Contest Winners!

We sure like to complicate things some times, like making a contest out of asking what Ed likes listening to. As if you would have any clue. You were good sports and threw out some great answers. We had fun reading what you thought. It was all pretty straightforward and simple with everyone guessing having their name written on a piece of paper, folded and tossed into a hat.

Ed has always liked listening to the radio when he works. His preferred entertainment is oldies rock. He also likes older country. The real stuff, not the kind that passes for country the past few decades. Rounding out music he likes is bluegrass, again preferably the older styles; gospel; some r&B; loves big band. And Hot August Night (Neil Diamond) He is rather eclectic. Yes he does like classical but in small doses. He rarely listens to talk radio. Hates sports with a passion (sorry Pia!) Has never gotten into listening to books on tape.

The drawing took place just a few minutes ago, after Ed got home from fixing a neighbor’s door. It’s been a long past few days. We had the grandkids dropped off Sunday afternoon to spend the night and Monday with us. They both had colds and were a bit peevish. I’m now getting a cold. I’m trying not to be peevish.

Yesterday was catch up day for emails and orders. Ed had invited friends over for dinner so there was that followed by the women’s fellowship/Bible study which I was sort of responsible for leading last night. Today was the monthly spinning guild day. I enjoy that day of spinning with others though I went with mixed feelings since it seems that everyday I’m getting further behind with shipping out orders and doing bookwork. I really wish spinning day wasn’t the first Wednesday. The first week of the month is often my busiest.

Back to the drawing. All had been ordinary and calm until while driving and listening to the radio on Sunday Ed got the wild idea of adding a tricky twist – who is his favorite all time singer?

By last night Ed felt bad about being tricky so I removed all the names of everyone who actually guessed a person’s name leaving the names of those who only guessed what he listened to in the hat. Shaking the hat vigorously Ed reached in and removed a thrice folded paper.

Mary H AKA Turtleknitter Mary, you get the #7/4.5mm 32″L circular needles. 🙂

Please understand that as a rule Ed is very straightforward person who calls it as he sees it, no tricks, especially no puzzles or guessing games with him. So the truth is that his contriteness lead him to declare

To the six who braved a singer’s name

Marjorie
Beth
Granny Linda
Elizabeth
Jo (Limegreen)
Pia

he will make each of you either a pair of circs or a crochet hook in the size and wood you’d like. Let’s communicate tomorrow (Nov 6th) as to what you’d like in size etc.

Ah! But wait!!! There was a winner who did actually guess the name of Ed’s favorite singer but because of Ed’s deviousness she didn’t think it could be Patsy Cline!

Marianne of Okalahoma take a bow. 🙂

Thanks everyone for hazarding guesses and playing along!

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

11 thoughts on “Contest Winners!”

  1. Congrats to all the winners! Well, I love the oldies rock and so does The Professor. Have you ever heard Johnny Limbo and the Lugnuts? THEY rock!

  2. Oh.My.Goodness! I’m in a heap of chuckles about Ed and his trickiness :^) Patsy is one of my all time favourites too. You knew that.
    Congrats to all the Winners!
    Thank you, Wanda, for this fun contest and thank you, Ed, for your incredible generosity!

  3. Thank you for the contest! And thank you Ed, for the time you will be spending in your workshop making needles. My husband and I like oldies rock too, although it makes our children stuff earplugs in their ears rather quickly. Wanda, I hope your sniffles are gone soon. It sounds as if you just don’t have any time to nurse a cold. You are one busy lady!

  4. Woo hoo! What great fun THAT was!
    I have always been a selective fan of Country Music, but I have lately attained a fond affection for Bob Willis music!
    Thanks for the fun ride!
    Grannie Linda

  5. How nice of Ed!!! And it was great fun guessing…..I can’t say I’ve listened that much to Patsy Cline. I liked Bobbie Gentry a lot when I was younger.
    Thanks for a fun contest!

  6. I’m so excited and honoured that Ed’s unusual trickiness (maybe he was just feeling a bit CRAZY, lol) and genorosity means I’ve won a prize!

  7. Wow!!!!! I won the beautiful circular needle? Wow. I never win prizes. But now I see that the universe has its way of doing things. Thank you so much. A US7 circ will find much use and love in this household.

    My friends and I have had some very nice spinning times together recently. Last night we had a cozy Wisconsin evening, spinning away and drinking tea into the wee hours. The little Turkish delight has taken on a life of its own. Everyone wants to spin on it. Good thing I have taken to carrying two spindles with me!

    Thank you again Wanda and Ed!

Comments are closed.