Pears and Plying

The walk was short but fruitful. Early afternoon brought a small window of calm in several days of blustery rainy weather. The winds had carried pears from the tree, scattering them among the leaves.

Past the cherry tree and through the gate to the pear tree which is just barely visible on the other side of the gate. It’s lost all of its leaves. The gravenstein apple tree tenaciously clings to its leaves.

Most of the pears aren’t quite ripe but they are in a drier place now.

The woven cloth is finished, washed, and dried. I haven’t started laying out a vest pattern. There’s another present that needs to be knit but first the yarn had to be spun. This is one of those projects that makes me happy to be working on. I only need 250 yards of yarn and it should be a fairly quick knit.

I split 2 ounces of merino roving lengthwise into two one ounce lengths which were then spun onto separate bobbins. My spinning must not have been as even as I’d wished; during the plying one bobbin ran out before the other. I took the remainder on the second bobbin and wound it around a Turkish spindle forming a center pull ball with the yarn going to the spinning wheel as the center pull, the tail unwinding from the outside of the ball. (It works either way.) My version of a nostepinne. Removing the shaft and arms I stuck my thumb through the center hole, attached the tail to the end of short single and began plying the rest of the yarn.

Worked like a charm.

The yarn has been soaked in hot water and is now drip drying.

Has it been over a week since the contest?! Ed needed to make a couple batches of spindles but I believe he’ll be getting a start on the prize needles tomorrow or Saturday. 🙂 Thanks to all who were such good sports.

We watched the grandkids Monday and then yesterday we had our daughter over for dinner and since Justin and Mandy were going to be in the neighborhood we invited them to join us. I’d planned to post Walk with me Wednesday but by the time they’d left amid the high winds and rains our internet connection was lost.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

8 thoughts on “Pears and Plying”

  1. Your yarn is gorgeous! I can’t wait to see what you decide to knit with it. I’m hoping to spend some quality time with my wheel and spindles this weekend. And your pears look yummy — I love pears!

  2. I’ve used that same method of plying. And the bonus is that, when you are knitting and need to join a new ball, you can just slip the tail of the old ball through the loop at the end of the second ball, keep going, and knit in the tail on the next round, or on the next row.

  3. Mmmm. Pears. They are very high on the list of my favourites.
    Yes, your spun yarn is beautiful, would you look at those colours! I’ve never had 2 bobbins come out equal, very close a time or two.
    I’m all excited about Ed’s vest!

  4. I used to have a pear tree in the backyard of a house I rented and the pears were fabulous, but SOOOO messy! The yard was shady so grass wouldn’t grow and if I wasn’t right on top of the pears as they fell, my yard turned into a mushy mess with bee swarms.

    I still miss that tree, though!

  5. Hey Wanda…Your yarn looks beautiful! I am going great guns with my spinning now…I love my spindle. Sad I missed out on the competition though, only just got broadband sorted! Well done the winners, especially my mate Jo…

  6. Beautiful! Love the tip about using the Turkish spindle as a ball maker!
    I was able to spin on my wheel over the weekend, first time since last spring! Working on some corriedale for some sox.
    We dried a LOT of pears last month and they are tucked in the cupboard for winter.
    Thanks for the photos!
    Grannie Linda

  7. I’ve never been too fond of pears, although I do like them if they’re nice and ripe. My school is next to a forest, and just on the other side of the fence are an apple tree, and an absolutely huge old pear tree. This year it was literally dripping with pears. What a waste of beautiful fruit that someone could have used. I picked up a few pears, and lots of apples for applesauce. The squirrels ate some, and the rest just rotted.

Comments are closed.