Winter Walk

The wind is howling around the house, shaking it with great gusts. Drenching rain is supposed to move in later tonight. Already the creeks and rivers are swollen with runoff from melting snow and recent rain. Rather than look at our dreary rain sodden place in the world I’d like to take you on a walk through the snow that we had two weeks ago.

Walk one block east and a block south and we’re standing in the main part of this small village which is at the bottom of Grandview Ave hill, a most excellent sledding run, until the sander comes along but for several days the sander had too many roads that were more important.

Turn east and head up Crooked Finger Road towards the county park. Crooked Finger is the only road leading up into the Cascade foothills from town. It is a major road with many people living along the ten mile stretch.

The beautiful flowering plum trees lining Crooked Finger up to the park were savaged by the snow and ice.

People attempting to come down Crooked Finger had to go around many barriers. Several carried chainsaws and removed trees and branches as they came. We are at a far end of the county, not exactly a priority for county or state departments.

Turning off Crooked Finger at the pole we walk through unbroken snow down to the creek.


An ice encased world.

Faith was enchanted with the snow.

I have been doing a bit of dyeing, started and finished one knitting project and some spinning here and there.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

12 thoughts on “Winter Walk”

  1. My fingers are just itching to start an interesting project! One that includes wool, dye and my spinning wheel! But first I have to finish a baby sweater for a co worker’s baby….

  2. Oh, the trees. Hurts my heart, but God is good all the time, even in ice and snow! Beautiful pictures – you’re certainly getting more than your fair share this winter. Anytime you want to send a bit this way is fine with me! (as long as it’s on a day when I don’t have anything else I need to do outside of the house!!!)

  3. Oh!!!!! Oregon is always so beautiful in the snow when it comes! Thank you so much for sharing these pictures!!! It does a heart good.

  4. Beautiful photos, Wanda, but I’m with Marianne – the trees break my heart. Thanks for taking me along with you – the only “outside” time I’ve had the last little while is snow shoveling! :o)

  5. Thank you for the wintry walk. Ice storms are so hard on the trees, though. I hope the flowering plum trees survive. We had a severe ice storm in Ontario and Quebec several years ago that wiped out thousands of sugar maples, which produce sap which is then made into maple syrup. Families relied on those trees for their livelihood. Faith is so precious. I’m sure she was amazed at all that white stuff.

  6. Oh, wow. That is a sight to see — thank you so much for sharing it with us. I know that you all aren’t really set up for this much winter, though, so I hope you’re staying warm and safe!

Comments are closed.