanded mowing after completing a day in the office. I was also able to get in some tomato, squash and cucumber plants into the garden.  I am so thankful for the early mornings of watering plants and weeding before the demands of the day rush in.

Tuesday morning an email was waiting, friends of ours were heading from California north and would we be home Thursday? Of course.  Please stop by, we’d love to see you! It’s not often that people divert the 20+ miles off of I-5 when they’re buzzing up the freeway headed somewhere, so it’s a real treat when they do. We had a lovely time though their visit was too short. And soon the grandkids were coming into the house and friends were back on the road. But not before she pressed a bag of Buffalo Gold into my hands! Real buffalo fiber. I’ve been spindling it up on the spindle in little moments of quiet.

Bless his heart, Ed “took off” most of Friday and played/watched the kids so I could get those crucial orders filled and shipped. He also watched them alone during the late Friday afternoon violin rehearsal for the upcoming spring recital happening in two weeks.  They went for long walks, inspected bugs and flowers and in general he tried to keep little Wesley happy. Wesley was not thrilled to be away from his mother and needed lots of holding and attention. Feather was her sweet, happy self. I think she was truly baffled that Wesley was not a happy little boy.

Sunday afternoon there was a very lovely birthday celebration for a woman I’ve known most of my life. She may be 90 in years but not in heart, or looks, she’s still beautiful and looks much as she did when I was young. She played the piano and accompanied the Silvertones as they sang some of her favorite songs.  I had to leave the the 90th birthday party early and scurry to attend a baby shower for a young friend who’s expecting her first child in June.

By evening there’s no energy or brain power left to put cohesive sentences together so I’ve been mindlessly knitting a pair of plain socks for Ed, or spinning.

Young WesleyWesley enjoying the sun and dandelions.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

8 thoughts on “Five days”

  1. When our kids are in need we are always there to take the grandkids. I sorry your son is moving away, are you ok with it? Our son and his family have sold there home in Memphis and they are on there way home. They should be here on Friday afternoon and after four years in Memphis we are so happy to have them moving back. Now if I could just get my youngest daughter to move back, but I don’t think that will ever happen.

  2. Mercy, (and I would’ve been begging for it too) what a week!!! and still much to do and even when the Wedding has all been said and done… you’re still going to be a busy little bee!
    Happy Birthday to your Most Lovely Friend.
    Would you look at how big Wesley is getting and what a beautiful boy he is! I keep gazing at his face, studying it and thinking.. I see Ed in there :^)
    Sounds like he and Feather had some ‘making good time’ with Grandpa.
    Sending Best Wishes for the Wedding Couple.
    XOXOX

  3. Zowie, you ARE busy! I think if I were preparing for a wedding, I would be ditching all the other activities, left and right! The poor veggies would dry up in their pots. I would never say no to adorable grandchildren coming over, though, (if I had any!) That’s too bad about your son moving. Hardly any one really stays in one job or location for their whole working life anymore, do they? It’s hard to be separated, I know. My husband and I lived far away from family for many years. At least now we have cell phones and emails, which we didn’t have in previous years.

  4. Yes, you Did have an incredibly busy week! No wonder you didn’t even try to get to the Knit and Crochet Show!

    As one who has walked a similar path (two children’s weddings and a home move in 6 weeks!) I would recommend treasuring those evenings and when it’s all over, be good to yourself and give yourself (and Ed) a few days to simply rest body and spirit.

  5. Goodness, I hope I have your strength and perseverance when it’s my turn for these life events!

  6. Wishing you more hours in the day and a lot of restfull moments. But mostly wishing you and your family a splendid time with the wedding. Your shawl was beautiful, by the way, just stunning. Your daughter will clearly be wrapped in utter elegance. Lastly, wishing you and Ed much joy!

  7. Oh, my goodness! That’s a whole lot on your plate all at once. It sounds like you’re handling it with grace, but I know it’s not easy. I hope a few restful moments sneak into your days this week, and that you get a LOT of them next week to recover! 🙂

  8. phew! I had to go lie down after just reading about all that activity!! Sending prayers for physical strength through the next few days. And of course, blessings on the wedding.

Comments are closed.