Wednesday Wood and Weaving

It’s one way to work off some calories and firm some muscles. Not exactly what was in my mind for the evening but it feels good to have it done, for now.

Ed needed to pick up some supplies from town after work which made for a later than usual supper. He finished eating and headed outside, I assumed he was going to visit neighbors. Getting a start on the dishes I was happily planning out an evening of  finishing the last details with weaving design for the wedding stole, blogging and spinning, when the rhythmic thunk of wood caught my attention. Plans dashed, dishes stacked, I went out to help Ed move wood.

On the way home from picking up maple wood for making hooks and needles last Friday, Ed passed a small wayside park where he noticed a huge pile of free wood. The park people had cleared a section of oaks and left the wood for whoever wanted to haul it away. Eager to lay in wood for the winter Ed made two trips on Saturday.

The past two eveings we  moved and consolidate last year’s supply of wood to make room for the new wood. Doing vigorous, purposeful work felt good, and rewarding. The new wood is still moss covered and water logged but it’ll dry by the time we go through rest of last year’s wood. The wood that still needs cutting and splitting to fit in our firebox stayed outside the woodshed waiting for Ed’s chainsaw.

These leather gloves have served me well for twenty years. I first bought them when I first got my horse. Wearing soft leather gloves hauling hay, mucking stalls, grooming and tacking a horse saved my hands from damage and drying out. They also preserved a finger that got caught in a rope when I was training a fractitious young gelding.  I was able to quickly slip my hand out of the glove just as a loop of rope snagged a finger, pulled tight. The horse charged to the far end of the corral, glove firmly ensnared in the rope whipping along behind him.

Today we hauled the loom from the storage/weaving room. In the past several months the room has become a catchall for supplies, as well as the sleeping room when the grandkids are here. I’d been dreading trying to warp the loom within the confines of the dwindling space. The loom is now set up between the living room and kitchen (one continuous space). I took the afternoon off from office work to clean the loom and thoroughly rub it down with Wood Beams. I normally use equal amounts of lemon juice and olive oil to give the loom a good cleaning as well as moisturizing but didn’t have any lemons. (Lemon juice cuts grim.) Tomorrow I hope to be able to get most of my work done in the morning so I can warp the loom and weave a sample by this weekend.

MC and I bought the tencel over a month ago at Woodland Woolworks but I still hadn’t settled on a pattern. In an email exchange with Valerie I mentioned two patterns I was considering but couldn’t wrap my mind around the threading. Valerie has been most helpful with sending pictures of similar items she’s woven using the pattern I was leaning towards. And then, bless her heart, she sent me an article from Handwoven with just the information I needed to get me totally excited about the possibilities. I am in debt to her knowledge and superb help. Thank you Valerie! Now finally, after weeks of looking at the yarns and picturing different combinations and amounts, the plan is settled in my mind. I was tempted to start warping this evening but my body is tired and I want a fresh mind and eyes when tackling the warping process, especially threading the heddles.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

6 thoughts on “Wednesday Wood and Weaving”

  1. I’ll be right there with you by the end of the day; it’s yard-work day for us! The colors look great; I look forward to seeing the piece!

  2. The colours are absolutely lovely. Wishing you the very best with that ‘fresh’ business ;^)
    I have to say, the photo with the moss/fern covered log is so beautiful!
    I’m off to clean up and mow mom’s yard, it’s official, the season is here! The little break was great while it lasted :^)

  3. Mmmm, I well know that feeling of satisfaction after a good solid job like moving wood! 🙂

    I can’t wait to see your finished piece!

  4. I am so glad you were wearing those gloves when the horse took off! Especially if it was your left hand. (thinking of violin fingering.) Do you cover your firewood with plastic tarp to keep the weather out while it dries? We used a wood stove in B.C. and I just loved the warmth it gave, as well as seeing the fire flickering through the glass. It was worth all the work, and chopping, and carrying out ashes. Except one winter a rat decided to live in our woodpile, and helped himself to vegetables I had stored in the garage. We evicted him.

  5. GORGEOUS COLORS!!! Can’t wait to see the progress. I recently moved my spinning wheel into the living room and I seem to get much more spinning done in the “odd” moments of the day!
    Have a good week!

Comments are closed.