Autumn Walk

It’s not Wednesday but I didn’t get the chance to post yesterday. I have to copy a couple dozen of my spinning dvd for orders. It takes almost 9 minutes to burn one dvd. Kind of like tending to the toddler in the bathtub. May as well post a few more pictures.

We’ve had a glorious autumn with cool nights – a couple of mornings down to 32F – but warm sunny days with only a few days of rain sprinkled about the weeks.  Sadly business work and fiber stuff tends to keep me inside most of the time but last Friday while babysitting the grandkids we went for a long walk to pick a couple apples and visit the horses down the lane.


“Where’s my apple?”

“There it is!”

“Hmmm”

To the horse!

Don’t forget to leave a comment telling what you think my DH, Ed Jenkins. listens to through his headphones while he works (See previous two posts) to get your name in the drawing for a pair of his #7 32″ Circular Pink Ivory knitting needles. These needles are perfect for knitting lace as well as any other types of knitting!

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

11 thoughts on “Autumn Walk”

  1. Benny Goodman?

    or Mozart.

    Hi Wanda. I owe you a story about the great time we had spinning on Ed’s spindles. I sent my copy of your dvd home with my young friend. (My other friend, who hosted our learning to spin day, Huan-Hua blogged about it on her blog Feather and Fan — a couple posts back.)

    Nice to see the trees of home!

    Enjoy!

  2. Bluegrass and Mozart?!?

    Love the pictures; glad you’re enjoying the fall weather as well – ours is stretching out much longer than last year, when it was already cold and damp by this time…if I remember correctly…which I usually am not any more!!

  3. You captured Sweet Faith so very well in your photos, just look at the determination in her stride and stance in that last photo!
    Thank you for a sweet walk.

  4. Your granddaughter looks just like she’s sitting underneath an open-mouthed elephant in the first picture!

    Or maybe I haven’t had enough coffee yet.

  5. I was thinking classical or baroque music. Then I thought maybe he listens to Sons of the Pioneers, like my friend’s husband in Springfield. Or some kind of country/blue grass. But I think I’d go for classical/baroque.

  6. What a perfect walk! Faith is growing up so fast! I’ll just bet that she is wonderful company!

    Headphones on Ed…humm..someone with his creativity could be listening to a wide range of things.(I’m guessing there is a fiddle/violin in there somewhere). Has he ever listened to Drybranch Firesquad?

  7. Those are really lovely pictures of Faith and her apple. Was it a Golden Delicious? They are so good in pies; they keep their shape well. I am working on a painting for my website, but I also have report cards due very soon. Our weather has been kind of chilly with some frosty mornings, but yesterday was beautiful and warm, much to the joy of all the children, who really didn’t want to have to wear their winter jackets over their Hallowe’en costumes.

  8. Thank you so much for the glorious pictures of Oregon in the fall. You capture the simple pleasures of country walks so well – and having someone new to it all with you makes it even better, doesn’t it?

    I have a ton of apples to turn into apple butter and can’t put it off much longer. No, apple butter isn’t an Irish tradition (crabapple jelly is) but I picked it up from your side of the Atlantic and can’t live without a supply now!

    It has to be bluegrass, Ed, surely!

  9. Thank for your beautiful pictures. Looks a lot like Sweden, where I live.
    I think Ed listens to sports-radio….;o)

Comments are closed.