Autumn Bounty

We’ve had such a lovely autumn I long for the days to slow down so I can thoroughly drink in the colors, the smells and the sun before the long grey days of winter settle over us.

We’ve been putting up food for winter. I’m running out of space and still have beets that I should can tomorrow. (I’d rather weave!) And the lady at the farmer’s market told us that she’d be bringing in her next harvest of pole beans next Saturday so there’s still more to come. Umm, we love home canned green beans!

While we’ve put up some food from our garden this year most of it has come from other local sources like the two corner produce stands. Ed drove by last week and saw heaping piles of broccoli. Huge bright green heads of broccoli for $1.50 each. The heads each averaged 3 pounds. We froze about 2 dozen bag fulls. MC came over one day and helped with a marathon canning of green beans. We spent another hour dreamily wandering around picking up nuts and crabapples at her place.

And there’s the corn. For years we were spoiled with an abundance of corn selling at 12 ears for a dollar. I can’t grow it that cheap! But about three years ago it was 8 for a dollar. This year we were dismayed when we realized no one was going to offer it for more than 4 ears a dollar. Yet we understand the farmers have had to fork out huge amounts for fuel and labor this year. And we love having local farm families providing our produce so we gladly support them.

Last Saturday Ed, Aurora and I headed to the Salem Farmer’s Market. Aurora had been singing its praises for several weeks and we were in search of good carrots to can.

First we strolled around to check out prices and offerings.

Can you believe the size of this green pepper? Perfect for stuffing. (That’s my left hand which though small has a good span from years of violin playing – it seriously has a wider span than my right hand.)

Aurora can’t resist the leeks.

We found carrots and spent the afternoon canning them. Ed peeled all 20 pounds. 🙂 The back porch is set up for canning with the two pressure canners a perfect fit on the large propane camp stove in the background. (No we don’t fire up the woodstove on the porch.)

Mandy’s sister got married last Saturday evening. We cleaned up and headed up the hill to the Meeting House where Justin met us with Wesley. Faith and Mandy were in the wedding but this time I wasn’t asked to help with Faith so we sat at the back where I could make a quick escape with Wesley if needed. Justin thrust Wesley at me saying that due to afternoon commotions preparations for the wedding, he didn’t get his nap. Four months old need their naps, desperately. So did a 23 month old big sister. When the processional music started so did Wesley’s cries. I tried to muffle them with a bottle but as everyone stood for the bride he cranked it up another notch. I was grateful for the short length of the Meetinghouse. Quickly gathering up car seat, diaper bag and grandchild I scurried out as soon as the bride reached the prayer rail.

A short time later Justin brought Faith down to our house asking if I could keep both kids for the night! Poor Faith was so exhausted she was too tired (and crabby) to eat. Her crying woke up Wesley and his wails joined hers. One advantage of being a grandma, we know these little crisis will soon pass. I found it rather amusing since the week before I’d offered to keep the children but was turned down. Once they realized food was warm and good, and they settled down, we had a sweet cozy evening. We made Faith a nest on the living room floor and tucked Wesley into a portable crib affair for the night. With the exception of two night feedings, we all slept hard after such a busy day.

Author: Wanda J

I never dreamed my life would be entangled with fiber and the tools used to produce fibery items. When I bought a boat shuttle Ed looked at it, decided to make a better one and the rest is history. For a decade he made shuttles, crochet hooks, knitting needles, until his spindles became so popular that he had to devote his time to making them, as well as Great Wheels aka Walking Wheels. Free time is spent reading, trying to coax food from the ground, and playing in the creek near our place. I love long walks and camping far from crowds. Playing my fiddle beside a stream or with good friends brings sweetness to my soul. Sundays we try to set aside for worshiping God with our small Quaker meeting.

8 thoughts on “Autumn Bounty”

  1. The farmer’s market looks Beautiful! all those bright veggie colours has me smiling. I’m so impressed with your ‘mad harvest skilz’, not impressed that you can do it or that you do it, just simply impressed (in a very good way), and it’s always a treat when you get good help,eh?
    What was Ed listening to while peeling all.those.carrots?
    Mercy. The little ones DO so need their naps. Isn’t it one of the better blessings of being a grandparent… knowing the crying won’t last that long therefore not getting all upset which tends to ‘add’ to it. :^) I realize there are parents out there who also know this and just flow with it in a calm manner but there are those… I’ve probably written too much. argh.
    I’m so glad you got a night of nesting with Sweet Faith and Sweet Wesley, my how he’s grown!
    Your back porch is wonderful!
    xox

  2. Those are gorgeous food photos! We love our local farmer’s market, too — it’s easier to pay that 4 ears/$1 when I know whom it’s going to, somehow. You’re so right that one advantage of having lived through early childhood a bunch of times is knowing that almost everything is transitory, even if it feels endless while it’s happening (years of night terrors come to mind here…) 🙂

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  3. Oh, I’m so impressed with all your food storage – I’ve completely dropped the ball this year in the food dept. :0) Except for the gallons of milk, I’ve been making, I suppose!

    What a blessing that Faith and Wesley could spend the night with you – for all of you! I well know how one child’s wailing can set off the other(s). Sigh – I tell myself, “This too will pass…”

  4. I agree with Charity: “This too shall pass.” I used to say it quite often when my children were small! Wesley is a darling boy, and very handsome. You did admirably at the wedding. I think you are getting to be quite a pro at managing grandchildren during weddings. All that produce looks so good. You must be in a very fertile growing area. And what music was Ed listening to? Maybe a Mozart violin concerto? Perhaps you could start a guessing contest.

  5. Love the farmer’s market. I often envy my mother, who lives in an area with a “year-round” market. I know y’all will enjoy the harvest all winter long. And my goodness, what a sweet picture of that baby boy; how adorable is he?!?!

  6. Lovely to see the colours and what is on offer at the market, I’ve never heard of anyone doing they’re own canning so this has been an eye opener too! Great photo of Wesley, what a cutie!

  7. Hi, It is good to catch up on your life this month. What a busy weekend! Our New Boy hasn’t learned the trick of sleeping at night yet. I hope he does soon!

    I am so spoiled with a year round Saturday morning farmers market less than 5 minutes car drive from our house! I don’t can food because it’s always available fresh there. If it’s not at the market (like corn in winter) we don’t eat it.

    Any spinning or weaving getting done?

Comments are closed.