A Hat for the Grandson

Somewhere in the middle of December I was seized with the notion I had to knit Wesley a hat for Christmas. The perfect yarn has been languishing since late 2004 when I purchased a huge hank of luxious charcoal grey wool of unknown type, the label has long since disappeared.  This is the softest yarn I have ever worked with. Knitting the grey hat I kept fondling the yarn almost regretting that I hadn’t bought two hanks to make a sweater.

A couple summers ago I knit up some socks that had an intuitive pattern which I loved and it seemed like it’d be a perfect foundation pattern adapted into a hat. The hat knit together quickly and the parents loved it on Wesley. Six month old Wesley wasn’t quite as sure since he’s not a huge fan of things on his head.

Little Buddys Cap
Little Buddy Hat

I was pressed to knit it and get it finished in a hurry so I didn’t write the pattern down as I shaped the crown, something I came to regret after the parents’ enthusiastic response to the hat. (Neither of them gets excited about handknits). A couple weeks ago they went out to eat and when they returned home they realized the hat wasn’t on Wesley’s head. They searched the car and called the restaurant to no avail. It was the opportunity to make another one and write the pattern row by row as I shaped the top.  The second hat was met was equal happiness and now I’m on to a third, this one with smaller needles but more stitches. My goal is to develope a pattern that will fit several sized heads that I can print up and offer for sale. 🙂

Any takers?

I just put up for sale at Ravelry my first pattern: Felted Spindle Pouch for Walking Spinners. I designed the pouch in 2006 when I was doing a lot of spinning while out walking and needed a good place to stash the spindle and roving. As soon as I get all the kinks worked out and sizings figured I’ll be adding Little Buddy’s hat. 🙂  I’d be tickled to have a few people test drive the pattern before it gets published.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

12 thoughts on “A Hat for the Grandson”

  1. I’d love to be a test knitter too! I like knitting hats, and I’ve designed several for myself. Well, by “design” I mean that I’ve taken a few ideas from here and there to make a hat that suits me. My hats must keep me warm in the playground, therefore I make them to come right down to my eyebrows in front. Wesley is so cute, and his hat is perfect on him.Did he keep it on after you took his picture?

  2. Would you look at that Wesley? How big he’s getting! He’s so very beautiful! Love the hat, do you need anymore testers? ;^)
    That’s what happens when you go away for a week, as you have four volunteers already and I’m not a bit surprised, it’s a gorgeous pattern!

  3. Wanda,

    It is a very cute hat and you have had a number of volunteers – you can add me to the list if you need some more – I have knitted samples in the past for a yarn store.

    It is a very cute hat.

Comments are closed.