Fiber Works

First up is the scarf I’d started last spring. After finishing Aurora’s broomstick lace vest in September the 2/3rds complete scarf and yarn came out of hiding and I stayed faithful to it until it was finished. Originally it was intended to be a present waiting for recipient unknown. I’m in love with it and will keep it.  MC made reference to the fact that almost everything I make is given away. Her remark has made me consider why that is. Aside from a pair of socks made over five years ago and the Red Sweater that took a year to knit I haven’t completed anything personally for myself. (Nevermind the long, ongoing spinning, hairpin lace ruana which was seriously sidetracked months ago.

Pattern: Gust by Knitspot
Yarn: Ball and Skein Arequipa 80% Alpaca, 20% Silk  (Wonderful stuff)

Please ignore the #4 needles! That join was an experiment of Ed. His newer model are much more refined, especially his method of joining the cord to the needles. I’m so spoiled with his sharp perfect-for-lace small circular needle tips! (go ahead have a peek, click on pictured tips to enlarge)

I bought roving at OFFF that I thought would be perfect for a felted bag. The first ounce sample was spun up on the 2.6 ounce Turkish Spindle.  I rarely sample (shame, shame) but I needed to know how much it’d shrink. Or if it would. While spinning it at guild meeting one of the ladies recognized it as Abstract Fiber’s and said it was superwash. Demurring in slight alarm I dug into my bag and produced the tag. BFL SW. Rats! Someone must have fondled it then placed it in the nearest matching cubby instead of back into the superwash section. That sample was subjected to scorching hot water, soap, pummeling, and a plunging into a cold bath. Superwash does not felt. Not in the least.

What I did learn is my gauge started out relaxed but tighten about five rows in. And that the colors matched the autumn squash I’d put on the table for decoration.

I’m now wheel spinning some merino for the bag. Pictures in the future.

Meanwhile Faith celebrated her second birthday. It was a pleasure for this grandmother to make a sweet child a pair handmade socks. They’re a take-off of the first Sock Wars pattern. The cast on is pretty rough looking on the one sock and once again, I discovered the need to work on gauge consistency. The first sock is more relaxed and a bit looser. Made on #2 dpns using Fearless Fiber yarn

A little girl needs a pocket companion, don’t you think?

(Bunny did not want to sit still.)

My first venture into needle felting. Ed spotted Wool Pets at the Knit Crochet conference. He talked with Ken Sharp who was demonstrating how to make a wool pet. Next thing I knew Wool Pets by Ken & Laurie Sharp had landed in my bag. This was a fun Saturday afternoon project.

At long last there is weaving to be seen. Only two feet have been woven so far with another three feet to go but I’m ecstatic with the way it looks.


The colors are deeper and richer than on my monitor. Periodic threads of merino/tencel warp give hints of sheen – it’s easier to see on the unwoven part towards the top of picture. All of the warp and weft are my handspun yarns with the exception of the grey Irish wool that makes up less than 10%. (One of these days I hope to find my project work paper with all the yardage and weights.) About 8 inches were woven in this picture which shows the shoe string method for tying a warp onto the cloth beam (beam is out of sight). The shots (or picks) of white is the header. A header is used to get the warp spaced evenly since the knots bunch the warp threads. The two threads you see looking out of place on the web (the term used for the woven part) in the middle of the picture are where I had to start a new bobbin of yarn. Once the cloth is removed and wet finished they will be clipped.

A couple people wondered what Ed was listening to in the last post. Place your guess in the comments and I’ll enter all who make a guess into a hat for a drawing. What does Ed to listen to most when working?

Winner will receive one pair of Jenkins #7 32″ Pink Ivory Circular knitting needles!
Drawing on Nov 4th in celebration that we won’t have to listen to anymore inane ads!

I don’t want to offend anyone but I feel strongly about putting in a plug for the person who would get America back to being America, defend our own borders, stop the endless craziness of having our men stationed all over the planet as if we were an empire. A true American, not a globalist who wants world power. This is a man who believes in the United States Constitution first and foremost, who will honor his pledge to uphold, defend, and protect that Constitution: Chuck Baldwin Constitutionist Party. We were able to see and listen to him at a public library in a Portland suburb. Excellent ideas and vision, honest (he asked for no campaign money or financial help!), humble, understanding that America is by the people and for the people – not the gov’t. We believe he is what America needs at its helm. I am so tired of the media thinking they can lock us into a two party system that is a stumbling block to the people.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

10 thoughts on “Fiber Works”

  1. Great to see all the projects you are working on Wanda!

    That weaving is just stunning! I wish I could just sit down beside you and watch you create it!!

  2. The lace is luscious, your handspun lovely, Love the sweet socks for Sweet Faith, Happy Birthday! (2 years!) and yes, the wee bunny is perfect ;^)
    The weaving is looking GREAT!
    The link didn’t work for Mr.Baldwin. I have to admit I’ve not heard nor read of him but I will. I trust your belief in him. Sadly though, because I do believe there are smart, qualified people that have run on other party tickets, it does come down to the two main parties.
    As to what Ed is listening to? yikes.
    Depending on the time of day NPR certainly has entertaining and thought provoking programs, then there’s ‘oldies’ rock, or maybe even old school country swing, or, dare I say it, classical?

  3. wow, the weaving is the standout for me in this post, since I’m hankering to weave more with my handspun.

    It even made me rethink my plan to jettison my merino tencel handspun that I’m not loving so much!

  4. Everything in your post is beautiful, but I especially love the vivid blue of the scarf. I’m glad you’re keeping it for yourself. Now, what was Ed listening to? Well, not knowing Ed’s taste in music, it’s hard to tell. Perhaps it wasn’t music, but a talk show or book. So, here goes–wild guess–some kind of country fiddling or country singing.

  5. Love that shade of blue!
    The weaving is gorgeous, too. Yeow!
    The headphones musta been Car Talk…phun.
    I love audiobooks, makes the work so much easier, but Click and Clack make the work seem like nothing! whee!
    Happy Fall!
    Grannie Linda

  6. Re the superwash – oh no! I found out that it doesn’t felt when I’d soaked a skein of handspun in the washer and spun it out, but hadn’t removed it before my husband started a load of towels. Felt – no. Tangle? Definitely!

    I’m going to guess that Ed was listening to some folk/bluegrass while whittling those carrots.

  7. I’m going to take a shot and say Ed was listening to MUSIC, ok I’m a sneaky deaky but I figure this way I’ve got a 1 in 3 chance, he is either listening to music or maybe he’s listening to talk radio…or maybe podcasts, lol!

  8. I don’t know if you have a washing machine…and anyway you are spinning some merino for your felt bag, but i have heard that if you wash it hot enough you can felt superwash in a machine, I havent tried it though, although it is one of my favourite fibres to spin!

Comments are closed.