Special Gifts

Faiths Slippers
Faith's Slippers

Faith wearing the Felted Slippers that Marianne sent in a Care Package several weeks ago. They’re huge on Faith but she loves them, and manages to wear them on the slick hardwood floors in her apartment.

And here’s the Swallowtail Shawl which Marianne knit for me, from Alpaca. Spoiled rotten, I am. πŸ™‚

Before heading off to church last Sunday.

The day turned very cold (drizzling a soggy snow) and by the time I’d arrived home from a long afternoon meeting the shawl had became a neck warmer.

At first I was hesitant to wear the shawl – it is so beautiful and I can only imagine all the hours that went into knitting it.Β  But well I know the frustration of making a garment for someone only to realize that it’s never worn. This shawl will be worn with love and pride, and perhaps it will eventually end up like the velveteen rabbit.

Thank you, sweet Marianne!

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

11 thoughts on “Special Gifts”

  1. Love the slippers and the shawl looks beautiful, I do hope to knit one (or two) for myself one day….I think I should go and ball the yarn up!

  2. The shawl is beautiful, and by the way, you have a very nice haircut too! I agree, you should wear the shawl. It was meant to be worn. Faith and those huge slippers reminds me that my little girls always had a fascination with my shoes. I have a picture of my older daughter wearing a pair of my shoes (and little else) which she would clump around in. I guess she was pretending to be a lady.

  3. AND red looks great on you!

    Lovely gifts.

    Now I’m thinking, maybe I should knit a swallowtail shawl. Gotta look in to that. It’s just so so beautiful (or maybe it’s just the model).

  4. Hee. I’m so tickled, just giggling gleefully looking at the photos. I am so very pleased that Feather loves her slippers and that she’s enjoying them on the hardwood floors, she’ll be a well seasoned slider soon,eh? It’s too cute and so funny, they’re really QUITE large on her but this way? She’ll get a couple of years use with them.
    You are beyond lovely in that red and yes, yes, yes, so happy you’re wearing it and it is a very versatile bit of lace :^)
    Please thank Feather for me, and thank YOU, Wanda, it was a mighty fine pleasure (you are so very welcome).
    (I’m also blushing, it’s “all ya’ll” who are the sweet, kind ones)

  5. The pictures are great – Faith looks like she loves her slippers and the shawl is beautiful as are you and red is so your color πŸ˜‰

  6. A lovely gift for a lovely person! It looks great on you Wanda!

    And those slippers on Faith’s feet look wonderful and cozy! (good that shes got a little room to grow into them!)She is growing up so fast!

Comments are closed.